OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
I'm trying to figure out how to find the text in this game:
Hayate no Gotoku! Boku ga Romeo de Romeo ga Boku de
(Hayate the Combat Butler! I am Romeo and Romeo is I)

1366.jpg

Basically, I didn't want to just request a game translation and hope that someone would pick it up.. Instead, I wanted to try and actively pursue a translation of the game. Any help with the following would be appreciated since I'm a noob when it comes to rom hacking.. I realise the game might not be everyone's cup of tea but I'm asking for help regardless.

I unpacked the rom using dsbuff, and got a variety of NFP files.. which I have no idea what to do with. I've tried googling the filetype a LOT.. after doing some research I figured out it's usually used to pack ps1/2 games :wtf: I think hardly any ds games use it. I've read that it's possible to change the text wholely using a hex editor (i know what hex is but it wouldn't be the most efficient method..)

i24nd3.png

EV.NFP
SPC.NFP
Anyway, if ANYONE could try and help me extract the text from the game.. or something to that effect, it would be much appreciated.
The game seems to be a linear text-based game, and I have a couple friends who would be willing to do the translation (one of them is a fan of the manga), so that aspect isn't a problem. I would just love if someone could crack this filetype for me :/

Reactions: hayate891

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Wow, an early game that did not use the SDAT format straight up..... this is rare.

Anyhow as you suspect it is a large custom file format on top of the nitro rom file system, not unheard of but notable none the less.

Jumping right in, fairly tough one although a quick search says this is not the first time it has been used on the DS:
http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=119880