3DS NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Cyan, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. frankiefoureyes

    frankiefoureyes Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    May 4, 2019
    United States
    tried CTRtransfer method now I have unable to mount ctrnand firm... gonna try to restore and see what happens
     
  2. frankiefoureyes

    frankiefoureyes Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    May 4, 2019
    United States
    @TurdPooCharger if I uses this method
    • Backing up 3DS games into CIAs: Dumping a Title Can I then just copy paste the CIAs into my new 3ds xl and will be enough room for my old 3ds XL to convert all these files and will these CIAs have all the DLCs and updates that are currently on my old 3dsxl
     
  3. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    12
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Creating CIAs is dependent on how much free space is available on the SD card.

    (1) - If your source system's SD card is filled to near full capacity, you'll have to figure out how to create them in small batches.
    (2) - If you have a spare SD card not shared or used by either o3DSXL and n3DSXL, you go about doing the shenanigans found below.
    (3) - If you don't have a spare SD card, use the o3DSXL card with adjustments for some of the steps...
    1. Copy everything off that 3rd card over to a computer.
    2. Reformat it in FAT32 + 32 KB cluster size using Windows File Explorer or guiformat if bigger it's bigger than 32 GB.
    3. Full Write + Verify the empty card with H2testw. You don't want an unknowingly fake or faulty card corrupting data.
    4. If the card passes, delete the *.h2w test files. -or- Replace the card and go back to step 1 if a hardware error was reported.
    5. Make a super barebone SD setup:
      • Luma3DS v9.1 : sdmc:/boot.firm
      • GodMode9 v1.7.1 (or newer): sdmc:/luma/payloads/GodMode9.firm
    6. Copy and paste the Nintendo 3DS folder off the SD card from the o3DSXL (source system) over to a computer.
      • Keep a copy of that folder on the o3DSXL card and leave that one alone.

    Here's the tricky part. You want to fill up to a little less than half way on that 3rd card when creating the CIAs.

    7. For the Nintendo 3DS folder on the computer, cut and paste by segments onto the 3rd card up to ≤ 50% capacity.
    • Example: Let's say the 3rd card is a 32 GB. It has 30 GB of usable free space. You add in a little less than 15 GB of stuff.

    Nintendo 3DS/<ID0>/<ID1>/title/

    00040000/ <games>
    00##1100
    00##2200
    00##3300
    .
    .
    .​
    0004000e/ <updates>
    .
    .
    .​
    0004008c/ <DLCs>
    .
    .
    .​
    00##XX00​

    8. Build the CIAs for that batch run in GodMode9.
    9. Cut and paste all the CIAs from the sdmc:/gm9/out over to computer.
    10. Delete the Nintendo 3DS folder on that 3rd card.
    11. Repeat the process by going back to step 7 until the entire titles collection has been converted and amassed.​

    As for installing the CIAs on the (target system) n3DSXL micro SD card, figure this out for yourself or upgrade to a bigger card (check my signature).

     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, May 12, 2019
    Quantumcat likes this.
  4. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    If you mean the randomness in this picture is because the boot.3dsx file is not in the root of the sdcard
     

    Attached Files:

    KleinesSinchen likes this.
  5. frankiefoureyes

    frankiefoureyes Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    May 4, 2019
    United States
    Will the CIAs have the updates and DLCs that my current Old 3ds has already?
     
  6. YuseiFD

    YuseiFD GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Jul 6, 2016
    Hello, i keep getting game update popups when i try launching my games (example pokemon AS), im on luma 11.9, is it safe to update ?
     
  7. am714
    This message by am714 has been removed from public view by WeedZ, May 12, 2019, Reason: One word post.
    May 12, 2019
  8. Mitchell2k

    Mitchell2k Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 19, 2019
    Germany
    Hi guys, I have a Japanese Nintendo 3DS wit software version 7.2.0-17J. I would like to change it to an european version so that my games can work. If you could only point me what tutorials to follow that would be great, as I do not have too much experience with 3DS.
    Thanks in advance for your answers!
     
  9. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    You can install CFW on it then use a CTRTRANSFER to region change
     
  10. Mitchell2k

    Mitchell2k Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 19, 2019
    Germany
    Thanks for your answer, I have bought a R4 3DS RTS flash card. Where do I find tutorials for the instructions above?
     
  11. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    20
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    If you install CFW you will be able to play any region game and don't need to change the region. If you change the region the eShop won't work anymore. See https://3ds.guide
     
  12. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    The EShop thing can be fixed on New 3DSes And I think the user wants the whole system language to be changed to European languages

    EDIT: To Quantumcat, Shouldn't we tell him to backup files like SecureInfo, Movable, FriendSeed, FriendSave etc before guiding him?
     
    Last edited by am714, May 19, 2019
  13. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    20
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Could be true but it isn't what he said
     
  14. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    Well I suppose he is from Germany as seen from his flag and he has a japanese console and I also suppose he wanna change to that language
     
  15. Mitchell2k

    Mitchell2k Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 19, 2019
    Germany
    Hi guys, thanks for your quick answers! I would like to change the language, it is now in japanese and I do not speak it, but if the estore will not work that is ok. I am happy if only game cartridges will work. Thanks for your support.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  16. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    If it's a old model there is no problem. If it's a new model there will be problems if the system already connected to it's original region eshop(but they are fixable need a 2nd console tho). By the way you don't really need the cartridge to hack the console as long you DO NOT update the system and stay in 7.2
     
    Last edited by am714, May 19, 2019
  17. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    20
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Follow https://3ds.guide then https://3ds.guide/region-changing
     
  18. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    Doesn't GodMod9 CTR Transfer ovveride stuff like movable, friend seed etc... with dummy files?
     
  19. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    20
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    I don't think so, Decrypt9 did and that's why it fixes some bricks that GodMode9 doesn't.
     
    am714 likes this.
  20. alechair

    alechair Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    Japan
    im a few clicks aways from buying an used japanese 3ds ll, probably updated to the lastest possible firmware.
    is is possible to load a cfw and CIA etc without buying?
    thanks in advance
     
  21. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    Da qualche parte nella Dimensione Magica...
    Yes JAP EShop has a free DSiWare that can be used
     
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...