Working 3DS CFW suddenly black screen from sleep

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Joyer7319, Dec 4, 2017.

  1. Joyer7319
    OP

    Joyer7319 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 16, 2017
    United States
    Hi!
    Loooooong time lurker. Learned so much! Now, I've got a weird issue.
    Old 3DSXL. NTRboothax from flashcard. Luma 8.1, GM9. 200 titles installed from NUS or my GM9 cart dumps to CIA and installed with FBI. CFW installed about 1 month ago. Everything was perfect. Played a game this morning. Closed the lid (not off, just sleep mode) and went to work to show a co worker/co computer nerd how cool a hacked 3DS is. I told him "Open the lid"...He said "um...its not working"
    Black screen.
    Hold power 15 sceonds. Turns off.
    Turn on.
    Custom splash, fine.
    Black screen.
    Can boot to GM9.
    Can boot to Luma.
    Removed Flash Cart. No Help. Removed SD, no help.
    Did the L+R+A+D and power.
    Nothing. Dit it again, and some red and white text flashed too quickly to read. Brief flash of home menu.
    Black screen.
    L+R+A+D and power and it's fine. Working perfect.
    Just looking for a reason why??? Last thing I did (yesterday) was boot GM9 to see what version i had. Told me RTC time was wrong. Fixed it. Installed 5 CIA titles from Villian or Wii U USB Helper, don't recall. All worked fine. I do have Anemone installed to randomize themes, but this has been since day one without issue.
    Any ideas?
    And thanks!
     
  2. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller

    Member
    450
    53
    Mar 7, 2017
    United States
    Somewhere in the Depths of Space
    I think you are bricked. If you have a NANS backup, use GM9 to restore it. OR if you don't have one, you might want to do a CTRTransfer.
     
    Joyer7319 likes this.
  3. Classicgamer

    Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    517
    138
    Aug 20, 2012
    United States
    Try downloading a fresh copy of the latest luma. I had a similar issue that this would fix.
     
    Joyer7319 likes this.
  4. Joyer7319
    OP

    Joyer7319 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 16, 2017
    United States
    It didnt stay bricked. The restore keys finally botted it. Im just curious why to prevent it in the future.
     
  5. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller

    Member
    450
    53
    Mar 7, 2017
    United States
    Somewhere in the Depths of Space
    I guess sometimes that happens. Make sure you are on the latest build of Luma and B9S.
     
  6. DeoNaught

    DeoNaught ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Member
    1,588
    1,706
    Aug 22, 2016
    United States
    Constant Fear
    Yeah, It just happens sometimes.
    I went through the same thing on my O3dsxl
    all I needed was a Nand restore.

    It's always good to make frequent backups
     
  7. Joyer7319
    OP

    Joyer7319 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 16, 2017
    United States
    If i restore the original nand from when i first installed cfw will i lose anything?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Luma is 8.1. How do i check b9s?
     
  8. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,509
    5,471
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    You'll lose anything that wasn't installed at that point.
    Games and their saves can be gotten back by reinstaling their tickets assuming you haven't formatted the console since you made that backup. If they were from FreeShop or similar then tikShop can reinstall them for you. If they were from CIAs you'll need to somehow dump the tickets from the CIAs and install only those as reinstalling the CIAs will wipe the saves.
    You should be on B9S 1.2 or 1.3 for Luma 8.1. There isn't really an easy way to check I think. Latest Luma is 8.1.1. Might be worth going through https://3ds.guide/updating-b9s to make sure you're on the latest B9S. Though I don't think that's the problem.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Dec 5, 2017
  9. DeoNaught

    DeoNaught ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Member
    1,588
    1,706
    Aug 22, 2016
    United States
    Constant Fear
    If it's before you put on your Cfw it will.
    You have one after right you installed it right?
     
  10. Joyer7319
    OP

    Joyer7319 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 16, 2017
    United States
    Yes. As soon as gm9 was installed i backed up the nand. Id honestly rather not restore anything as ot was working perfectly. Perhaps the latest games or themes or software ive installed could be the culprit?
     
  11. DeoNaught

    DeoNaught ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Member
    1,588
    1,706
    Aug 22, 2016
    United States
    Constant Fear
    Your best bet is to Restore your backup.
    and then get everything back
    and then, make another Backup
     
  12. Joyer7319
    OP

    Joyer7319 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 16, 2017
    United States
    I guess its pointless to backup now, because any problems would backup too, yes?
     
  13. DeoNaught

    DeoNaught ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Member
    1,588
    1,706
    Aug 22, 2016
    United States
    Constant Fear
    :|
    do it like this
    Restore Og Backup>Get your games and stuff back>Make a NEW backup now, after you restored the og one, in step one

    Make sense?
     
  14. Joyer7319
    OP

    Joyer7319 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 16, 2017
    United States
    Yes. Ugh. Installing all that crap again sucks! Lol!!
    Thanks to all who helped.