“to play this disc, put it in an XBOX360 console”.

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by mpg187, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I burned this game with IMG Burn. I opened the .dvd file and it burned successfully and it says:

    “to play this disc, put it in an XBOX360 console”.

    Here is the abgx output for the one that appears as an audio CD
     


  2. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Did you even run it through abgx? Not all .dvd files that come bundled with scene releases are 100% proper.
     
  3. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried running it through abgx and same thing.
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    How does abgx360 come up with a "to play this disc, put it in an xbox 360 console" error?

    abgx360 works pretty much in only two ways, either it passes the tests or it doesn't. If it doesn't then you have a bad file or it's a bad burn.
     
  5. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    That message comes up when the layerbreak info is wrong or if the rip is bad.... I hope you are getting scene releases that are actually real and not rips made by anyone.
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also comes up with wave3 games on firmware lower than ixtreme 1.51. Would of been helpful to have some more info in original post.
     
  7. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    The error comes up on the Xbox not abgx.

    I got them off the pirate bay as that's easier than copying my own, for now anyways...

    I burnt another one and it acts like an Audio CD with one track.
     
  8. mark.m.moran

    Member mark.m.moran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hi Triassic911,
    I'll have my modded 360 tomorrow night and a good few games on a HDD. I'm totally new to all this so please bare with me.

    Firstly for the games I will have on the HDD what are the best tools to use to burn them and what sort of media should I be using? I use ImgBurn all the time to burn Wii games so I am pretty familiar with it. Is it the same for Xbox 360 games? Is there anything I need to do before the burn and also after?

    Secondly, I love Gbatemp for its up to date Wii releases and the forum. Is there anything similar on another site that lists the scene releases in terms of filename etc.?

    All the best,
    Mark
     
  9. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice hijack thar
     
  10. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice hijack indeed. For the sake of it, the best way for you to rip/burn 360 games is to find a "Kreon compatible" DVD writer. Kreon firmware allows it to read xbox disks (good for knowing when you've got a bad burn) and is the best way to burn xbox games, although I hear mixed reports about any DVD drive being usable for simple burns (most say you can, some say you can't). Best results come from Kreon drives.

    For the media, most people like Verbatim DVD+R DL. Ones produced in Singapore are better than the ones from India (although the stock of Singapore DVDs are running low since they moved their factories to India) but they're still good and recommended throughout the scene. Whatever brand you use (avoid unbranded like the plague), make sure it's DVD+R DL and not DVD-R DL or DVD+/-R. Only dual layer disks work.

    Program... lots of people like ImgBurn. I've heard some people prefer using programs like XboxDecryptor (might not be the right name, but something like that) which are specialised for Xbox games. Just Google things like "how to burn backup 360 games" and you'll see what all the guides recommend.

    Finally, for the scene releases, fellow 'temper FAST6191 is doing a good job about posting whenever new games enter the scene early (ahead of street dates) and provides the NFOs of the groups who provide them. You can also find out the street release dates from gamefaqs.
     
  11. mark.m.moran

    Member mark.m.moran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanx Originality, u the man! Where would I find FAST6191 and his list of Xbox 360 scene releases?

    Are the scene releases normally already stealthed?

    Cheers,
    M
     
  12. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Did you ever set your Layerbreak in imgburn?

    As far as i know, i always set my layerbreak manually in imgburn even if it's stated in the .dvd file, but i mostly burn with x360 images with clonecd [​IMG], no need for manually setting it, just pop in and burn [​IMG]
     
  13. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So far I've only ever used layerbreak with certain Wii games. I've not tried dl/burning 360 because I've not had my HDD flashed yet ;p I do know that each 360 game is supposed to have different layerbreaks though, which is why the break location data is so important (either contained in the wrapper like x360 or recorded in .dvd files).

    Personally I've never liked CloneCD - the versions I've tried have always had problems of memory leaks and buffer underruns, and not just with my laptops. Maybe the later version are better, but I just stick with ImgBurn.

    EDIT: oh, and to answer the question of stealthing, sometimes they are, sometimes they aren't. Some like to do exact 1:1 copies, whilst others apply the latest stealths. It's best just to get a program to verify that a) it's the right game, with the right CRC, and b) that it has the latest stealths on it. If either are wrong, then I wouldn't dare put it in my Xbox [​IMG]
     
  14. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Abgx said the disk was good, is there still a possibility of the disk being bad?

    Should I try different burning software?
     
  15. Dermy

    Member Dermy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Did you check the layerbreak like DjoeN said?
    Did you set a layerbreak?
     
  16. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I used the .dvd file, I even made a new one with ABGX. With that could there still be something wrong? I don't know how to set the layer break myself...
     
  17. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Umm 360 games all have the same layerbreak. The .dvd file is just there for an easier job. You can just click the .dvd file and it will open IMGBurn with the correct layerbreak set up. (assuming you have associated the .dvd extension with imgburn of course)
     
  18. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    So could someone use the same .DVD file if they either:

    1. Renamed the ISO to the one in the file
    2. Edited the file for the name of the ISO
     
  19. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, the info of the .dvd file must match the .iso file. You can check the .dvd file by opening it with notepad.
     
  20. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    You said the games have the same layerbreak, so wouldn't that mean you can use the same .DVD file?

    Anyways, trying burning with Clone CD...
     

Share This Page