2.71 Emulation on PSP!

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Opium, Jul 14, 2006.

Jul 14, 2006

2.71 Emulation on PSP! by Opium at 4:07 AM (2,334 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG]

    Booster has just released his latest version of Devhook (a program that fully emulates firmwares) and it's now compatible with firmware 2.71 [​IMG]

    Take a gander here for info and download.

    Awesome work from Booster! That now means that the latest PSP firmware can be emulated on 1.5, meaning all UMD's will run fine without firmware upgrade [​IMG]
    Now I can buy Tekken Dark Resurrection when it comes out here, along with Ridge Racer 2 hopefully. There are a few bugs with devhook 0.44 at the moment like 333Mhz clockspeed not working so I'll stick with 2.6 emulation with devhook 0.43 at the moment until the bugs are fixed.
     
  2. OG LOCC NESS

    Member OG LOCC NESS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I never really thought the flash player would suck so much. Anyone know where to get some decent websites or a web portal or something that doesn't make the psp use all of its memory?
    Gooooo Tekken: DR!!
     
  3. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I think because of this breakthrough, the Undiluted Platinum Modchip's value just got seriously diluted [​IMG]
     
  4. akuma99

    Member akuma99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    True, those people that wanted to get one so they could play the latest games without having to upgrade probably won't get one now. The only ones that will be interested in it are the ones that upgraded to 2.7. Since all the other firmwares can now downgrade to 1.5 and run devhook. Also there are some people that have that funky motherboard TA-082 I think so they are outta luck with the mod chip and down graders [​IMG]
     
  5. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    nobody would buy the UP chip for that price anyway...
     
  6. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,217
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not to mention the fact that you have to have the soldering skills of a pro to install it. BTW, at the moment I'm current using Devhook 0.42 and running eboot 2.50. If I want to upgrade the eboot to 2.60 do i still need to find those decrypted files?
     
  7. akuma99

    Member akuma99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you will need the decrypted firmware files for any newer firmware that you want to emulate. I have the full version with all the decrypted firmwares included. I would post the link here but I'm not sure if it is OK let me know otherwise just PM me and I will send you the link.
     
  8. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,217
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never mind, I found the reboot.bin file. I'm trying to upgrade my devhook to 0.44 and my eboot to 2.6 but I'm having trouble. When I go to devhook and press start, I'm presented with a black screen and then nothing.
     
  9. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Germany
    taken from a great tutorial over at ps2nfo.com (just click the link).
     
  10. akuma99

    Member akuma99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    In the options go to OTHER then "preload address" and change it to 0x89000000 that worked for me I had the same problem but this fixed it.
     
  11. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,217
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Now it works.
     
  12. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm not very familiar with devhook, so...
    does this allow you to run isos of 2.71 games?
    if so, what do I need to run them?
     
  13. akuma99

    Member akuma99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will allow you to run the newer games, you just need the iso or umd of the game you want to run and the latest devhook with the decrypted firmwares here is a compatibility list of the games that work with it.

    http://www.ps2nfo.com/forums/showthread.ph...71967#post71967

    and there is a tutorial on that site as well to tell you how to get it working.
     
  14. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    thanks
    didn't see that you can select the UMD before devhook launches the firmware

    now all I need is a bigger memcard...
     
  15. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,217
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm just wondering but if I have the ISO of the game I want to play, where do I put it in the memory stick?
     
  16. akuma99

    Member akuma99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    In a folder called ISO in the root of the memory stick.
     

Share This Page

Loading...