1. oricon

    oricon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    is there a guide which shops i can buy from in the UK?
     
  2. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
  3. HE1NZ

    HE1NZ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    I recently installed latest exploit on old 3DS XL and it works very nice, so I'm thinking of doing the same to new 3DS too. However, I hacked it a few years back to work with Gateway and emunand. I don't remember anything of what I did, though I know it launches emunand with DS profile now. I wonder if it safe to follow the guide steps if the system is already altered in some way.
     
  4. AndyTheFiredog

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    THANK YOU! Last night before I saw your response, I went ahead and purchased one running 11.6. I followed all of the instructions for Steel then went on to Frog and it worked perfectly. I would like to say, I'm an extremely detailed person, and those guides were 99% there, but could use one or two sentences in a few places to make it PERFECT. For example, download the game first before you remove your card also update your system to 11.9 then follow that guide rather than buying a flashcart. I would love to be able to contribute a few sentences here and there if something like that is possible.

    Either way, it honestly took all of an hour, going slow and reading everything twice. Well well worth it and can't explain how much better the guides have gotten the last few years. We are thrilled!

    Thanks again to the whole community.
     
  5. SomeGuy4Twenty

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Antarctica
    So i have cfw on my 3ds and i am on firmware 11.9 but when I enter the eshop its asking me to update my system. Is it safe to update? I thought the latest firmware was 11.9
    EDIT: nvm someone already helped me on this!
     
    Last edited by SomeGuy4Twenty, Feb 16, 2019
  6. Nesph

    Nesph Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello! For the past two years or so I haven't really been using my n3DS except to play, occasionally. I picked it up again a few days and thought about updating my cfw configuration. Only problem is... I can't really remember what I need to do.

    I know this is stupid, lol, but here's some more details: I'm pretty sure that I have Luma 3DS (v6.6, while holding Select at boot) and maybe A9LH, if that makes sense? I'm seeing arm9loaderhax.bin in my root folder of my SD card... Got some unidentified version of homebrew, too.
    I think I have the default boot set to my sysNAND, and that fw version is 11.2.0-35E.

    I'm wondering, what do I need to do, exactly, to update to the latest... everything? Will I lose my games/saves/...?
    I tried to look it up, and if I do indeed have A9LH, am I supposed to switch to B9S? I'm reading that "All future releases of Luma3DS will only be made in the .firm format, which will only be compatible with boot9strap and sighax"...

    Once I've updated, will I be able to use the Shop and the browser (currently giving me errors)?
    The fastest way to backup everything is to just copy-paste the whole of my SD card?

    Sorry for all the questions! I'm really wishing I had kept some notes somewhere on what I was installing and how...
     
  7. squirousquared

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hello folks, long time lurker here.

    I'm kind of noob-confused so I'll try to get things simple here, but you'd still want to brace yourself for the noobest-questions ever coming...

    So: my O3DS is on its way from Japan (hooray!) and I'm planning to buy a R4i gold 3ds plus, in order to get Luma3DS CFW flashed on.

    The R4i flashcart has a switch (ntrboot / nds mode) so I wonder:

    Is the CFW flashing a one-time thing? I mean, does it stays there once flashed? Does the R4i need to always stay inserted for Luma to boot properly?

    Just asking, because I'd really like to flash Luma, then open up the flashcart, switch it to NDS mode and use it to play games on my DSi / DSLite.

    Thank you so much for your time and patience :)
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,837
    Country:
    United States
    The CFW flashing is a one-time thing. Once you have B9S installed, it's there permanently. You won't need the R4 anymore.
     
    squirousquared likes this.
  9. emuashui

    emuashui GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s.html

    https://3ds.hacks.guide/faq
     
    Nesph likes this.
  10. LilyLink

    LilyLink Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hi Im new to this site and wanted to know some things because im an uncultured swine HAHA anyway wanted to ask for a step by step to transfer mg saved data from my old 3ds to My new 3dsLL rune factory 4 game. Your responses would be greatly appreciated. I dont have to start all over again tbh sigh
     
  11. LowEndC

    LowEndC ǝɹıℲ ɥʇıM ǝɹıℲ ʇɥƃıℲ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Niger
    Do you have CFW?

    Do you have JKSM installed?
    https://tinydb.eiphax.tech/dl/2/14652800/JKSM.cia

    if installed on both systems,
    you can back up your save on your old 3ds
    then transfer it to the new 3ds
    by putting the old 3ds sd card in your pc, finding that backed up save, and putting it on your new sd card for the new 3dsLL in the same spot.
    then import that save with JKSM.
     
    LilyLink likes this.
  12. oricon

    oricon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    the r4i-b9s has a mini sd card slot in it what is it for?
     
  13. Sliter

    Sliter GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,255
    Country:
    Brazil
    some stuff I'm lost and I forgot I need some fast help for my (new)3DS
    -How I can boot in homebrew launcher again? I forgot the keys combo .. I want to evitate opening it by the .cia now
    - I made everything my the 3ds.guide some time ago, if I want to make a nand backup I go for sysnand, right?
    - testing here if I could boot while waiting for answer, Select + power game me the Luma configs, therethe " new 3DS CPU" Is off, I should mark it someway? haven't played a n3DS specific game yet
     
    Last edited by Sliter, Feb 17, 2019
  14. azakhan

    azakhan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Need help, stuck hacking New 3ds
    [​IMG]
    I'm trying to follow the 3ds.hacks: The Homebrew Launcher Soundhax guide ( my firmware version 3DS V9.9.0-26E )

    Got up to Installing boot9strap (SafeB9SInstaller) section 2

    Section II - Installing boot9strap Wait for all safety checks to complete When prompted, input the key combo given to install boot9strap Once it has completed, press (A) to reboot your device
    I pressed (A) but it only selected (put a cross next to) 'reboot in (something I don't remember)' then my daughter pressed the start button and the 3ds rebooted normally (whereas it was supposed to boot into Luma3DS configuration menu ).



    I tried several times repeating opening ' <3 nedwill 2016 ' from Nintendo 3DS Sound again but now it tells me 'an exception occured' in red and lets me save a crash dump. (Says fault status: translation section).
     
  15. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,599
    Country:
    Canada
    you will get the crash dump each time as it wont work once luma is installed. You can press and hold select and turn power on to load the config screen.
     
  16. LilyLink

    LilyLink Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    hi howndo install it in the old 3ds? I think the old 3ds is a jail break came from japan and some games are already installed, but my New 3ds Ll is cfw. Do i just put this file in the sd card and run it with fbi?
     
  17. azakhan

    azakhan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Thanks it worked ok now I can see it's actually the menu for Luma which I was in before the start button was pressed lol! But I'm now on the 'finalizing setup' section and it says:

    'Update your device by going to System Settings, then “Other Settings”, then going all the way to the right and using “System Update”'

    1) Aren't there any complications in updating? Should I let my 3ds auto-update with each new firmware update release?

    2) Also can I use CIAs of any region?

    3) Can i play online with Luma custom firmware? Do I have to inject a header or something like with sky3ds?
     
    Last edited by azakhan, Feb 19, 2019
  18. LowEndC

    LowEndC ǝɹıℲ ɥʇıM ǝɹıℲ ʇɥƃıℲ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Niger
    is Cakes worth using?
     
    Last edited by LowEndC, Feb 19, 2019
  19. emuashui

    emuashui GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    install cia using fbi
     
  20. azakhan

    azakhan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Can i play online with Luma custom firmware? Do I have to inject a header or something like with sky3ds?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,