1. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,910
    Country:
    Germany
    Well… High temperature is not exactly what I enjoy…
    If it only was 3€ it might be a counterfeit flashart. Okay, let's start:
    • Your R4 can't be used to play 3DS games (CIAs). It's only for DS games and DS homebrew.
    • If it is a "real" cart, it can be used for the ntrboot method.
      • While ntrboot is flashed onto the R4, it cannot be used for it's normal purpose (playing DS-ROMs).
      • Normal function can be restored.
    With or without your R4, you will have to hack the 3DS (install CFW) in order to install CIAs on the console (micro-)SD.
    • With the R4 follow the ntrboot path of the guide.
      • Note: In rare cases of some counterfeit carts, trying to install ntrboothax can brick the cart (not the console!!).
    • Assuming your 3DS is European model, you don't have access to free DSiWare. Without the R4 you will most likely have to use the Steelminer / Frogminer method (unless your official firmware is ≤ 11.3)
    Once you have CFW, you can use NSUI to inject ROMs into the Virtual Console emulators (recommended for GBA games; although GBA VC is not an emulator and has no savestates/RTS) and/or use homebrew emulators(with more functions) to play old games.

    The risk to brick a 3DS when following the guide(s) is virtually non-existent (and even if it happens because your do stupid things on purpose, you can repair a softbrick with ntrboot).
     
    Last edited by KleinesSinchen, Feb 24, 2019
    Cristagally likes this.
  2. dakotam00

    dakotam00 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I completed the fredminer method but the rosalina menu won't appear through Download Play. (L+Down+Select).

    I attached a screenshot of what my microSD looks like right now.
    I also had to create a "luma" folder because I didn't have one. I also didn't have a "config.bin" file that went into the "luma" folder. I'm essentially stuck on Section III - Homebrew Launcher right now.

    How do I fix this?

    I also followed along this video:


    and I've retraced my steps but nothing works with Download Play, what do I do
    When booting the n3DS and holding Select, the Luma Configuration Menu is at 7.1, compared to the video which was 9.1
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by dakotam00, Feb 25, 2019
  3. swess

    swess Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Haven't played 3ds for a long long time now and I've noticed that gateway3ds is old news at this point lol, I have gw3ds on my n3ds 9.0 and I want to switch over to cfw using this guide https://3ds.hacks.guide/get-started. I don't care about saves, but what folders should I remove from my sd card and which ones should I keep when switching over from gw to cfw?
     
    LowEndC likes this.
  4. LowEndC

    LowEndC ǝɹıℲ ɥʇıM ǝɹıℲ ʇɥƃıℲ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Niger
    I'm only answering because i don't think anyone else will,

    i would back up the whole card first off, zip it up, and store it somewhere.

    the only advice i can give you, confidently,
    (because i don't know how gateway works, more specifically what is changed in the files on the SD card,
    anyone who buys a gateway 3ds these days are the last of a dying breed.)

    is to do a complete system re-format, and reformat your SD.
    install the home-brew launcher, if on 9.0, its soundhax i believe.
    then continue with 3ds.hacks.guide and install cfw.

    start here after reformatting system and SD. if you're on 9.0 after reformatting.

    https://3ds.hacks.guide/homebrew-launcher-(soundhax)



    hmm download the latest boot.firm?
     
    Last edited by LowEndC, Feb 25, 2019
  5. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,910
    Country:
    Germany
    Confusing.

    If the screenshot is definitely the contents of you micro-SD, you have downloaded the correct Luma release. Where should v7.1 come from? And with v7.1 the N3DS would not even boot on the latest official firmware.
    But... If it uses v7.1 for whatever reason this explains the missing Rosalina Menu. Rosalina was introduced in v8.0.

    You should provide some more information. Was this N3DS ever hacked before?
     
  6. Cristagally

    Cristagally Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    oh, well. Thanks for taking youtr time to give me a comprehensive answer. Do ask me why but I was pretty sure the linker was the easiest solution by drag and dropping game, and... that's all. I understand that I need to hack my console if I want to play some game. Thanks for your answer!
     
  7. dakotam00

    dakotam00 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I did buy it off eBay a week ago, but I'm fairly certain it said Ver. 11.9 in System settings
     
  8. azakhan

    azakhan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    I'm trying to backup my saves. I don't get why Checkpoint wasn't installed when I followed the linked 3ds hacks.guide? Do I have to install Checkpoint from scratch?

    And In FBI what is 'ext save data'?
     
