3-in-1 only has .sav files for one GBA game at a time?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by drummy, May 16, 2008.

  1. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Hey guys. Whenever I load a game in 3-in-1 in my GBA ExpLoader (PSRAM), I can only start up one game and save it. If I start up any other game after I reboot my DS, I lose the save file from the previous game, and it's really annoying. I've lost a lot of progress and I am wondering if there is a remedy. Thanks.
     
  2. kpeezy

    Newcomer kpeezy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I can't bust out my DS right now and check, but I know you're doing something wrong. Try it again and read the instructions on the screen about which button does what. You can run the game or run the game and create a save (I think...). At the bottom of the screen it tells you which buttons do what. Read that.

    Edit: Is your handle from... that band.. uh.. Houseguest?
     
  3. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Thanks, and no. I used to be a drummer, and my nickname was drummstik, and eventually, people just started calling me drummy.
     
  4. jordanlp

    Member jordanlp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    huh... Try loading one into the NOR Memory and see.
     
  5. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    What happens with my 3-in-1, (I have the new chipset) I boot the game from GBA EXPloader, play the game and switch off the DS, when I boot it up again and open GBA EXP, it asks me where I would like to store the save file.

    Does that help at all?

    EDIT: By the way i'm talking about PSRAM. With NOR, the process seems to be a bit different. It seems to save the game internally inside the cart inself, and then you need to manually transfer the file by pressing X in the NOR menu or something like that.
     
  6. Dsmanic!

    Newcomer Dsmanic! Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Australia
    Open up GBA_Explorer.ini with DS Organize or use text editor.

    You will see the line:
    #No_Multisave ! No Multisave
    Delete the quote (#) so the line will read:
    No_Multisave ! No Multisave

    That's it. GBA Exploader will automatically save for you, no need to SRAM save. It will make no difference if you do anyway, it will still save automatically.

    Also, several unneccesary menus are gone making GBA Exploader simple and fun to use.

    Enjoy. [​IMG]
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I'm guessing that you're using roms that have been processed by the EZ4 Client. It will cause exactly this problem, even if you don't apply the save patch. Use clean roms with GBA ExpLoader.
     
  8. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I dunno what that means, I just use GBA ExpLoader.
     
  9. Dsmanic!

    Newcomer Dsmanic! Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Australia
    Trust me, there was a typo in the GBA Exploader 0.56 ini, namely the #, which prevented you from multi-saving. Deleting the # and you won't have any troubles saving as long as you use clean roms.
     
  10. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    How will I know whether I'm using clean roms or not?

    EDIT: Your tip worked. Thanks.
     
  11. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    if you just got them from the net and didn't modify them in any way
     

Share This Page