3 in 1 with a G6 Real

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Shasha, Oct 19, 2007.

Oct 19, 2007

3 in 1 with a G6 Real by Shasha at 2:13 AM (1,159 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Shasha
    OP

    Newcomer Shasha Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone have this combination? Can you get rumble or browser or soft reset to work?
     
  2. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    Soft reset is only supported for R4, DS-Link and Supercard One.

    However, you can use patches for rumble/browser support.

    But rumble is more audio than haptic feedback anyway...
     
  3. Shasha
    OP

    Newcomer Shasha Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know which patches I would need for the browser and rumble support? I couldn't seem to find any that would work with the G6 Real.

    As far as I know you need to use Rudolph's tool to set the card to Expansion or Rumble mode, and then soft reset and start whatever game. Is there a way around the soft reset option?
     
  4. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    The patches for browser and rumble are IPS patches for the ROM files. They can be found on the Sosuke EZFlash forums
     
  5. Shasha
    OP

    Newcomer Shasha Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried that browser patch before and it doesn't work. My G6 Real still fails to recognize the expansion pack. As I said before, this is because the 3 in 1 needs to be set to expansion mode and then the ds needs to be soft reset, and I cannot get into expansion mode using Rudolph's tool.
     
  6. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    No. The patch works. I've even used it with my G6R. If the 3in1 still isn't recognized, then perhaps it is faulty. Try any rumble patch (there is also a rumble tester NDS file) and see if that works.

    EDIT: Of course you can't get into expansion mode, the G6R isn't one of the properly supported cards by Rudolphs Tool.
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Use this patch for the browser: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?t=4262

    Once patched, the browser will automatically put the 3-in-1 in RAM expansion mode. You won't need to do anything but start the browser just like you would any other game.


    The rumble patcher sucks, and so do the individual rumble patches. You can expect various glitches during gameplay in most games. Also, many games can't be patched, or won't run after being patched.

    To get around this, use the rumble patcher to patch a small game (like Elf Bowling), it doesn't matter if the game uses the rumble pack. You can then enable rumble by starting the patched game, soft resetting back to the G6R menu, and starting the game you want to use rumble with. (The G6R does have soft reset, right?)

    Rumble patcher: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?t=4767
     
  8. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes it does, and I can verify this technique works on the G6R as long as the games are in the NDS directory (the only place where soft reset is supported).
     
  9. Shasha
    OP

    Newcomer Shasha Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Turns out I was patching the browser incorrectly. I tried it again and it's working!

    I tried the 3 in 1 rumble patcher and when I try to use it, it gives me one of those Windows errors where it asks you to send the info to MS, and then the patcher closes.

    It sounds like there's a few other patchers around though, so I'll try some more out. I was much more concerned with the expansion pack for the browser and linux, and it looks like I got that working now.

    Thanks for all the info guys!
     
  10. Shasha
    OP

    Newcomer Shasha Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Does the soft reset trick work for the expansion pack as well? As in, if I'm running something like linux that needs expansion, should I just boot up the browser to get the 3 in 1 into expansion mode, and then soft reset and run linux?
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That should work. As far as I know, once the 3-in-1 is set to RAM expansion or rumble mode it stays that way until the power is turned off.

    You will only need to do that if the program you're running only works with the official RAM pak that came with the browser. Many homebrew apps now support the memory in various slot 2 flashcarts directly.
     

Share This Page