1. AlexanderBlackk

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thank you very much! I've searched for Tikshop, and would now read how it works.
    But.. how would I be able to run it? I don't have my FBI accessible in my 3ds. I only have the factory apps.
     
  2. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    AlexanderBlackk likes this.
  3. AlexanderBlackk

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines
    @Quantumcat
    Thank you so much. I'll do just that. Sadly, I got my SD card corrupted. I am not sure why..
    Do you know where I could see what the contents of SD card of a CFW 3DS has?
    That way, I'll just copy the backup that I have from my PC.
     
  4. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You only really need boot.firm (if B9S) or arm9loaderhax.bin (if A9LH). And only if you didn't copy them to CTR-NAND. The Nintendo 3DS folder contains your installed games and saves and you'll want boot.3dsx and the 3ds folder if you want to use homebrew.
     
  5. Videodr0me

    Videodr0me Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    First kudos to the guys that hacked the 3DS - It seemd to have been no trivial task and they did a fantastic job. Just a couple of completely noob paranoid questions (I have B9S and LUMA 8.11 installed)

    1) If I follow the guide and install the homebrew launcher (and/or other files) to the internal SD card - Couldnt Nintendo just check for those files on the SD card and ban the console? Or does Luma hide those files from the Nintendo?

    2) If I use rosalina to inject HBLauncher into any nintendo app, then launch FBI, then install FBI as a CIA to the home menu. Couldn't Nintendo just check for this installed app and ban the console/user. If that is an possibilty why does the guide not just recommend to launch FBI always through the injection method? Presuming that would be harder for nintendo to detect.

    3) If I want to play online, as I understand it now (maybe wrongly), I would need to create a unique ID (with sky3ds you can do this from a original game you own) to attach to a "downloaded" game so that nintendo does not log multiple IP adresses for the same online ID. How do I do this with an CIA install?

    4) Are CIA installs really safe? Nintendo knows which games are availabe in cartridge form only, and if they check for installed cias they could detect those, can't they? How do updates work with CIA installes. Let's say I install smash brothers v1 with cia (converted from the .3ds) and start it... would it update just like the cartridge would?

    5) Do I really need GODMOD9 for anything except file browsing and converting 3ds files (which i could do with the pc). Or is it more convenient?

    sorry if that sounds paranoid, but i am curious,

    Videodr0me
     
  6. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    1. Nintendo does not look at the contents of your SD card
    2. There's evidence to suggest the console sends information about what software is being used whenever you're connected to the net. This might be what caused the bans (no proof either way). It does not send info on installed software. If you want to be safe either use installed homebrew while wireless is switched off or use it from the homebrew launcher using Rosalina.
    3. Only cartridge games have headers. You don't have to worry about them with installed games.
    4. Installed games act identically to if you bought them on the eShop. That includes updating. Games that are a different region to your console can't be updated through the eShop and you'll have to use freeShop or similar.
    5. GodMode9 has many uses. See https://3ds.guide/godmode9-usage
     
  7. bomboy2121

    bomboy2121 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Israel
    Yo! I got some qustions! (For n2dsxl)
    1.does a 64gb micro sd card requires anything to be used as the system sd in a cfw system? (Is fat32 required?)
    2.how do i switch sd cards for the system?
    3.can i use the sd card included with the system for the flashcart? Or do i need to delete something there?
    4.nds-card.com qustion, if i pay with PayPal, how much time will it take for them to recognize my payment?
     
  8. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    1. Must be formatted as FAT32
    2. Copy the contents from one card to the other
    3. Yes. You'll need firmware files for the cart
    4. You'll be sending them the money so it will be instant. If you're paying from a bank account it could take a day or two to come out of your account
     
  9. Shadowlurker

    Shadowlurker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on "Sys 11.3.0-36e" Luma and A9lh, and would love to update to latest, what's the steps I need to take? I had Gateway emunand at somepoint but no idea if it's still there and if it complicates the update process, will I have to format? I have a lot of stuff installed..
     
  10. _Emmo

    _Emmo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Germany
    https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s
     
  11. Shadowlurker

    Shadowlurker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, I saw that link wasn't sure if it also applied to me, It mentions Emunand at some point, I have no idea if I still have it, any way of finding out? I tried Holding L, R, Start etc and it always says "Sys 11.3.0-36e" in the options so I have no idea, though my SD card is still called Emunand from back when I first installed it years ago..

