Hacking YSMENU R4 DLDI released!

Maikel Steneker

M3 Fanboy
Member
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
3,394
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
ndss.nl
XP
383
Country
Netherlands
revnull said:
Automate the process in 5 (4 really) steps.

1. Create this folder/file structure: (you should be able to find all the files needed in links from the original thread... don't ask)
Code:
ROOT_FOLDER
|ÂÂ ysmenu2r4ds.cmd
|
+---bin
|ÂÂÂÂÂÂ 7za.exe
|ÂÂÂÂÂÂ dlditool.exe
|ÂÂÂÂÂÂ r4crypt.exe
|ÂÂÂÂÂÂ r4tf.dldi
|
\---source
ÂÂÂÂ|ÂÂ DSTT_v1.15_English.zip
ÂÂÂÂ|ÂÂ YSMenu0805222222.zip
ÂÂÂÂ|ÂÂ YSMenu_ttextract080903.zip
ÂÂÂÂ|
ÂÂÂÂ+---cheat
ÂÂÂÂ|ÂÂÂÂÂÂ 09_02_08_USRCHEAT.DAT.zip
ÂÂÂÂ|
ÂÂÂÂ\---skin
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂgbaframe.bmp
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂYSMenu1.bmp
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂYSMenu2.bmp

2. Create ysmenu2r4ds.cmd using this code
Code:
@ECHO OFF

REM Set the name of the destination directory.
SET distro=r4ds_dir

REM Clean up
ECHO Cleaning Old YSMenu
IF EXIST %distro% RMDIR /S /Q %distro%
MKDIR %distro%

REM Extract the Source to be updated.
ECHO.
ECHO Extracting Source Files
bin\7za.exe x -o"%distro%" -y source\*.zip
REM Clean up the TTMenu archive
IF EXIST %distro%\eng\TTMenu MOVE /Y %distro%\eng\TTMenu %distro%
IF EXIST %distro%\eng\TTMENU.DAT MOVE /Y %distro%\eng\TTMENU.DAT %distro%
IF EXIST %distro%\eng RMDIR /S /Q %distro%\eng

REM DLDI Patch YSMenu.nds
ECHO.
ECHO DLDI Patching YSMenu.nds for R4DS
COPY /Y bin\r4tf.dldi %distro%
IF EXIST %distro%\YSMenu.nds bin\dlditool.exe %distro%\r4tf.dldi %distro%\YSMenu.nds

REM Run ttextract to create patch files for R4DS
ECHO.
ECHO Running ttextract (If it takes longer than 5sec. press enter to continue)
ECHO.
CD %distro%
ttextract.exe
CD ..

REM Encrypt YSMenu.nds for use with the R4DS
ECHO.
ECHO Encrypting YSMenu for R4DS
bin\r4crypt.exe -e %distro%\YSMenu.nds %distro%\_DS_MENU.DAT

REM Copy over skin files
ECHO.
ECHO Copying Skin Files
IF EXIST source\skin\gbaframe.bmp COPY /Y source\skin\gbaframe.bmp %distro%\TTMenu\
IF EXIST source\skin\YSMenu1.bmp COPY /Y source\skin\YSMenu1.bmp %distro%\TTMenu\
IF EXIST source\skin\YSMenu2.bmp COPY /Y source\skin\YSMenu2.bmp %distro%\TTMenu\

REM Extract English Cheat file
ECHO.
ECHO Copying Cheat File
IF EXIST %distro%\TTMenu\USRCHEAT.DAT DEL /F %distro%\TTMenu\USRCHEAT.DAT
bin\7za.exe x -o"%distro%\TTMenu" -y source\cheat\*.zip

REM Make the proper changes to the YSMenu.ini
ECHO.
ECHO Changing YSMenu.ini from JNP to ENG
FOR /F "tokens=*" %%I IN (%distro%\YSMenu.ini) DO (
IF "%%I"=="LITERALS=LITERALS_JPN" (
ECHO LITERALS=LITERALS_ENG >> %distro%\temp.ini
) ELSE (
ECHO %%I >> %distro%\temp.ini)
)

