1. Chevanton1984

    Chevanton1984 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello everybody
    I’m joining the discussion, making my questions:

    I have a N3DSXL, gave to my son. I left on 11.2, I found he updated on 11.8.
    I was using a Gateway flashcard so at the time I did a NAND backup and I was also using the emuNAND. Games were working, original and .3ds.

    Now, situation changed.

    1- I don’t think using Gateway I can now downgrade to 11.2, where gateway was working
    2- I was thinking to move to Luma3DS, but I read here I need another card for NTRboot. What would be a reasonable choice? I saw the R4i 3DS Gold Plus from the main topic of this discussion
    3- I have a lot of games installed on my 3DS, bought from eShop. What happens to them if I hack the 3DS and then install CIAs? I mean, I would like to have a clean situation or a way to go back to this situation since anyway I have many original games bought

    Thank you
     
  2. Resaec

    Resaec GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    405
    Country:
    Germany
    You can follow the tutorial on 3ds.hacks.guide to hack your 3DS.
    Maybe you already own a DSiWare game you can use. This is also the cheapest way to get CFW.

    Remember to give your son a good speach. The DS explicitly asked him whether he is the owner of the console and of legal age to perform an update.
    It is a bad habit to ignore messages...

    To answer your questions as good as I can
    1. It is not nessesary to downgrade (if at all possible)
    2. You dont need a NTRBoot flashcard, only a SD card like before.
    3. Your games will not get deleted. You can still use the eShop.

    A thing to note here is that now that you updated from 11.2 to 11.8 you can again use the eShop.
    Since you were off the scene for quite some time you should note that software that enabled you to download games from Nintendo (except for Nintendos eShop) is now a sure way to get your account banned.
     
  3. Chevanton1984

    Chevanton1984 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, I was out since a while. I just gave the 3DS to my son one month ago. And yes, eShop is working

    Thank you for the clear answers!

    One last doubt linked to the “ban” sentence:

    Do I risk a ban in case I have on my 3DS mixed original games and CIAs games installed and WiFi turned on?
    Will I be able to play online safely with the “original” ones?

    Thank you so much
     
  4. xnomadxx420

    xnomadxx420 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Ok my situation: I have an O3DS XL with cfw, luma, bs9, and godmode. I also have an acekard 2i. Recently I purchased a N2DS XL for my son. What steps do I take to flash NTRboot to the Acecard 2i so that I can get cfw on the N2DS XL? I no longer use the Acekard for anything, since another child updated the DSI we had and the card no longer worked for it.
     
  5. Resaec

    Resaec GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    405
    Country:
    Germany
    You do not risk a ban for having mixed source games on your DS, but make sure you/your son does not update games obtained outside of eShop in sleep mode!
    Updating bought games is OK (eShop and SleepMode download)
    Updating "other" games is tricky. (FreeShop games can be updated, but SleepMode download will get you banned)
     
  6. Rogue_Ninja

    Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Country:
    United States
    Just curious is it still safe to install .cias? I was recently told no because if you install online it still sends a .tik file to nintendo.
     
  7. NFates

    NFates Wants to understand™
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    It is safe to install .cias and it is actually the main way to have games now. What you heard about was CDN downloads. For example, freeShop downloads with the NIM module (sleep mode) will most likely get you banned.
     
    Last edited by NFates, Sep 13, 2018 - Reason: Typo
  8. Rogue_Ninja

    Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Country:
    United States
    Thats what I thought. I was telling someone else it was safe to use .cias and he jumped in with that bit of info. I had not seen it and he could not provide links to where he saw it.

    Thank you
     
  9. Stopdoor

    Stopdoor Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought another 3DS and wanted to clone my stuff across consoles without more setup hassle, but I've messed it up.

    I followed the normal B9S setup in the guide for both 3DSs (though the original one was set up a few months ago), made a SysNAND Backup through the "Megascript" in Godmode9, and then did a normal System Transfer ("old" 3DS to New 3DS).

