3.4J Wii + Wiikey2 != Okami/No More Heroes

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by abd08, Dec 24, 2008.

Dec 24, 2008
  1. abd08
    OP

    Newcomer abd08 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All,

    I have a 3.4J Wii and Wiikey2. Using 3 different burn speeds (x2, x4, x8) w/verify on Sony DVD-R, Okami (USA) and No More Heroes (USA) give an error message which translates roughly to:

    "An error has occured. Press the eject button, remove the disk, press the power button to power off, and then follow the guide in the user manual."

    I have never installed the HBC etc, just the Wiikey2 w/clip. Strangely enough (to me at least), Mario Kart PAL (original game disc) works with no problems. [​IMG]

    Thanks
    Raj
     
  2. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try installing the Homebrew Channel and running those discs through GeckoOS (not the backup launchers). The region free inbuilt into chips only works for about 70% of discs - the rest of the time, you'll need software to help it along.

    I'm assuming, of course, that you've got the Wiikey2's region patching enabled - you can confirm and change the setting with the config/update disc. For it to work, I think the first disc you inserted after the chip was installed must have been an own-region (i.e. PAL) original.
     
  3. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    this is why i'm getting a D2sun ver3.05 cuz you set the region and drive type on the chip first hand. :/
    yeah get gecko os and install it then try running through it post back results.
     
  4. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got a Wiikey2 because the D2Sun v2 I bought was defective - with the fiddly little DIP switches to set the two cables going it took me a while to figure out that no, I wasn't doing anything wrong and yes, I'd received a dud. There's a lot to be said for a Wiikey2+Wiiclip's simple "plug it on the chip, stick in your Wii Sports and you're done" approach. Only thing a D2Sun's really got over a Wiikey2 is the external switch.
     
  5. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i think the switch is a good idea especially when you don't have any ntsc j wii games like me and your wii is japan, well by my fault it is cuz i dabbled in the dark side (it was ntsc u).
    i'm not dissing the wiikey2 its a admirable chip.
    they have wii clips for d2sun thats what I'm getting a pre soldered one.
    i think the switches are a good idea but they should combo with the on/off switch for on the fly region changing and so you don't break the chippy switching them around.
     
  6. abd08
    OP

    Newcomer abd08 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all the replies. I got HBC installed using the Beta2 Twilight hack, and installed 1.07b to my SD card.

    With region patching turned on the Wiikey2, Okami and Rayman Rabbids TV party I still get exactly the same problems.

    Have searched around, but can't seem to find anything definitive... can I confirm then that I have to downgrade to 3.2J to get these titles working? Am getting SSB/Animal Crossing Japanese version in a week!
     

Share This Page