1. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,104
    Country:
    United States
    You're going to have to reinstall the games from the CIA files. As for the save files, you can either do a system transfer from the old 3DS to the new one, or you can use Checkpoint to backup the decrypted versions of the save files and restore them.
     
  2. mushroom

    mushroom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Great thanks
     
  3. c3lv1c3

    c3lv1c3 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Japan
    I just bought a New 3DS Xl with Luma CFW since I'm a total noob I ask some questions which are not clearly answered when I googled them:
    - Do I need a flashcard to play .nds /3ds backups or can I put ROMs on a normal SD and then boot the ROMs directly from my CFW?
    - If I need a flashcard which is the best still R4Gold?
     
    Last edited by c3lv1c3, Jan 1, 2020
  4. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,526
    Country:
    Germany
    You do not need a flashcart. Those for the 3DS mode are pretty expensive and very limited. Install 3DS games in .CIA format directly to the console micro-SD.

    For DS games there is TWiLight Menu++. If you prefer a flashcart for DS games the “R4i Gold 3DS Plus” is very good (the “3DS” in the name of many cheap flashcarts means “Works on 3DS”. Those are still for the DS mode and will not play 3DS games).

    Buying a premodded system has the downside that you are not familiar with the terms and the software. At least create a NAND image of your system and store it in a secure location. [The Guide] Backup Essential Files.

    Hold (Select) while turning on the 3DS to see the version number of Luma3DS on the top of the upper screen. It should be at least v9.1.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7,606
    Country:
    Austria
    Please refer to the suggestion from @KleinesSinchen
    https://www.r43ds.com.de/r4igold-3ds-plus.html


    And please do not buy so called "Shitty Chinese Clones" like our Flashcard Professor @Shadow#1 always suggests.:)
    That One you get on Aliexpress or Amazon for Example:

    https://www.amazon.com/-/de/dp/B07RYTMH6D/ref=sr_1_5?__mk_de_DE=ÅMÅŽÕÑ&crid=JCHCX33B7BC2&keywords=r4i+flash+card&qid=1577952152&sprefix=r4i+flash,aps,405&sr=8-5

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/400...chweb0_0,searchweb201602_7,searchweb201603_53

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/330...chweb0_0,searchweb201602_7,searchweb201603_53


    Please avoid them.:)
    Thank you.:)
     
  6. Mafg

    Mafg Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using Luma to apply any translation or uncensored patches on my cia games but can I use the same method for patching any cartridge games and digital games bought from eshop?

    After all, is it possible to buy any games from eshop after cfw?
     
  7. jotabe1789

    jotabe1789 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the answer!

    I followed the instructions in the webpage you indicated, and now I have the firmware 11.13.0-45U, Luma3ds 10.0.1, gm9, and I have been able to convert my .3ds to .cia and install them with FBI.

    My last question is regarding the DS backups in .nds format and the blue cart: I have read that I can use the blue cart without problem in other threads, as long as I am in Luma mode. This will sound basic, but how do I know if i am? Am I in Luma ever time i boot the 3ds after soft-modding it? Can i just use my blue cart without issue?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,526
    Country:
    Germany
    With B9S/Luma the console will boot Luma all the time (unless you force loading native.firm)

    If Luma is active you can access Rosalina Menu with (L)+(↓)+(Select) and in case you set
    (x) Show NAND or user string in System Setting
    like the guide advises, it will say Sys [version number] when opening System Settings.

    Luma disables all the garbage restrictions and you should be able to start any flashcart that works on some DSi and/or 3DS version (which is obviously true for the blue Gateway)

    Note that Rosalina Menu cannot be accessed while in DS(i)-mode (e.g. after booting Gateway blue). Same for GBA-mode.

    Have fun.
     
    jotabe1789 and alexander1970 like this.
  9. jotabe1789

    jotabe1789 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    It's true, I hadn't noticed. It says Sys instead of Ver. as it used before modding.