REM Shifting Stuff Around
ECHO.
ECHO Shifting Stuff Around
IF EXIST %distro%\temp.ini MOVE /Y %distro%\temp.ini %distro%\TTMenu\YSMenu.ini
IF EXIST %distro%\r4dldi.dat MOVE /Y %distro%\r4dldi.dat %distro%\TTMenu\
IF EXIST %distro%\r4patch.dat MOVE /Y %distro%\r4patch.dat %distro%\TTMenu\
IF EXIST %distro%\ttdldi.dat MOVE /Y %distro%\ttdldi.dat %distro%\TTMenu\
IF EXIST %distro%\ttpatch.dat MOVE /Y %distro%\ttpatch.dat %distro%\TTMenu\

REM Remove unneeded files
ECHO.
ECHO Removing unneeded files
IF EXIST %distro%\akextract.exe DEL /F %distro%\akextract.exe
IF EXIST %distro%\ttextract.exe DEL /F %distro%\ttextract.exe
IF EXIST %distro%\r4tf.dldi DEL /F %distro%\r4tf.dldi
IF EXIST %distro%\TTMENU.DAT DEL /F %distro%\TTMENU.DAT
IF EXIST %distro%\YSMenu.nds DEL /F %distro%\YSMenu.nds
IF EXIST %distro%\YSMenu.txt DEL /F %distro%\YSMenu.txt
IF EXIST %distro%\YSMenu.ini DEL /F %distro%\YSMenu.ini
IF EXIST %distro%\YSMenu_eng.txt DEL /F %distro%\YSMenu_eng.txt
IF EXIST %distro%\TTMenu\skin RMDIR /S /Q %distro%\TTMenu\skin
DEL /F %distro%\TTMenu\*.txt
DEL /F %distro%\TTMenu\*.url

ECHO.
ECHO Done.
ECHO.
PAUSE

3. Double click on the ysmenu2r4ds.cmd and watch the magic.

4. Copy the contents of new r4ds_dir to your MicroSD card.

5. Play
Funny, I've been working on the exact same thing! Currently, it's Dutch only:
http://ndss.nl/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5990
 

revnull

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
United States
Ok, maybe some location clarification is needed after all.

root dir
ysmenu2r4ds.cmd: This thread

bin dir (in the root dir)
7za.exe: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/sevenzip/7za457.zip (you only need the 7za.exe)
dlditool.exe: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downl...itool-win32.zip (CMD Line version, not GUI)
r4crypt.exe: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/NDS_Projects/r4crypt.zip
r4tf.dldi: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downloads/r4tf.dldi

source dir (in the root dir)
DSTT_v1.15_English.zip: http://download.ndstt.com/download/os/v1.15/eng.zip (rename if you like, but not needed)
YSMenu0805222222.zip: http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/ (dig a little, you'll find it)
YSMenu_ttextract080903.zip: http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/ (dig a little, you'll find it)

cheat dir (in the source dir) [needed for English cheats]
09_02_08_USRCHEAT.DAT.zip: http://cheats.gbatemp.net (grab the [whatever]_USRCHEAT.DAT.zip)

skin dir (in the source dir) [optional]
gbaframe.bmp: get these wherever you can find them
YSMenu1.bmp: get these wherever you can find them
YSMenu2.bmp: get these wherever you can find them
 

SkH

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
1,111
Trophies
0
XP
412
Country
Algeria
revnull, Yasu don't like direct linking to his apps, so please edit your post.
 

revnull

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
United States
SkH said:
revnull, Yasu don't like direct linking to his apps, so please edit your post.

Done. No disrespect to the author or this site, just trying to help the helpless
blush.gif
 
D

Deleted-119707

Guest
can you launch .gba straight from the menu?

and is it PERFECT? does it have any bugs/problems?
 

Predator04

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
184
Country
United States
revnull said:
SkH said:
revnull, Yasu don't like direct linking to his apps, so please edit your post.

