1080p 40" tv

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by VashTS, Apr 12, 2010.

Apr 12, 2010

1080p 40" tv by VashTS at 7:21 PM (3,658 Views / 1 Likes) 35 replies

  1. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,654
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my new LCD TV. Its a 40" RCA, goes to full 1080p. My cable looks awesome. I'll be getting an HDMI cord for the 360 this weekend. But now I understand why people complained the Wii doesn't support 1080. Even on the standard rca cables, the 360 looks better than the Wii. 1080 Wii games would be sick.

    I don't really have much with the post except YAY I finally got a big screen LCD!!

    I couldn't read the text in the 360 on my 32" crt tv. Its almost required to have an LCD when playing the newer consoles, except the Wii that is.

    Are there any tweaks I can use on the Wii? Will component cables really make a difference?
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. geegee

    Member geegee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Buying some component cables and setting the Wii 480p will help but it will never look anything like a Xbox 360 [​IMG]
     
  3. Dragoon709

    Member Dragoon709 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    Anywhere there are games
    Country:
    Canada

    Yes you can say that again. My Wii at 480p looks nothing like my 360 on 1080p. No comparison at all....
     
  4. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Buy the component cables for the Wii, its worth it, its clearer, sharper, but only 480 max.
    Nothing like true HD with a PS3 or Xbox 360 using HDMI cable, though.
     
  5. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    to be honest, I think component cables looks worse... it get's sooo many jagged edges! like there's no anti-aliasing at all!
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Component cables will make a significant difference with certain games (SMG). Component cables are needed for large HDTV's. A crappy 480i image is more noticable on a screen of that size.
    Aren't you that mod on the other game hacking site?
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That's because there isn't any, actually.
    SD TV is just so fucking low-quality and blurry that it covers it up. [​IMG]
     
  8. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the fancy cables are well worth it. they only cost like $4 in ebay including shipping. IMO, once you use the 480p for a week and then try to use the regular cable, it looks about the same quality as a gameboy.

    think of it like this...

    wii with 480i -> VCR
    wii with 480p ->DVD
    xbox/ps3 -> blueray

    when DVD came out, people thought it looked way better than VCR. now that blueray is out, people say DVD looks like shit. but thats just because they forgot how bad VCR looks.
     
  9. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    I totally agree, the Wii looks good on a CRT, but even when using component cables (which is a must) it won't look that good when using a HDTV.

    Every game is natively rendered in 720p and upscaled afterwards, which makes the 1080p mode more or less useless (for me at least). Also some games, for example Resident Evil 5, have some really bad tearing issues when set to 1080p.
     
  10. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    wrong 360 can't do TRUE hd it's locked at 720p and games are upscaled which half the time looks even worse. and anyway who gives a fuck about resolutions real gamers (like me) focus on gameplay which is what you should be doing [​IMG]
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    720p is HD.

    You could argue that 720i isn't HD since it's only 360 lines each frame, but 720p is definitely HD.
     
  12. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,654
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the answers, I'm gonna look into the better cables. Anyone recommend I get the multi set? Like one that will work for wii and 360. Since my 360 uses HDMI I probably will just stick with HDMI.

    1080 on my cable service is sweeeet. I'll probably switch the hdmi cable to the 360 to test it out later.
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    they don't exist since the wii doesnt have a hdmi input. if you want to have your wii on a hdmi cable you need a component to hdmi converter. pick one up for $50 on ebay but stay away from the ones sold from japan/hong kong stalls their trash!!
     
  14. ahtin

    Member ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Go buy the original or monster component cable, dont buy the cheap one. Component cable is a must for playing Wii Game on LCD TV.

    Dont compare to XBOX360 or PS3, they are different level, if you really care about the picture, go buy a Onkyo/Denon AVAMP for upscaleing
     
  15. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    [​IMG] your ther only one that has any sense in this thread

    not to mention this topic changed from Wii to PS3 and 360 and discussion about up scaling and HD etc

    anyway, well the Wii hasn't really ever been the prettiest when it comes to the visuals, 480p is as far as you'll go with it, and for a Wii it wouldn't look bad on a 40"
     
  16. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] There's no such thing as 720i. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/720i
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Then I don't know why they think 720 isn't HD.
     
  18. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    At least the 360 has a dedicated hardware upscaler, and in case you didn't know 720p >>>>>>>>>>>> 480p rendering resolution. And guess what? HD games can have good gameplay too bro.
     
  19. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    Guess what--every game can. [​IMG]

    Anyways, to get back on topic. I got the BigBen component cables for my Wii and they look fine. Does anyone know if there is any/a huge improvement when using the official Nintendo ones (since they're quite expensive)? Just asking.
     
  20. Ossot

    Member Ossot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    United States
    Which means outside of like 4 nintendo published titles, you dont play the Wii much either.
     

Share This Page