    After booting the blue cart, just rebooting the 3ds will take me back to luma, right?

    Thanks for your answer!
     
    Last edited by jotabe1789, Jan 3, 2020
  10. krikit

    krikit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT

    Issue resolved. I reformatted the card again (full, not quick), but it still didn't work. I then switched SD cards and the process finally worked as expected. Not sure what the issue was since the old card didn't come up with any errors. Oh well, at least it's over.

    ............

    Hi all, I've followed the bannerbomb 3ds hacks guide to mod my son's 2ds (11.13), but this green screen always comes up instead of the boot9strap install screen. The only thing people seem to be saying about this issue around the internet, is to make sure boot.nds, and format the card if that doesn't work. These solutions have not worked. The guide says nothing about this issue.

    I later tried the Pokemon picross variation, but I had the same issue at the same step.

    This is so much more complicated than a Wii hack. Any help would be much appreciated.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by krikit, Jan 4, 2020
  11. MrLeche

    MrLeche Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Hi, question with boop to FBI, I tried remote installing a "cia game update". it doesn't work. the cia gets installed success on fbi but when you fireup the game its still not updated. Same thing with remote installing .cia DLC files.

    How do you "remote install" those anyway?

    TIA
     
  12. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    the update may be a different region. even if the version you downloaded is region free, I think it will still require an update for a specific region.
     
  13. Gentleman3

    Gentleman3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
  14. cwinners

    cwinners Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    II recently bought a 2DS XL. Is there a guide to install Luma on 11.7-40U?

    Ive been looking around and cant find it anywhere.
     
  15. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    https://3ds.hacks.guide/

    this guide can be used with any system. the method of attack varies based on firmware.
     
    oom12 likes this.
  16. rpgyahweh

    rpgyahweh Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I used to use a gateway 3ds and now I got a luma new 3ds xl off of ebay
    Could I get some help getting started? I'm not really sure where to go to find info to work out where I am in the process of things but I've noticed it doesn't have the freeshop? But it does have Luma? It is on sys 11.0.0-33E

    Things seemed to have changed a lot from the days I'd go to a website with my gateway 3ds card. Is my gateway card useless now? What flash card should I get to replace it? I'm interested mostly in rom hacks so it will have a lot of use to me

    I got pics that could help explain but as a new user I can't post them
     
  17. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You don't need a flashcart at all. Put your Gateway card away. Just get the latest boot.firm from https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases and replace the one on your SD card. Then update your console and you're ready to do anything you need.
    If you want to know how to do a rom hack for a particular game, search for it in the 3DS rom hack forum to see if anyone else has asked. Or someone might respond here with generally how to do it (I have no idea myself).
     
  18. oom12

    oom12 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    In the 3ds guide in the a9lh to boo9strap section in the finalization setup
    https://3ds.hacks.guide/finalizing-setup
    It says "If, while following a previous version of this guide, you CTRTransfered your New 3DS to 2.1.0, you should now restore your NAND backup before doing this section." I have installed luma via a9lh using the old guide and there was a section called safe ctrtransfer : https://quantumcat1.github.io/safectrtransfer-(homebrew-launcher) so I think I have done this ) is the section above in the old guide what they mean in the new guide?
     
  19. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,869
    Country:
    Canada
    it means if your console was still on 2.1.0 to do a nand backup to not brick your console. if your back on a normal firmware than just continue on with everything.
     
    oom12 likes this.
  20. metorresv

    metorresv Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hello! I have an O3DS. It's 8.1.0-0U, and to my knowledge, since it's never been to the internet and was updated through the Smash Bros cart, I need to know...

    Is there any way to use an alternative homebrew with my current firmware? All options lead to 9.X.X, and no 8.X.X. My 3DS's touch screen is completely dead. Soundhax doesn't work. If I were to use a 4.X soundhax M4A with this 3DS, would it work? It's also important to add that I have 2 other CFW systems.

    What can I do?

    Thanks in advance. You guys are amazing. Such dedication towards the scene.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,