3.3E with wiikey 1.0, safe to update the wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by forza11, Jun 13, 2009.

Jun 13, 2009
  1. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a Wii 3.3E with wiikey 1.9g. No other softmods applied, just the wiikey to play backups.

    Is it safe to upgrade the wii with the one that comes with Punch Out? (Guess it's V4.0 thats included). Or is there a method to remove the wii update from the punch out disk?

    I have been out of the scene for a while so everything that happened after the 3.3E update is new to me [​IMG]

    thanks
     
  2. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    brickblocker was way before 3.3E [​IMG] use that if you wish, but regular pal updates won't block your wiikey at all.
    If in the future you may want to use usb loader tho, it might be nice to install the homebrew channel, cios rev9 or higher and then just go up to 4.0, and u won't have to worry about anything
     
  3. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thanks,

    will i be able to install the homebrew channel after the punch-out upgrade on the disk? i'm trying to read up on this forum, but there is just so many new stuff that it's giving me a headeache. Did i read it correctly that you can still get the homebrew channel on a 4.0 wii with the new bannerbomb trick?

    p.s.: yes, the brickblocker is indeed very old! never used it though [​IMG]

    EDIT: went with the homechannel, trying to upgrade now
     
  4. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you can get hbc @ 4.0 with bannerbomb, but twilight is so much easier @ 3.3 [​IMG]
    anyhoo you did it already [​IMG]
     
  5. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah, i just went through the guide. It's all installed, but it seems my wiikey is disabled now. I can't play games anymore via the disc channel. Only way to go is homebrew->neogamma installer->play game. And it stopped reading the Punch-Out disc completely, so i will try to burn the disc again tomorrow.

    it's weird though cause it reckonized the game (hence the question about the update) and now it doesn't read it anymore (neither via the disc channel or the WAD gamma loader thingy).
     
  6. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    all? what is all! all you needed was the hbc and cios rev9 or above, nothin else! what did u install?
     
  7. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i just followed this guide: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=144835

    It's all very confusion, there are so many guides on here so i just took the one that seemed the best [​IMG] i hope i didn't screw up now. Do I have to roll back / uninstall anything?

    Edit: so basically i installed an entire list WAD's (of which I have no idea where they for), the homechannel and preloader. The gamma loader runs on the SD card, which i have to access via the homebrewchannel. Then i can load a game ( i tried 2, 1 worked, 1 didn,t which was punch out). I hope I can uninstall some stuff to get it to work like before.
     
  8. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ooo never install wads if u don't know what they're for.. do you still have the list of what u actually installed?
     
  9. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes, luckely i do. These are under the apps folder, which i loaded from the homebrew channel

    cIOS36_rev10-Installer
    CMDVDX35
    preloaderv0.29-cred
    WAD-Manager_v1.4


    Here is the list of WADS

    [​IMG]
     
  10. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    woa.. somethings you do not install simply with wadmanager, such as CIOS.. they have their own installers..
    But i'm not sure why the modchip is now bypassed, you cannot just simply uninstall all those wads because you will brick [​IMG] (if you remove those IOS's). Anyone got ideas what might be wrong?
     
  11. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i'm trying the USB loader now, it seems more easy then having to burn discs first. 1 of the games that didn't work yesterday did work today. I guess my wiikey was just messed up, so a hard reset (i.e. unplug power) did the trick.
    '
    But maybe you can answer this; I upgraded to CIOS rev 13 this morning, but when i start the app it asks me which loader i want to use, i can choose between all the different IOS's, which one should i pick to install the new CIOS's?
     
  12. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    which ap asks you that? homebrew chan?
     
  13. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I start the CIOS38_revv13b application via the homebrew channel. It start the installer and then asks me which IOS version to use during the installation, if I choose IOS61 for example it fails. But when i choose IOS249 or IOS38 it works.. what are these options for?
     
  14. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you need an ios that will accept u installing things, like a dll in windows.. ios249 = CIOS, ios38 = probably best I recon for this (as you will overwrite ios249)
     
  15. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thats the last one i did and it worked. So if an installer doesn't work on a certain IOS I should just try another?

    As the for the USB hard drive loader, i finally got it working now and i'm playing punch-out (finally, after hours of messing arround [​IMG]) Anyways, the USB loader seems like a better option then burning discs and using wiikey. But my external HD doesn't work that well, i had to restart it 10 times for the USB loader V1.5 to reckonize it. Do you have experience with the USB loader? is so:

    - What is the best external USB drive to get for the Wii?
    - Is there a way to get the games listed in the channels, instead of opening up the USB loader and then selecting the game?

    thanks for your help so far
     
  16. drSTRIFE

    Newcomer drSTRIFE Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    New Zealand
    For the USB drives, this might help.

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/USB...patibility_List
     
  17. forza11
    OP

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thanks, i switched the USB port and installed another USB loader (USB loader GX). It works great now, i'm putting it all on the HD so i don't have the swap disks anymore.

    i also found some methods of installing game channels. But I don't know if i'm going to do that. The USB loader GX is quick and it gives a good overview of your games including the covers (it download covers automaticly).
     

Share This Page