Wood for R4 Cheats

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by I am r4ymond, Apr 10, 2010.

Apr 10, 2010

Wood for R4 Cheats by I am r4ymond at 9:40 PM (98,474 Views / 0 Likes) 39 replies

  1. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    ~UPDATED~

    What you should use for Cheats:

    -USRCHEAT.DAT

    Instructions on Getting and Moving the Cheats

    0) Get Wood for R4 Firmware and replace your old R4 Firmware.

    1) Download the latest USRCHEAT.DAT here: http://cheats.gbatemp.net/Temp/.

    2) Move the USRCHEAT.DAT to the "cheats" folder of the _rpg folder.

    Getting the Cheats to Work

    0) After moving USRCHEAT.DAT to the "cheats" folder of the _rpg folder, open up your DS with the R4.

    1) You should be in the Wood R4 Menu. Press the "START" button.

    2) Go to "SETTINGS." You should see "System Settings" on top of the pop-up. Just set any random Settings and then press "OK." Press "OK" again to ensure that you saved the settings.

    3) Now restart your DS (don't use soft reset ---> turn off your DS then turn on your DS).

    4) Go to "Settings" then press "R" until you see "Cheat In Game (AR)".

    5) Turn "Cheat In Game (AR) ON" or else it will not work. Press "A" to confirm the Settings.

    6) Go to any game and press "Y" to bring up the information about that highlighted game.

    7) Press "X" to bring up the Cheats List.

    8) Tick/Untick the Cheats that you want and don't want.

    9) Then press "X" to Generate the .CC file (file for Cheats).

    10) Press "A" and you're all set to go.


    This is what I did to make the cheats work, for the final time. I'm sure that this method will work now, as I've upgraded Wood Firmware each time.

    (LITTLE NOTE: If you cannot bring up the Cheats List after all these steps, then it's possible that the Game ID for a game does not match up. Please make changes with R4CCE. Also...if the Cheats List do not show up, then the little Micro SD card icon on the top right of the Touch Screen will flash. This may be useless information, but it's just to let you know.)

    Have Fun!
     


  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    that's what your suppose to do.....

    that's an obvious tutorial.
     
  3. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Did you not see the "Overwrite" part? Some people just move the USRCHEAT.DAT to the "cheats" folder only without Overwriting and does not work for some reason.
     
  4. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    the Wood R4 came with a folder called cheats.
    its obvious you add the cheat DB in there.

    also, it's empty. so there's no overwrite.
     
  5. Xale

    Member Xale GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    ct
    Country:
    United States
    yea this tutorial would be no help, because people would do it and it might still not work and people wouldnt know what to do, you didnt say that they should go to settings, then patches and make sure that the cheat in game patch is on, because its off by default
     
  6. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, get this straight:

    1) I KNOW that the "cheats" folder is empty. That's why I said you should move the USRCHEAT.DAT to it first and then get the same copy of the USRCHEAT.DAT and overwrite the one in the "cheats" folder.

    2) The Second Method is a just-in-case-the-first-method-doesn't-work option because I put both the USRCHEAT.DAT in the _rpg folder and the "cheats" folder.

    Easy to read now? If you think this is stupid then don't post. Simple.

    EDIT: Oh yeah...forgot the Settings. I had set the Settings...so that's another possibility for the Cheats working.
     
  7. davidsl_128

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    Ok I'll do that... but why is it necessary? Doesn't copying the thing once work?
     
  8. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    No, I don't think so, because when I first copied the USRCHEAT.DAT and plugged it into my DS, there were no cheats to display for any game at all. And then when I updated my USRCHEAT.DAT and overwrited the one in the "cheats" folder, it worked...for some reason.
     
  9. Xale

    Member Xale GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    ct
    Country:
    United States
    just placing the USERCHEAT.DAT in the folder works fine, no need to overwrite or anything, at least no need for me, the only problem i had was with the cheats not working, which i fixed by going into the settings
     
  10. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,039
    Location:
    My GPS Battery has exploded...
    Country:
    Spain
    Yours could be a bad copy the first time, nothing is perfect [​IMG]
     
  11. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    same here, just drag and drop the usrcheat.dat into the cheat folder helps [​IMG]
     
  12. andychs

    Newcomer andychs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Singapore
    I still can't get it to work...

    got 1 copy in the _rpg cheats folder, 1 copy in the _system_ folder

    The cheats appear in the menu, selected them, created a *.cc file, but yet the cheat doesn't work.

    i tried using the same cheat file with r4i(on another cart) with the same game and the cheats work...

    STRANGE!

    am i doing something wrong? is there a way to enable the .cc file?
     
  13. nemrac

    Newcomer nemrac Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    I've copied several different cheat files to the cheat folder as USRCHEAT.DAt, but i still can not see it or access it while in the DS.

    I've got the show hidden files on. i've got the cheats in games on.

    any ides?
     
  14. talesmeister

    Newcomer talesmeister Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Indonesia
    @andychs
    have you set the cheat to on at patches setting? press start at rom list and go to settign and toggle R 'till you find it )

    then try to generate the .cc file again, if it's still doesnt work i suggest you re-install your wood
     
  15. nemrac

    Newcomer nemrac Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    i tried that..still nothing.

    I'm going to try and reload wood.

    can some one give me the steps to follow in order to reload wood. I'm going to start from a formated memory card.

    thanks
     
  16. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,907
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    People need to stop flaming. I used this guide and it worked for me.
     
  17. nemrac

    Newcomer nemrac Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada

    Who's flaming? i just asked a question.
     
  18. PandaPinoy

    Newcomer PandaPinoy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    my prob is that when i load up the game the cheats wont work, all the cheats worked on the regular menu but on wood no, also when theres a dot next to the cheat name does that mean its on or off?
     
  19. talesmeister

    Newcomer talesmeister Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Indonesia
    @nemrac
    have you try to redownload the cheat? this time make sure the one that you download is USRcheat.dat

    maybe the reason it didn't work because you just rename other cheat file to usrcheat.dat

    you said: "I've copied several different cheat files to the cheat folder as USRCHEAT.DAt"

    @pandapinoy
    beside you generate the .cc file you also need to turn on the cheat in game ( AR ) mode


    How to use cheat
    1. download the latest USRcheat at http://cheats.gbatemp.net/Temp/files/TEMP
    2. extract it and place it in the cheat folder
    3. start the NDS
    4. press start at rom list menu ---> setting
    5. toggle R button until you see patches menu
    6. turn on cheat in game ( AR ), press A to save the setting
    7. Highlite the game you want to cheat, press Y then X to go to cheat list
    8. mark the cheat you want to use then generate the .cc file
    9. start playing

    if that still doesn't work.....then I don't know what is wrong
     
  20. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    My first post has been updated...Now it's more thorough.

    If you think my instructions are wrong, please do post the correct instructions.
     

Share This Page