360...?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by playallday, Oct 29, 2008.

Oct 29, 2008

360...? by playallday at 5:56 PM (2,357 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I'm thinking about getting a 360. Here's what I want to know:

    1. Which 360 should I get? (And don't say Elite [​IMG] )
    2. Any sales in Canada you know about?
    3. Whats the easy way of modding it? Any guides would be nice.
    4. Can I dump games with my computer?
    5. Can I burn out my laser with bad/poor disks?
    6. If I get a RRoD will Microsoft give me a new one even that's its modded?

    And just so you know I won't be playing online.

    Thanks!
     


  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    1. Arcade are a nice bargain nowadays.
    2. Dunno as I'm not from Canada, sorry.
    3. You'll probably get a non-moddable Lite-on one, so do not even worry about modding it [​IMG]
    4. You need a special Samsung drive, or you have to crack open a normal DVD drive and do some crazy swap things with it.
    5. Not that I know of. But using quality discs is always better.
    6. Only if you won't destroy your Warranty Seal while you're doing the mod.

    Enjoy [​IMG]
     
  3. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Is this a good idea?
    3. Oh, so I can't modded it [​IMG] ? If so I'll pass on the 360...
    4. Links?
    6. Is that hard not to do?
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    1. Good enough [​IMG]
    3. Yeah, almost certainly, sadly.
    4. Xbox-Scene
    6. IIRC, there are a lot of vids on youtube explaining how to not destroy it. The most used method is using a hairdryer to heat it up and then removing it with a fine tip.
     
  5. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you have any FULL guides to hacking the 360 (like this one)?
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can still mod even if you get a lite-on. You'll just have to buy an old hackable drive as well. Get key and spoof info from the lite-on and swap to the hackable drive [​IMG].
     
  7. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm a n00b to 360, how'd I do that?
     
  8. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    It's pretty advance stuff and involves soldering, I wouldn't recommend trying it if this is your first time.

    Thank god I still have 2 new 360s with Benq drive stockpiled.
     
  9. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apart from the soldering it's no more advanced than flashing a drive. Once you've got the ttl->rs232 hooked up to the drive , you only have to run a program to retrieve the key. No harder than flashing .
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    That mostly defeats the entire "modding" idea in my opinion. You're just buying another drive, and it can be quite costly [​IMG]

    BTW, spoofing a Lite-On requires soldering. You have to solder on the data pins to dump the key on your PC [​IMG]

    If you're not confortable with soldering, I would advise against it.
     
  11. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Meh , one time payment for a drive , or buy expensive originals [​IMG]. Better than nothing anyway , least you can do something with them now.
     
  12. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Pro
    2. bestbuy $199
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    True that [​IMG]

    I wonder if a modchip for it will ever come out. IIRC, Team NME announced one... but they retired last week :/
     
  14. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    No one has got me a FULL guide yet! Why not?!?

    I CAN solder but I'm not good at it so that's a no-no.
     
  15. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If a mod comes out , it won't be until there is a hacked firmware. No dump of the firmware , so no one knows where to get the mod to poke. Team NME is just waiting for a hacked firmware to appear , then they'll make their chip and proclaim how great they are. Done exactly the same last time , hitachi 78 appears "we are making chip" , hacked firmware appears , then chip appears. Same with 79 and benQ.
     
  16. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    It won't appear. The Flash on the Lite-On is ROM. It seems MS has learned its lesson, on rewritable firmware chips [​IMG]
     
  17. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Why doesn't someone dump the firmware then?
     
  18. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    The firmware should be dumpable, the problem is that even if you hack it, there's no way to place it back into the drive.
     
  19. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not rom , it can be erased and written to. You just can't read , unless you erase it first , but doing that you wipe the dump you need.

    Straight from the man himself , from the lite-on thread on xbox-scene as apparently they have stripped down the chip.

    [11:09] c4eva now u have teh controller chip stripped down have u been able to read the fw off it
    [11:11] soon, work is progressing
    [11:11] c4eva if u r able to read fw off it, does it means that fw is identical on all liteons, and we all can erase current/write hacked one to our liteons using software
    [11:12] yes, but key must still be dumped, but once fw is read, will look for other holes, software erase/write already done
    [11:17] once we have fw, and create ixtreme, you just put your key in and flash back!
    [11:17] throught the sata
    [11:18] flash-yes
    [11:18] nice
    [11:18] nice idd
    [11:18] once we have fw, will look for easy way to get k

    So can be written to , just not read yet.
     
  20. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Enough with the Liteon. I'll make sure not to get one.

    So what do I need to do? From start point to ending point!
     

Share This Page