  9. LowEndC

    LowEndC ǝɹıℲ ɥʇıM ǝɹıℲ ʇɥƃıℲ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Niger
    You need to install apps, as far as i can recall, luma doesnt come with any homebrew apps.
    you can go to this site and install apps with FBI, just go into FBI, down at the bottom, Remote Install>QR code

    https://tinydb.eiphax.tech/

    while there, you can click github/source and read about the release.

    as for ext save data, some games store data outside of the cartridge, extra data, like a index of downloaded content for that game, or user created content. etc.
     
    azakhan likes this.
  10. BearSketches

    BearSketches Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question from someone with no 3ds modding experience at all:

    I've never installed cfw into my 3ds, but I am going to soon. I've seen videos of people injecting homebrew into Nintendo 3DS sound, but is it possible to inject NTR CFW into stock Nintendo applications?
     
  11. LilyLink

    LilyLink Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
     
  12. LilyLink

    LilyLink Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hi Noob here, im playing pokemon ultra moon game i download from freeshop (rip freeshop) the game is asking me to go to plaza and socialize but the system requires me to update my system. I dont get what u guys talking about boot9... Currently i have system 11.6.0-39U , is it safe to update my system so that i could freely play in the plaza in pokemon ultra moon? And also should i update the software? (ultra moon) because a window says " a software update is available" (y) update (a) Launch software
     
    Last edited by LilyLink, Feb 26, 2019
  13. LowEndC

    LowEndC ǝɹıℲ ɥʇıM ǝɹıℲ ʇɥƃıℲ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Niger
    Hi
    we need more info.
    what custom firmware do you have? and what version?

    huh?
    im assuming you are playing offline, but you want to use the online features in pokemon ultra moon
    do not update from within the game.

    i looked over at advanscene and the minimum firmware to play ultra moon is 11.4.0
    you said you have 11.6. so updating is not required, i forgot the details of the story of the sun and moon series,
    is it required that you go to the plaza? if its not, you dont have to update and can continue playing offline.

    i would say you can update your system and game if you want to play online,
    but i dont know what cfw and version u have.
    if you do, and have luma 3ds, just make sure you update the files with the latest luma 9.1 files first, (replace the boot.firm with the latest one) then update your system normally in system settings.

    to get your boot9.bin it should be under [m] virtual memory in godmode9

    or in your boot9strap folder in your sd card:

    You can now hold (Start) + (Select) + (X) on boot to dump the ARM11 bootrom (boot11.bin), the ARM9 bootrom (boot9.bin), and your console unique OTP (OTP.bin) to the /boot9strap/ folder on your SD card (note that this will not have any kind of prompt or message).
     
    Last edited by LowEndC, Feb 26, 2019
  14. LilyLink

    LilyLink Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    How can I see what version of cfw do i have (im really a noob) hahaha
     
  15. LowEndC

    LowEndC ǝɹıℲ ɥʇıM ǝɹıℲ ʇɥƃıℲ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Niger
    hold start on boot if u have luma. if you dont know what cfw u have, u probably dont have it?
     
  16. GamingBro1

    GamingBro1 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Iraq
    Hi everyone, how are you? About a year ago I bought a New 3DS LL from the internet and it's been working great. However, this morning when I opened it only the blue light went on and the screens stayed black. I force reseted it and tried booting by holding start and power and it worked, but when I pressed start to reboot it just went back to a black screen. I tried taking out the sd card, battery, etc... Nothing worked. I looked up the problem on YouTube and they showed a tutorial where they went into the motherboard and did some stuff there. Then it became worse, it goes to that debug menu of start and power with only power now. I tried using recovery mode, no dice. I couldn't try backing up and formatting the SD card cause my laptop doesn't have any space. Im trying to just drain it's battery by leaving it open, but I'm not sure it'll work. Sorry for making such a long post. Please help.
     
  17. god_hound

    god_hound Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. I'm new to 3DS, and I have one major concern regarding custom firmware, that I've installed recently. Is there some kind of FAQ about how to not get banned by nintendo if you have custom firmware? Or there is no guarantee that you can use your CFW 3DS without ban?
     
  18. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,216
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no need for a guide as there is pretty much only a few ways to get banned.

    1. Cheating in online games
    2. Playing a leaked game online before it realise date.
    3. Using a stolen credit card on the eshop.
     
    god_hound likes this.
  19. god_hound

    god_hound Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, really? If I can safely use CFW 3DS online with no fear of being banned, this is pretty amazing news! Thanks!
     
    AmandaRose likes this.
  20. Paolosworld

    Paolosworld Dionicio3's best friend
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyway to mess around with the SNES emulator so that I can pls snes games on an OLD 3DS?

    Like can I bind the back buttons to the second d-pad or something?

    Or will the 3DS just not, like, do that?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,