1. The Badge-lorette!?

    The Badge-lorette!? Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Because that would be a really stupid way to brick my other system, at this point. ( ; u ; )
     
  2. HyeVltg3

    HyeVltg3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Canada
    Followed https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki to the T, up to Part 3 RedNAND #26, where it says when you see "Emu" in the version, go Update(it said Emu Ver. 9.2). I went and updated via other settings, System Update, now Im on 10.7 but in system settings it just says Ver. 10.7 , am I screwed? tried booting into HBL using D-Pad Down, nothing. browserhax is also not working says some error on a white page I cant read (tiny text)
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  3. StorMyu

    StorMyu "I'm too old for this"
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Country:
    France
    So, I've been using this guide to downgrade and I ended up with a partial downgrade, got an error during install, system shows 9.2 but that's all, everything is still fully operational but PlaiSysUpdater just doesn't want to downgrade again, it says downgrading okay, that's all.

    In the end, I have a partial downgrade and did way too many research and ended up with way too much information on what I can and can't do so I'd like a fresh idea on what I could do to install 9.2 safely.
    Thanks again.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  4. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    You probably updated your sysnand. You need to downgrade and try again.
     
  5. HyeVltg3

    HyeVltg3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Canada
    Asked on reddit no reply.
    how do you update from here(system settings) because I clearly went RedNAND > System Settings > Saw "Emu" > Other Settings > 2nd Last item > System Update.
    and was screwed over.
     
  6. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    You're supposed to update it like that but I'm not sure what you did wrong.

    Edit: Are you sure your NANDs were unlinked before updating EmuNand?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  7. Khar00f

    Khar00f GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you very much gentlemen,

    that guide is great, your help is much appreciated.
     
  8. iWeiner

    iWeiner Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Guys, I've been out of touch with my 3DS for a long time and my current firmware is whatever comes with Paper Mario - Sticker Stars. What's my best plan of action to get homebrew and other recent goodies on my 3ds?
     
  9. pbanj

    pbanj The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,741
    Country:
    United States
    Turn it on and find out its fw
     
  10. HyeVltg3

    HyeVltg3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Canada
    there is no unlink step in that guide. I remember doing that on my old O3DS, but I sold that ages ago. just getting back into 3DS and these new steps are very similar. just this update part is was screwed me up even though I did it right. assumed you dont need to unlink with this new Arm9 and RedNAND.
     
  11. Rezwan739

    Rezwan739 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Got it. TY for clarifying it for me.
     
  12. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    There is an unlink step in the guide, it's where you use TinyFormat.
     
    pbanj likes this.
  13. iWeiner

    iWeiner Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 4.3 currently.
     
  14. HyeVltg3

    HyeVltg3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Canada
    Uh, where?
    (copy paste weirdly gave them new numbers?!)
     
  15. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
     
  16. pbanj

    pbanj The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,741
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Look at the pic.... It's a screen shot of your post
     
  17. AnnappaPoojary

    AnnappaPoojary Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Hello there, some extreme noob questions here

    In Plailects guide, Part 3

    I need to setup sysNand without linking NNID right. Does it matter if i just click on NNID button on the system settings (It initialized some data)? I didnt link it though.
    I am just scared if i did something wrong .

    And do i have to link NNID after in update my RedNand in part 3?

    Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk
     
  18. BobDoleOwndU

    BobDoleOwndU GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,172
    Country:
    Canada
    You should be fine as long as you haven't actually linked your NNID.

    You do not need to link your NNID after updating your RedNAND in part 3. You will only need to link your NNID at the very end of the guide.
     
  19. HyeVltg3

    HyeVltg3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok...Im not trying to be dumb. but all I see is the Word "link" but its use is to just inform the reader that they should Link their Nintendo ID to RedNAND. not SysNAND, which the "Initial Setup" would do if you set up internet settings.
    I too, see the word Link, but it never says "Oh hey, dont forget to Unlink SysNAND from RedNAND"
    in the Old method there was clearly a step that said, its smarter to unlink the NANDs...but for RedNAND it does not.

    I clearly followed the steps.
    I hope I'm not coming off as angry or anything, I'm just trying to point out you guys are defending something that isnt there...
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  20. AnnappaPoojary

    AnnappaPoojary Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Ok thank you.
    I was just scared regarding the "initialized some data" part when i clicked the NNID button in sysNand.

    Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,