Done. No disrespect to the author or this site, just trying to help the helpless
blush.gif
I needed it cuz i couldnt get it to work. turns out the guy has his site all messed up and put a older version of ysmenu on the top of downloads. so u had to search for it. other then that i did everything right
 

cereal_killerxx

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
80
Country
United States
I'm kind of interested in checking this out. Is there a page that shows the rom compatibility (I'm curious how much more compatible the games are than the current r4 firmware 1.18)? Does it fix any of the ds to wii problems? Castlevania Potrait? Or is this strictly for homebrew?
 

Maikel Steneker

M3 Fanboy
Member
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
3,394
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
ndss.nl
XP
383
Country
Netherlands
cereal_killerxx said:
I'm kind of interested in checking this out. Is there a page that shows the rom compatibility (I'm curious how much more compatible the games are than the current r4 firmware 1.18)? Does it fix any of the ds to wii problems? Castlevania Potrait?
It should have about the same compatibility as the DSTT firmware you use.
 

Pendor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
567
Trophies
1
Age
36
Website
Visit site
XP
287
Country
United States
cereal_killerxx said:
I'm kind of interested in checking this out. Is there a page that shows the rom compatibility (I'm curious how much more compatible the games are than the current r4 firmware 1.18)? Does it fix any of the ds to wii problems? Castlevania Potrait?

The compatibility is the same as the original DSTT firwmare.

About Wii connectivity, I don't know. If DSTT has Wii connectivity, then it should work.

Castlevania PoR runs perfect using my R4 1.18 firmware. I'm not sure but I think the problem (in most cases) is the microSD.
 

cereal_killerxx

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
80
Country
United States
Maikel Steneker said:
cereal_killerxx said:
I'm kind of interested in checking this out. Is there a page that shows the rom compatibility (I'm curious how much more compatible the games are than the current r4 firmware 1.18)? Does it fix any of the ds to wii problems? Castlevania Potrait?
It should have about the same compatibility as the DSTT firmware you use.
Well, then I guess there's no point for me to upgrade seeing as I don't care about homebrew
frown.gif
 

rhyguy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
1,375
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Melbourne
Website
Visit site
XP
276
Country
When i run backups using this i get this error message

make indextab...diskerrcode=-2147483632
system halt!

nevermind, i just formatted it, and it works fine now
 

Predator04

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
184
Country
United States
skyman747 said:
Wow, with this advancement, I think that the R4 will be able to hold out a little longer. I do like the R4's Start Screen better, but when games I want to play stop working, I will then start using this.
i did to and then thought about it... i usally go to my games folder or hombrew. so hitting the button to go to that seems stupid. also it doesnt lagg when scrolling thro the list. and rumble or gba i dont have to load some loader...
 

Maikel Steneker

M3 Fanboy
Member
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
3,394
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
ndss.nl
XP
383
Country
Netherlands
skyman747 said:
Yeah, I can see how if you have a Slot-2 this would be very useful. It also seems to me like you can just use the 2 images for file browsing from an R4 theme on this. Anyone wanna test this?
I have tested it, and it works. I've been working on a batchfile in the past month, and it automatically detects valid R4 skins and uses them. I'm going to release it on GBAtemp today. It's called R4YSauto for the R4 and clones and AK2YSauto for the AceKard 2 (not too original, but whatever
tongue.gif
).
 

Predator04

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
184
Country
United States
Maikel Steneker said:
skyman747 said:
Yeah, I can see how if you have a Slot-2 this would be very useful. It also seems to me like you can just use the 2 images for file browsing from an R4 theme on this. Anyone wanna test this?
I have tested it, and it works. I've been working on a batchfile in the past month, and it automatically detects valid R4 skins and uses them. I'm going to release it on GBAtemp today. It's called R4YSauto for the R4 and clones and AK2YSauto for the AceKard 2 (not too original, but whatever
tongue.gif
).
sweet. did you ever release it? i havent seen it. but maybe i missed it
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FzVN9kIUNxw +1