Review cover Resident Evil 3: Raccoon City Demo (Xbox One)
User Review

Product Information:

  • Release Date (NA): April 3, 2020
  • Release Date (EU): April 3, 2020
  • Release Date (JP): April 3, 2020
  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Developer: Capcom
  • Genres: Survival Horror
  • Also For: PlayStation 4

Game Features:

Single player
Local Multiplayer
Online Multiplayer
Co-operative
It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of the Resident Evil franchise. I’ve been playing since Resident Evil 4 on the GameCube, and very quickly developed a love for the entire series. So naturally, I’m stoked for the Resident Evil 3 remake to come out, especially with how good the RE2 remake turned out. How does this demo do as a gateway into the full game? Let’s dive in!
CLASSIC HORROR REIMAGINED: STORY AND ENVIRONMENT

The story of Resident Evil 3, or RE3, is very much the same as the original Resident Evil 3: Nemesis, which I’ll be referring to simply as Nemesis, with one small but important change; based on the plot synopsis, this game will be taking place concurrently with the Resident Evil 2 remake, as opposed to 24 hours prior to that games events like Nemesis was. While this change likely won’t make too much of a difference, it is an important change to note. Regardless, it appears that the story will still follow Jill Valentine as she tries to escape Racoon City, and help S.T.A.R.S. uncover the truth of the outbreak along the way.

3-19-2020_9-08-01_PM-mvebafyk.png
3-19-2020_9-08-02_PM-jlbzeuz5.png 3-19-2020_9-08-03_PM-ooqnsjia.png

Something that’s immediately noticeable in this game is just how good the characters and environment look. Much like the Resident Evil 2 remake, RE3 looks stunning. The characters all have good looking, well polished designs that show the trauma of the events they’ve experienced physically. The environment, meanwhile, is perfectly apocalyptic. There’s literal chaos in the streets, adding a sense of anxiety and urgency to everything you do. While you explore the city, you’re surrounded by fire, destruction, and obviously, zombies.

3-19-2020_9-07-58_PM-ui43ot05.png
3-19-2020_9-07-57_PM-df2vrbvz.png 3-19-2020_9-07-58_PM-ripl5512.png

For horror, this is perfect for setting the scene. It’s not the isolated mansion in the mountains, a la the original Resident Evil, but being alone in this environment keeps that feeling of isolation, even in the big city. From a technical standpoint, the game does a great job using dynamic lighting to keep the environments ever changing, mysterious, and at times terrifying.

3-19-2020_9-07-57_PM-2wlhm1hv.png
3-19-2020_9-07-56_PM-qgoucdga.png

Some things may look familiar, and that’s because this game is built off of the same engine as Resident Evil 7 and the Resident Evil 2 remake. The similarities are especially apparent between RE3 and RE2, as the two games share a location and timeline. Assets are reused, of course, but they never feel distracting or out of place. Especially when compared to RE7, it appears that Capcom has taken the engine and refined wonderfully.

3-19-2020_9-07-57_PM-1kadjgk3.png

ESCAPING RACCOON CITY: GAMEPLAY

Speaking of things being familiar, let’s talk about combat. Given that it shares an engine with RE2, there’s not a lot that’s different here. The game follows the “new normal” for Resident Evil; a third person view, over the shoulder of your character. Combat still transitions naturally while going from free movement to aiming your weapon, and as has been the case since Resident Evil 6, you can now move slowly while aiming. It’s an addition I’m glad has been added since RE4 and RE5, but the movement is still so slow that it’s almost just better to stand still and quickly take aim. It’s not much different from RE2, but it’s still a vast improvement over the tank controls of the original Resident Evil trilogy.

3-19-2020_9-07-56_PM-swp14fvx.png
3-19-2020_9-07-58_PM-1fqocx30.png 3-19-2020_9-07-59_PM-qfmywz4z.png

Now, onto the star of the show; Nemesis himself. Much like the original game, Nemesis is here to make things much more difficult for Jill. The first, and only, time we run into him in this demo is at the end, during the final stretch to the finish. Much like the original Nemesis, the titular character shows up to add an unexpected, anxiety filled encounter just when you think things are going too well. In the original, half of the horror of Nemesis comes from how freely he moves while you’re limited to the tank controls. In this demo, he moves much quicker than any zombie you see in the field, making you have to change strategy entirely to fight him. He hits harder, moves faster, and completely dominates the battlefield if you aren’t careful.

3-19-2020_9-07-53_PM-wxmvi3ri.png

3-19-2020_9-07-56_PM-xmdi02ki.png

The biggest complaint I have about the demo is that it’s very short. I know it’s meant to be a taste of the full game. But it took me only 25 minutes to complete the whole thing, and that was with exploration, looking for secrets, and taking screenshots. On top of this, the demo ends very abruptly right in the middle of the only Nemesis encounter, cutting it short right when I was really getting excited. For a demo, this is fine, but I still was left wanting more.

