wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
Country
Colombia
homebrew.gif
G.O.R.F. v5 BETA
Update
gorfcap.png

This is a GBA homebrew port of G.O.R.F., a 1981 arcade game released by Midway. Please see the included readme file for more information.

download.gif
Download
icon11.gif
Source
icon11.gif
Project Post
icon11.gif
G.O.R.F. WIKI
discuss.png
Discuss

ArugulaZ

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi! This is Jess Ragan, lead developer of GORF for the GameBoy Advance. I've heard both glowing reviews and distressing reports about my software, and I'd like to resolve the latter as quickly as possible. Word on the street is that the game doesn't work with 3-in-1 cartridges due to a faulty header. I'd like to know more about this... I wrote the game in a high-level programming language (Jeff Massung's Dragon BASIC) and never thought to examine the binary in a hex editor. Could you explain to me what's wrong and what you did to fix it?

Since I have no experience with ASM and very little with C++, I can't resolve the problem on my own, but I can talk to members of the GBAdev.org community, who can rewrite portions of the Dragon BASIC compiler and prevent problems like this from occurring in the future. One member, DWedit, was kind enough to dig deep into the compiler and rewrite its vertical blank commands to make them more energy efficient. After I compiled the program again with the new build of Dragon BASIC, I noticed HUGE improvements in battery life on the actual hardware. I'm sure that he can address the header issue as well, but I need more information about it first.

Thank you for your time!

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
If it's a header issue, then it might be just a simple matter of running it through an auto-fixer program. The "GBAfix.exe" program that comes with DevKitARM can do this (type "gbafix game_name.gba" into a command prompt), or you can use GBATA for a graphical client with header-fixing capabilities.