PS1/2 200 No Network adapter detected on phat ps2 network adapter after swapping IDE for SATA

Gamemaster1379

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
United States
Website
1379tech.110mb.com
XP
1,357
Country
United States
HI all. Running into an issue I can't find a lot of information on.

I recently purchased a PS2 phat with an official Sony network adapter. I had it all set up with OPL and the PS2 could read over the network just fine.

Recently, I wanted to see about also putting an HDD Into the unit, so I bought a small replacement part to swap the IDE connectors for a SATA one. I've gone ahead and swapped out the PCB and now have it fitted to use SATA.

However, I'm now seeing a problem I didn't before. Whenever I boot OPL, I get the error: 200 No Network adapter detected when I hook it up to ethernet (no hdd inserted).
I already tried cleaning with isopropyl on the ps2 port and the adapter itself, but no luck. Did I somehow break this during my swap?
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,531
Trophies
1
XP
3,279
Country
Do HDDs still work (even just spin up)?

I had an issue with mine when I tried this mod on my PAL adapter, I suspect the replacement board shorted and blew the 12v rail fuse inside the PS2.

Thankfully the 5v rail still works and I've since applied some electrical tape, so whilst I can’t use 3.5” drives, 2.5” work.

I’d also double check the ribbon cables/connectors and make sure the PS2 connector isn’t misaligned. I know NA adapters have additional circuitry for the modem but nothing more than that.
 
Last edited by tech3475,

Gamemaster1379

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
United States
Website
1379tech.110mb.com
XP
1,357
Country
United States
Do HDDs still work (even just spin up)?

I had an issue with mine when I tried this mod on my PAL adapter, I suspect the replacement board shorted and blew the 12v rail fuse inside the PS2.

Thankfully the 5v rail still works and I've since applied some electrical tape, so whilst I can’t use 3.5” drives, 2.5” work.

I’d also double check the ribbon cables/connectors and make sure the PS2 connector isn’t misaligned. I know NA adapters have additional circuitry for the modem but nothing more than that.
Amazing, sounds like I've gone two steps backwards on this mod.

Between the two I'd rather have network loading. My HDD isn't working but I suspect it may not be a compatible model from what I'm reading online.

So what's next? What do I need to do to get network loading back? Sounds like I have to do something inside of my PS2 now if this thing blew something on it, right?
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,531
Trophies
1
XP
3,279
Country
Amazing, sounds like I've gone two steps backwards on this mod.

Between the two I'd rather have network loading. My HDD isn't working but I suspect it may not be a compatible model from what I'm reading online.

So what's next? What do I need to do to get network loading back? Sounds like I have to do something inside of my PS2 now if this thing blew something on it, right?

I would first try checking everything and perhaps reverting the mod.

I haven’t tried the repair, but from what I’ve read basically there’s 2 surface mount fuses on the PS2’s motherboard, so how easy or difficult it is may depend on your skill set.

These aren’t your standard fuses like you’d find in the PSU.

Edit:

Note: To be clear, I haven’t done much testing on mine, bar diagnosing that 3.5” (which use 12V) drives don’t work.
 
Last edited by tech3475,

Gamemaster1379

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
United States
Website
1379tech.110mb.com
XP
1,357
Country
United States
I would first try checking everything and perhaps reverting the mod.

I haven’t tried the repair, but from what I’ve read basically there’s 2 surface mount fuses on the PS2’s motherboard, so how easy or difficult it is may depend on your skill set.

These aren’t your standard fuses like you’d find in the PSU.

Edit:

Note: To be clear, I haven’t done much testing on mine, bar diagnosing that 3.5” (which use 12V) drives don’t work.


I'm getting a 200 when I try my other network adapter ( I have one that's a SATA only that I bought. It previously did not throw 200 errors on OPL). Suggesting VERY heavily to me the issue is the PS2, not the adapter.

Only soldered once or twice. I need to work on getting a proper setup. So unfortunately soldering (or at least, soldering well) is likely going to be very difficult.

At this point, I effectively have an otherwise worthless unit. So I might as well try anyway. Is there anything online on how to identify my model number, how to verify the fuses that need replaced, and places to order replacement uses from?
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,531
Trophies
1
XP
3,279
Country
I'm getting a 200 when I try my other network adapter ( I have one that's a SATA only that I bought. It previously did not throw 200 errors on OPL). Suggesting VERY heavily to me the issue is the PS2, not the adapter.

Only soldered once or twice. I need to work on getting a proper setup. So unfortunately soldering (or at least, soldering well) is likely going to be very difficult.

At this point, I effectively have an otherwise worthless unit. So I might as well try anyway. Is there anything online on how to identify my model number, how to verify the fuses that need replaced, and places to order replacement uses from?

The model should be on the back or in the bios, as for a guide, unfortunately this was a while ago and I can't find the original pages I looked at.

Found this though, someone use a resettable fuse when replacing the power button fuse:
https://snarkycollectsgames.blogspot.com/2014/12/repairing-playstation-2s-ps1-fuse-with.html?m=1
 

TonyMax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
100
Trophies
0
XP
625
Country
United States
What IDE to SATA adapter did you purchase? I am likely to get one soon. Hope you are able to find out what has gone wrong.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    TheLiamChannel @ TheLiamChannel: who play acnl?