    And I assume after I follow all the steps, I can safely just go to settings and install the latest firmware right?
     
    Last edited by Shadowlurker, Sep 6, 2017
  12. GinOkami428

    GinOkami428 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if in the right area, but I do have a question. Does the 3DS have a sound driver? I ask as I think I somehow corrupted mine a while ago and now have a "frankenware" New 3DS. Not sure if I have a backup from before;and I know I am on "ancient methods" of custom firmware (I'm still using MenuHax), but it has affected my 9.2 system firmware as well. I can still use headphones, but I otherwise get no sound whatsoever when playing games or homebrew on either my 9.2 system or 11.2 emunand. The only sound that comes from my speakers are the shutter noise and beep from the camera app.
     
  13. jupitteer

    jupitteer self loathing millia player
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,191
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It... sort of does? It has a sound firmware, called DSP. That's probably a hardware error, not an error with DSP; no software ever touches DSP.
     
  14. AlexanderBlackk

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines
    Now that I have formatted my SD card, and I'm back from scratch.. Am I still on CFW? Or did I lose it completely?
    I can access the "Health and Safety" app, and can still install stuff. BUT what I could install, only appears in black tile on homepage
    and there's an error whenever I access it. I'd like to know if I am still on CFW so I'll know what my next step would be.

    Thank you so much!
     
  15. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,077
    Country:
    Canada
    No, you still do have CFW, you wont lose it from a system format. Likely if you got black icons on homepage, you can either try tikshop, if that doesnt fix them you will need to delete them from system settings and reinstall those.
     
  16. AlexanderBlackk

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines

    But I am not sure how I will be able to install tikshop since I wont be able to access installed applications.. but I'll check on it now. Thank you!!
    *EDIT: It says I could not load the image. I tried accessing Tikshop using the QR code from my 3ds cam, since I don't have FBI
     
    Last edited by AlexanderBlackk, Sep 7, 2017
  17. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    Quantumcat gave you a link to the finalizing setup page on 3ds.guide, which gives you step-by-step instructions on how to set up FBI. I recommend you follow that. After following those steps, use FBI's Remote Install -> Scan QR code option to scan the QR code. Using the 3DS camera application will not work.
     
    AlexanderBlackk and Quantumcat like this.
  18. AlexanderBlackk

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thank you so much, Sir! That's what I did, and things are well with my 3ds again. I can now play games, and also install things!

    @Quantumcat Thank you so much, Quantumcat! Sorry I was not able to utilize your advice early on. I should've followed your instructions to the dot before looking for other ways to fix it.


    To all:
    I am not quite done yet, since...

    1.) I would like to know how I will be able to access Decrypt9 even when I have Godmode9 on.
    I can't seem to access the Decrypt9 even by doing the proper procedure (right_D9WIP.bin = pressing, and holding the right DPAD button before turning the 3DS on)
    and when I choose the "Decrypt9" option in Godmode9, I get an error..

    2.) How I will be able to 'genuinely' acquire the 'files9' folder. Since I wasn't able to see it in my root, and just created a folder and named it 'files9'.
    Maybe that is the source of my problem, but.. I am not sure


    Thank you so much for helping a guy out! Cheers!
     
  19. kapapt

    kapapt Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    I've two O3DS with 9.2.0 and RxTools (yeah yeah i know, no one use it anymore) with emunand and i want to migrate do B9S without loosing any samegame or game that i've already installed, what is the best way to do it? Or the best way is too loose everything and start a fresh install?

    Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited by kapapt, Sep 7, 2017
  20. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    *ma'am
    1) What is your current setup on your 3DS? Are you running arm9loaderhax (a9lh) or boot9strap (b9s)? If running a9lh, which version? You don't choose the Decrypt9 option in GodMode9... You run Decrypt9 through Luma's chainloader (pressing and holding Start while booting your system then choosing Decrypt9). a9lh needs the .bin for Decrypt9, b9s needs the .firm for Decrypt9.
    2) You just need to make the files9 folder. That's not the source of your problem.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Simply follow http://3ds.guide. There will be a step in the guide that will have you move your emuNAND to your sysNAND so that you will keep everything.
     
    AlexanderBlackk likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,