Xbox 360 not powering on?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by alienfromouterspace, Dec 24, 2016.

Dec 24, 2016
  1. alienfromouterspace
    OP

    Member alienfromouterspace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Philippines
    My Xbox won't open at all. No lights, nothing. What can I try? This was fixed before with the same issue, cost me $20.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    22,739
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Slim or original 360? Do you have any hardmods installed?
    Slims have a nice ribbon which can get damaged and is the usual cause of such thing.
    Originals I am not sure as it is only dead power supplies that I have ever seen prevent them from turning on. I am sure it could be something like a switch on the little front board or something actually wrong with the electrics but it would be a first for me and anything I have seen online as well.
     
  3. alienfromouterspace
    OP

    Member alienfromouterspace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Philippines
    It's a slim, and I'm not sure if it has a hardmod. The thing is it was alright yesterday but today when I turned it on it lit green once then nothing. No lights on the console, no light on the power supply, and no beeps. It had this issue before, I had someone take it to a shop and it was working when it came back. That was back in July.

    PS: according to said person the fix done was just a cleanup of the console
     
    Last edited by alienfromouterspace, Dec 24, 2016
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,542
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No light on the PSU indicates the PSU isn't powered.
    Try a different socket and if that does't help, try a different PSU.
     
  5. DarkGabbz

    Member DarkGabbz Resident XBOX Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Modding Xbox'es
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    If a modchip is installed look if all the cables have good connections to the chip.
     
  6. alienfromouterspace
    OP

    Member alienfromouterspace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Philippines
    Someone told me that if I connect the PSU only on the socket it should light up. Can anyone confirm this?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Don't have the appropriate T8 screw unfortunately.
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,542
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yep.
    PSU lights up.
     
    alienfromouterspace likes this.
  8. alienfromouterspace
    OP

    Member alienfromouterspace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Philippines
    Ooh, so a PSU issue then?
     
  9. alienfromouterspace
    OP

    Member alienfromouterspace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Philippines
    Turns out I've got a faulty power cord, got a new one for $1.50. So basically last time I got ripped off.
     
  10. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,542
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Bummer.
    Well, shit like that happens to everyone.
    Glad it's resolved tho.
     
    alienfromouterspace likes this.

Share This Page