    The System Transfer was fine, and I restored the backup on the original 3DS fine. But then I was trying to figure out how to move over tickets. I did "Dump Options --> System File Dump Options --> Dump ticket.db" and then used the corresponding "Inject Options" on the New 3DS. This seems to have been a bad idea, because now the New 3DS turns on with "Processor: ARM9 Exception type: prefetch abort (svcBreak)" unless I boot into Godmode9.

    I didn't back up the ticket.db on the New 3DS, which I maybe should have done. Would restoring that have fixed this? I also can't do the "SysNAND Restore (safe)" from the same backup as the original 3DS, because it throws one of two errors:
    "...GM9Megacscript.gm9
    line 131: find fail
    find I:/twln.bin NULL"
    or
    "...GM9Megacscript.gm9
    line 129: mount fail
    imgmount $[NANDBAK]"

    I'm not attached to anything on this New 3DS, is there a way with Godmode9 I can start completely fresh? How should I have done the ticket transfer?
     
    Last edited by Stopdoor, Sep 9, 2018
  10. jesterscourt

    jesterscourt Not Brad.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,301
    Country:
    United States
    N3DSXL 11.8, Luma 9.1:

    Some games are not showing up under their folders, just a blank space. I can go into FBI and launch them directly from there, and I am under 300 titles, any thoughts?
     
  11. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know if the old 3DS models are allowed to download New 3DS exclusive titles like "Fire Emblem Warriors" from the Nintendo eShop?

    I'm thinking abot picking up a cheap, used old 3DS to make it my [JPN / EUR / KOR / TWN / CHN] multi-regional downloading slave. *

    * Looking to amass hard to find game updates since the CDN servers are blocked. May or may not do stuff with said updates.
     
  12. Sub Zippo

    Sub Zippo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Being paranoid. There isn't anything in the most recent update that would mess up my CFW is there?
     
  13. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,920
    Country:
    Canada
    You just need the luma 9.1 for the 11.8. Other than that. your are fine.
     
  14. maximtomato

    maximtomato Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. When I tell the launcher to start DSiMenu++, I get a white screen. I've redownloaded the files and checked I've put them in the right spots (_nds, cia, and boot.nds in root), updated Luma and to B9S, and I've enabled game patching, but I'm still stuck. Any help is appreciated!
     
  15. guardian13angel06

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, a bit new to the whole thing. Got my R4i 3ds Gold + cart, and went through the whole process of getting everything installed and updated on my SD card. Everything went smooth and it's completely finished with it all. So now my question is, how or where do I get 3ds roms/cias to actually be able to play the games. I have the N3DS XL v.11.8.0-41U with the R4i Gold 3ds +, Luma updated to most recent version as of today, and a 128gb SD card. Any advice and help is much appreciated.
     
  16. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You'll need to use Google, we can't link you to sites that contain them. If you visit 3dsdb.com you'll find the scene release titles which you can use to aid you in your Google searching.
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  17. dotarice

    dotarice GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Bahrain
    i have a n3ds xl that will not system update. it has cfw already and everything; on 11.7.

    in the system settings, when it tries to update, at the first small margin of blue bar, it errors out. what can i do to fix this problem?

    edit #3: i do not have anything that's blocking connections by the way... i think.
     
    Last edited by dotarice, Sep 11, 2018
  18. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,063
    Country:
    United States
    Ask in the DSiMenu++ thread, as they are more familiar with the app than random helpers. https://gbatemp.net/threads/ds-i-3ds-dsimenu-ds-i-menu-replacement.472200/

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Check your DNS. Make sure it's not set to custom that blocks the update. Also, just to make sure, you updated your CFW first, right?
     
  19. dotarice

    dotarice GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Bahrain
    @OrGoN3

    the dns is set to auto, yes. i have indeed updated luma3ds to make sure as i knew about 11.8 breaking luma 9.0.

    i was looking around the internet and was reading that it may be affected by firewall. i am not the owner of the router that is being used though and, if that is the problem, i don't think i have any luck asking the administrator of it to see if they can whitelist the connection.
     
  20. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,063
    Country:
    United States
    I mean, anything could be blocking it. Try another connection. Go somewhere with free WiFi and try that.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,