Hacking 3.2u Semi-Bricked. How to unbrick it?

canli

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
190
Trophies
0
XP
252
Country
Belgium
Hi, my wii is semi-bricked
WUM manager says that if I have the latest firmware, I have to wait until the next available firmware downloadable.

Isn't there another solution to unbrick it? Installed SMG, Paper Mario, Metroid, MK and SSBB firmware before

thanks
 

gamidi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
94
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
29
Country
Greece
Get SSBB and open it with trucha. Extract rvlsystemmenu257.wad.out.wad from the first partition. Now get a pal game that contains 3.1e(like fire emblem radiant dawn pal) and replace rvlsystemmenu258.wad.out.wad with the one you extracted earlier(rvlsystemmenu257.wad.out.wad) and resign the partition. Now burn the resulting iso. It should ask for an update when you pop it in the wii. Do it and it is unbricked.
 

blacksoul

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
90
Country
Belgium
Get SSBB and do the Trucha trick like gamidi said or get Mario Kart PAL, it should unbrick your semi-bricked Wii, like it did for a friend of mine.
 

mwaddoups

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
@gamidi: Does this actually work? If so I missed something before lol, I never had the chance to try this. So replacing the 3.1E v258 update with a U (or J, in my case) update will fix semi-bricks. This is great news for me if so, because I bricked with SSBB US on my JAP wii.
 

Rurounik99

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 29, 2005
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
370
Country
Brazil
there is another game with 3.1E update like Fire Emblem??? do you have a list??? please post if you have it.
NTSC US Wii here.
 

mwaddoups

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
FIRE EMBLEM 10 EUR
NARUTO Clash of Ninja Revolution EUROPEAN VERSION
My Riding Stables
MarioKartWii
NAMCO MUSEUM REMIX
RVL Wii Fit
Iron Man
Spielberg | EA BoomBlox
DRAGON QUEST SWORDS

All of these apparently have 3.1E, according to the WUM website.
 

gamidi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
94
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
29
Country
Greece
I said fire emblem because i know it can be opened with trucha, unlike mario kart wii. As for the trucha method, dcsiso posted it in the wiinewz forums(dsciso is the guys who is making a media center for the wii) and should work with both ntsc-u and ntsc-j bricks. You wont lose anything if you try it. EDIT: The 3.1J firmware is codenamed RVL-SYSTEMMENU256.WAD.OUT.WAD and you can grab it from SSBB -Jap
 

nysid

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
50
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
Indonesia
OMG it's fantastic, i'll try it to unbrick my friend semi brick Wii 3.1J (got update from okami US)
so the point is, Wii JP will got update from PAL game but the iso is already edited with trucha & been replace by rvlsystemmenu from SSBB JP (RVL 256)

i've got Error : Replaced file must be equal , in trucha

filename: RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v256.wad.out.wad
offset: 8f5df80
size: 25079104

filename: RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v258.wad.out.wad
offset: 9268380
size: 23387072

Help please...
 

mwaddoups

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
There isn't really too much you can do - I have the same problem. You could try editing the sizes and offsets in the fst.bin, but listed beforehand are the shopping and weather channels, which probably want to be avoided changing to non-real sizes as they could try to install and cause corruption.

Bushing has said there is a way of getting the updates from nintendo's servers themselves, which may solve some of these problems, but unless you are confident editing fst.bin/can be bothered to trace the offsets back to remove one of the older IOS versions instead or something you're sorta stuck. Weird how a later version is smaller than an earlier lol, but I guess its japanese text or something.
 

nysid

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
50
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
Indonesia
@mwaddoups
i'have managed replace the file with Wii update manager. When i insert the disc to My Wii 3.2U it show in the channel window there's update. I've check with trucha, the file right now is 256.
I'm going to test it on my frend semi brick Wii Jp, hope it can unbrick.
 

mwaddoups

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
I tried that, but the fact that it IS 256 may mean it doesn't prompt an update (I haven't tried it in a Wii). I think a possible way to do it would be to edit the offsets and sizes of the Shopping and Weather (i think, whichever ones are before the wiisystemmenu in the update partition) channels, so that they are both small. Since you should already have the latest versions of these, these shouldnt try to update themselves, and editing the fst.bin will allow you to change the offset on the WiiSystemMenu file as well and size to make it large enough to be replaceable. This requires knowing quite a bit about how the fst.bin works - I'm a little scared to try this myself as if it does try to update from the channels with the wrong data, its likely to cause problems.
 

jan777

motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
2,827
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
385
Country
wait for bushing to develop a unbricking device or method that will not need a backup of your nand and the use of encrypted keys?
 

gamidi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
94
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
29
Country
Greece
Sorry for not checking the size of the jap update, i only tested the us systemmenu and it fitted in the pal update. You can still use wiiscrubber 1.2 to replace the systemmenu as it supports replacing files bigger than original. You will probably get eur dupe channels from trying this, but they can be removed with waninkoko's tool.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i always do hours of research before i buy anything because half the crap you see gets bad reviews especially when it's on sale, stuff is usually on sale because it was a bad deal at full price and nobody was buying it
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Calm your tits it sound okay for the money lol
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Sound bars are a scam
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    No comment on whatever particular unit Kennie bought, don't really care
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Just, in general, sound bars are a scam.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    An actual decent to good sound bar is going to be as expensive as a lower end home theater in a box system with less functionality and a poorer sound stage
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Which is to say you're spending so much money to still have 100% of the sound come from the bottom of the TV.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    As long as it sounds good that's all I give a fuck about lol
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    aye long as you're happy with your purchase that's the important part
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    You really can't judge based on video reviews as it's not the pure sound coming from it
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    So any product reviewer can just say spend $200 more on this cause it sounds better be your own judge
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Plus stores have that 30 day return thing if you're not happy with it return it it shouldn't need to be a huge deal lol
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I gotta sit down for a bit and play around with the new surround receiver I bought
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Does everything I need it to however it's got some peculiarities that either I'm just being big dumb and not understanding right, or are a complete dealbreaker
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I'd love to own a good klipsch or Yamaha receiver but I don't really need to spend $200+ on a receiver living in a single bedroom apartment
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    *looks around nervously at single bedroom apartment*
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    As long as it booms out the crackhead I live around it's good enough
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Funny that, I actually just replaced a Yamaha receiver, replaced it with a manufacturer refurbished Denon unit
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Only reason for replacing is that the Yamaha unit was like 8 years old and didn't support 4k video
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Denon makes good shit
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And now that I think of it, only a single device that's plugged into it is even capable of outputting a 4k signal anyway lmfao
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    my chromecast
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ps4, xbox one, switch, all 1080p I think. I don't have the ps5 or xsx yet
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I wish Marshall could make good 7.1 receivers but they're more amp related
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    And audio technica
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: And audio technica