360 modder in central tx?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by iza, Apr 23, 2007.

Apr 23, 2007

360 modder in central tx? by iza at 4:53 PM (1,199 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. iza
    OP

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I'm looking into modding my 360. i've read the tuts and such, but i dont know it my chipset(?) will support the SATA (?) cable. anyone here from central tx that have done this, would you be willing to help me?
     
  2. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My PC is still on IDE and what I did was buy a PCI SATA adapter with the right chipset on ebay. It was pretty cheap about £10. The PCI SATA adapter I use had the chipset VIA VT6421A PCI SATA. I assume you've found out what drive your 360 has inside it. Unless someone knows an easier way you could just open up the 360 and see if you can flash it with the SATA you have in the PC already. If it won't read your firmware you know you don't have the right chipset.
     
  3. iza
    OP

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    see... i understand what most the tut's talk about... but i get confused once they start talking about chipsets and ide v. sata... i'm building a new computer, and that one will have sata but i'm still months away from havin the cash for it.... i have an older dell... it's probably IDE right? and once i buy the pci sata adapter, do i install it on my motherboard?
     
  4. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you've got an older dell, it will probably be like mine. The best way to tell is to open up the case and see what harddrive is connected up. The PCI SATA adapter is easy to install it just slots into the PCI slot on the motherboard.
     
  5. iza
    OP

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    okay, i think you've cleared up a pretty big cloud... from there, it's just opening the case, connecting the two with a special cable(?), and find the firmware?
     
  6. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    Central Texas, like Austin? I live in Fort Worth, if you're willing to make the drive. I wouldn't mind helping you out. I do 360 flashes for 10 bones.
     
  7. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The firmware should be on xbins. Make sure you get the MKFLASH for the SATA chipset your using and the right firmware for you drive.
     
  8. iza
    OP

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    will i have to update it once i get it flashed?
     
  9. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Best thing to do it wait till the new update is released on 7th may. Then you will find out if its worth flashing your xbox 360 or not. The 7th may update may stop your ability to play copied games. I'm not sure if they've started putting the latest firmware updates on the games.
     
  10. iza
    OP

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    i thought it was undetectable thus far... since it was just dvd firmware?
     
  11. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is undetectable so far. But the latest firmware update is coming 7thy may. So you never know whats going to happen.
     

Share This Page