2 operating systems 1 PC

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Livin in a box, Sep 7, 2008.

Sep 7, 2008
  1. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What program can I use to put Linux on my Vista laptop? VirtualPC 2007 won't put it on, because on the Microsoft website, it doesn't say Linux in the OS's it supports.
     
  2. agentdurden

    Newcomer agentdurden Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    install Ubuntu. download the 700mb cd iso. burn it off. install if from within windows. and when you reboot, you can choose to boot to Ubuntu. if you decide you dont like it and want to get rid of it. all you have to do it go back to windows, and uninstall it like you would any other program.

    Ubuntu is very good. [​IMG]

    http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download
     
  3. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Virtually all Linux distros have in-built functions to setup a dual-boot. You don't need to use a subpar distro like Ubuntu to have it.

    If you want to emulate the operating system from within Windows, use VirtualBox.
    http://www.virtualbox.org/
     
  4. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So if I download a Linux distro, it should have it?

    Can anyone tell me what they think is the best, or are they all virtually the same?
     
  5. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    Ubuntu = Ubuntu Beryl? Just wondering.
     
  6. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What?

    Anyway, what is the best one?
     
  7. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    tried Ubuntu , My laptop couldnt even enter the internet.. I tried solving and it sucked.
    Second , The effects DIDNT work even tho I have a comptabile card (nvidia geforce 6150)..
     
  8. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    Well you must be doing something wrong because I have gf6150 onboard video and it works - a little laggy though.
     
  9. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just because you couldn't get the internet to work (you must be doing something wrong or have a crappy set up) doesn't mean the OS sucks
     
  10. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    ...I spent alot of time , Making me hate it..
     
  11. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I looked at Ubuntu before and I thought it looked alright. I won't be using it for much at all. I'll just put it on a disc and use it when I feel like it.
     
  12. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
  13. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
  14. sepinho

    Member sepinho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    Germany
    You could try Andlinux. It's not a real Linux distro per se, as in you need neither dual-boot nor virtualization. It basically runs Linux as an app within windows.
     
  15. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    Using Ubuntu as only OS for two years now. Never had to look back at Windows.

    Ducky, look at http://ubuntuforums.org/ for help. Their newbie forum is, well, very newbie friendly. Overall a nice place if you need support. You could also look at this guide (more kind of a FAQ) for great first steps information.

    There's a solution to everything on Linux. Some tasks just need a little digging work, especially when you're not used to the general concepts yet. I am sure there is one for your Internet problem...
     
  16. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Its only useful for running Linux applications, as opposed to interfacing with the operating system itself.
     
  17. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I want Ubuntu. I have an Intel Pentium Dual-Core and 2.0GB of RAM, 74.6GB free in HD. Do I need to do something to my hard drive to make it all work?
     
  19. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    Not really. You got several options though. If you want to try it out you could either install Ubuntu from Windows (this will use wubi) or you can just boot from the CD (which is live) and try it our from there.

    For installation, you could repartition your hard drive beforehand but the Ubuntu installer can do this for you too. Backup your hd before you install!
     

Share This Page