3-in-1 as browser RAM

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by theredbaron, Jun 5, 2007.

Jun 5, 2007

3-in-1 as browser RAM by theredbaron at 1:41 PM (1,149 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. theredbaron
    OP

    Newcomer theredbaron Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Does using a slot-2 card like the EZ 3-in-1 as a RAM cart have advantages (speed, smoothness) over using the one that comes with the DS Browser retail?
     
  2. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I've never used the retail one, but the 3 in 1 is faster than the supercard SD.
     
  3. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    From EZFlashs website:

     
  4. VVoltz

    Member VVoltz The Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,727
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    Bolivia
    I mean com on!
    offical !!!!!

    [​IMG]

    Everyon is stupiod this days!. Im the only one prefecttly normal here.
     
  5. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well done Genius. Not.

    If the EZFlash 3 in 1 expansion pack's 16MB of PSRAM functions exactly the same as the DS Browser's 8MB of RAM (Not sure what type, but it would only go as fast as the GBA Bus), I would be extremely surprised.

    Especially as the assembly to unlock both device's RAM for functional use is different.
     
  6. theredbaron
    OP

    Newcomer theredbaron Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    So there's no real difference functionality-wise?
     
  7. ahtin

    Member ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I think they have SAME performance
     
  8. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Performance is more related to the code of the browser and the quality of your wireless link than anything else.

    The assembly to unlock the browser does this exactly:
    -puts the 3in1 in browser RAM mode
    -puts the markers/header that Opera expects in the RAM cart to the correct places so Opera's check for the RAM card passes

    The reason why cached memory performs better than other slot2 RAM hacks... a cached RAM is not necessary to run GBA games, but it does help to have the memory ready cycles before the rest of the RAM is ready so writes to the bus can continue at will between flushes to RAM instead of waiting for a ready signal.

    BTW: atrocious spelling is nothing even close to poor understanding of "western" grammar while translating a glyph based language to english. At least the grammar errors leaves something readable, that makes some sense.
     

Share This Page