1. Gudradan

    Gudradan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Italy
    I tried that too but got the same result :) On r/3dshacks a guy told me that there is no Update for Revelations, that's why I can't finish. I don't know, now I got the .cia from another source (that iso website) and I can run the game without updating it (I didn't notice if I could before too), so I'm gonna play it that way.

    By the way another strange thing happened yesterday. I'm trying to play Dr. Mario Miracle Cure and I installed it via .cia once, and via CIAngel in a new attempt, but I start it I always get stuck on the loading screen that all 3DS games share (Nintendo3DS animation on top screen, Nintendo logo on bottom) and the game never starts. Any suggestions?

    Edit : resolved repairing the software (didn't even know it was possible..)
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
  2. naivegirl2411

    naivegirl2411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    I have a noob question: What is the difference between 3dsware cias and any other cia, if any? Is 3dsware just a name given to differentiate between the content of cias?
     
  3. superluccix

    superluccix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    If I have a USA region free cia game, will an update cia that simply says USA but nothing about region free work?
     
  4. astronautlevel

    astronautlevel GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4,123
    Country:
    United States
    Yes
     
  5. superluccix

    superluccix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    I have finally got that SSB to work online. And if I got that game to work online, Im pretty sure every other game will be a piece of cake in comparison. Feels like I won the lottery.

    Now for a simple Quality of Life question. I had my 3ds startup homebrew at launch, by following this rxtools installation guide https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-installing-rxtools-custom-firmware-3ds-and-2ds.390867/ however I think I fiddled with my theme for the homemenu on SysNAND when it was still linked with EmuNAND, and I believe that messed up the ability for it to boot Homebrew on startup. Not exactly sure where in that guide I should redo in order for it to work again.
     
  6. astronautlevel

    astronautlevel GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4,123
    Country:
    United States
    Just reinstall menuhax
     
  7. Phemeto

    Phemeto GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Noob Question.

    I want to change my CFW I currently have installed on my N3DS (ReiNand), although I'm kind of scared of doing so. I was going to put Luma on it, but the only instructions are how to upgrade from ReiNand. Is there a safe way of changing my current CFW without messing it all up?
     
  8. Arubaro

    Arubaro Soulspace Guardian
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    You can backup the whole SD card in your PC and then replace reinand by luma3ds.

    If for some reason does not work, you only need to delete all your SD card and paste back the whole backup you did before the process.

    (if you have many games installed, you can do it without backing up/deleting your "Nintendo 3ds" folder)
     
  9. Phemeto

    Phemeto GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Ah its that simple? Jeez I thought it would be much more difficult. So as long as I keep my Nintendo 3DS folder on the SD card I should be ok right? I have a LOT of games/saves/programs installed that I really did not want to lose. Then from there I just start from scratch and install the new CFW since I won't have one on anymore right?
     
  10. Arubaro

    Arubaro Soulspace Guardian
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    Yes, because CFW is not really something you "install", only copy/paste the files and boot... so to change between CFW you only need to replace their files.
    You'll keep your games always you don't mess up with the "nintendo 3ds" folder.
     
  11. VFB

    VFB Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Brazil
    Quick question: can OoTHax method be used in any kind of 3DS, on any Firmware?
     
  12. Arubaro

    Arubaro Soulspace Guardian
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    On any 3ds, on any 9.0+ firmware
     
    VFB likes this.
  13. Xen0

    Xen0 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello
    So the thing is I'm probably going to buy a N3DS anytime soon because of Xenoblade AND the streamthingy. So this means I probably will have to go though all this downgrade and CFW installation once more. I know about a9lh but I don't really care because I'm afraid of doing something wrong and brick my device. I basically just want to create a Emunand and use RxTools + Bootmanager like I'm doing right now with my O3DS.

    So my questions:
    1. What is the most save way to downgrade to 9.2? The time I did it it was pretty risky but I didn't care because my 3DS is from 2011.

    2. After downgrading can I just behave like before and follow the instructions for installing RxTools? Or is there something different on the N3DS?

    3. Can I somehow transfer my actual Emunand to the N3DS then? And will it cause any troubles if my both 3DSes are the same basically? Will my NNID and Fruendlist be transferred?

    Thanks in advance
     
  14. pbanj

    pbanj The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,741
    Country:
    United States
    Yes
    Well any newer fw, it doesn't work on older fw(can't remember the min)
     
    VFB likes this.
  15. Phya

    Phya Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have installed reinand on my 2011 o3ds, i am trying to install cias inside of reinand but FBI is freezing on a black screen...
     
  16. pbanj

    pbanj The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,741
    Country:
    United States
    The cfw isn't installed to the system. It's not really a custom firmware, its a firmware patcher. It patches the nand(sys or emu) at boot every time. That is why you must keep the cfw files on the sd card. When you launch the exploit of your choice(*hax/a9lh/mset) it loads the cfws file(3dsx/bin/dat). That then starts to load the nand its set to load while pitching it with the patches its set to do. It doesn't mess with any folders on the sd card its not set for(think the rei folder), so you don't need to back anything up. YOU would have to fuck up real hard for it to ruin the Nintendo 3ds folder.
    To change to a new cfw you just delete the old cfw files and put the new ones on, make the proper changes in your bootmanager if you use one, and turn the system on. You can have more than one cfw on a 3ds if you want(a lot of people do). You just use a bootmanager and have all the entries set up, then just hold the assigned button while booting.
     
  17. RayD97

    RayD97 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Canada
  18. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Doing research and knowing what you're doing. That's honestly the safest way to downgrade.
    Do note that no matter how much research you do, downgrading will never be 100% safe (because you're doing it on a N3DS)
    There are tools for noobs that are safety-measures, but they don't help increase the chances of downgrading safely.

    2. You should install Luma3DS or ReiNand for N3DS, as RxTools hasn't been updated for N3DS yet.

    3. I believe transferring your emunand (by System Transfer) to your N3DS emunand is fine. Don't quote me on that though.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
    Xen0 likes this.
  19. RayD97

    RayD97 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Canada
    Installing a ticket for a game makes the eshop think you've purchased it before, letting you "redownload" it.
     
  20. pbanj

    pbanj The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,741
    Country:
    United States
    2. those cfw should be used even if on an o3ds as rxtools is outdated. also it does work on n3ds just takes more work.

    3. you CAN NOT flash a nand from one system to another doesnt matter if its emu or not
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,