3-19-2020_9-08-00_PM-13doyzbw.png

Verdict

What I Liked ...
  • Excellent apocalyptic horror aesthetic
  • Gives a fresh take on a classic game
What I Didn't Like ...
  • Very short
8
Gameplay
Resident Evil has come a long way since the days of Nemesis, and I couldn't be happier. Everything moves fluidly, combat is fun and intense, and frankly it's a breath of fresh air to experience RE3 without tank controls.
9
Presentation
The demo looked great. From the dynamic lighting to the chaotic city, everything just looks good. Familiar, but good.
-
Lasting Appeal
This 0 is essentially an N/A. As this is a demo, it's not meant for lasting appeal. It's meant to give you a taste of what the full game will have to offer, and get you excited/make you want to buy the full game. In that, this demo succeeds tremendously.
9
out of 10

Overall

As a demo, Resident Evil 3: Raccoon City does exactly what it's meant to; drive excitement for the full game. From the small taste we got, it looks promising that this remake will take the great foundation from Nemesis, and update it for the modern gaming age. Resident Evil 3 releases on April 3rd, 2020, and I for one cannot wait!
Thank you for your Review.:)

I have played it through a Moment ago and was very impressed.
They really managed the "transistion" from Part 2 to 3.

Some things may look familiar..

In the Context form Part 2 and 3 - yes of course.Resident Evil 3 plays also in the Police Station.So yes,it looks very familiar.:)
And for me personal,thank God no 3rd Person.

Nemesis - very hard to tell after the "short" Appearance....he is impressive (I am actual not sure of his "blowing or casting" Thing but it seems ok).It is a little like with Mister X in Resident Evil 2.Hate him or like him.

Because I have not played the Resident Evil Games in a long Time but the Zombies are really hard and persistent....

So I would now like to say that I am looking forward to April 3rd.

Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: RyRyIV
Thank you for your Review.:)

I have played it through a Moment ago and was very impressed.
They really managed the "transistion" from Part 2 to 3.



In the Context form Part 2 and 3 - yes of course.Resident Evil 3 plays also in the Police Station.So yes,it looks very familiar.:)
And for me personal,thank God no 3rd Person.

Nemesis - very hard to tell after the "short" Appearance....he is impressive (I am actual not sure of his "blowing or casting" Thing but it seems ok).It is a little like with Mister X in Resident Evil 2.Hate him or like him.

Because I have not played the Resident Evil Games in a long Time but the Zombies are really hard and persistent....

So I would now like to say that I am looking forward to April 3rd.

Thank you.:)
I'm glad you like it! Looking familiar wasn't a surprise, even the original RE3 reused those assets from RE2, given that they cover the same time and place in the story. Definitely not a complaint, but felt it worth noting because I'm sure some players will complain that "It's just a reskinned RE2."

Nemesis, personally, I loved. I may change my tune after playing the full game, but to me they perfectly captured the same experience of his appearance in the original games, while updating it for the new gameplay.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Review cover
Product Information:
  • Release Date (NA): April 3, 2020
  • Release Date (EU): April 3, 2020
  • Release Date (JP): April 3, 2020
  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Developer: Capcom
  • Genres: Survival Horror
  • Also For: PlayStation 4
Game Features:
Single player
Local Multiplayer
Online Multiplayer
Co-operative

Reviews

  1. Hardware

    Soundpeats AirPro 3 wireless earbuds

    Up for review today, we’ve got the Soundpeats Air3 Pro wireless earbuds! Sporting a 12mm driver and a wide range of listening modes, how do these low latency wireless earbuds stack up?
  2. Hardware

    PowerA MOGA XP7-X Plus Bluetooth Controller

    Going back to mobile gaming, we check out PowerA's latest Android-focused MOGA gamepad!
  3. Hardware

    Analogue Pocket – GB, GBC and GBA handheld FPGA based player.

    FPGAs are the king of devices to replicate/simulate other devices, here we have one made portable and with a very nice screen aiming at playing GB, GBC, and GBA games among others.
  4. Xbox Series X|S

    South of the Circle

    Narrative driven title South of the Circle from indie devs State of Play will have you traverse Antarctica while looking back at past events that brought you to this frozen landscape, while stuck...
  5. Hardware

    Donner Dobuds ONE ANC Earbuds

    ANC earbuds are all the rage, but how do Donner's $36 Dobuds ONE earbuds stack up?
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    My life isn't proper
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    first of all, there should be exactly zero reasons to place your sweaty balls on any of the equipment - generally you are supposed to wear clothing at the gym
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    You aren't going to the right gym if you need to wear clothes
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Ball sweat drops down like normal sweat if your balls are always dry I'd recommend a doctor
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    We're talking about exercise balls of course
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    what to do if I am a doctor
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Re-read WebMD articles
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I got myself a cheapo steering wheel cover here's to hoping the sun doesn't burn my finger tips over hot steering wheels
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    I have never experienced that
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    just where do you live mate
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Midwest weathers been like 90 all week
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    We don't have garage parking areas at the apartment either so my car bakes in the sun
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Midwest weather is so bipolar in the summer
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    also in midwest, and today at least was really nice - in the 70s with light drizzle and good cloud cover
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    have been quite a few scorchers this year tho
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Depends on the area I'm more up north
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Supposed to be in the 80s all next week
    Gift
  • Mariposa @ Mariposa:
    hiii! how's everyone doingg
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Hi, I'm fine, how are you?
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Good morning folk
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Everyone is sleeping, I wonder if it's a holiday in the other countries as well
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    no, it's just the universal internet dead zone
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and a monday
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    It's a holiday in a lot of countries, I checked in the meantime. This is usually one of the most moved periods of the day
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    It marks the death of Shmi, Anakin's mother
    Gift
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: It marks the death of Shmi, Anakin's mother