[WIP] Fire Emblem Fates Randomizer

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by thane98, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    Romfs builder isn't perfect, so things like this happen occasionally. You could try making sure your running an up to date version of .NET and see if that fixes it, but I don't have any other advice as far as getting romfs builder to work. If you can't get it to save, you could always try using another program for building the romfs, but you'll need to find make sure whichever program you use can handle Japanese file names.
     


  2. AtomicBoo

    AtomicBoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jan 12, 2017
    United States
    Alright, thanks for the advice, I'll give it another try or two and then perhaps try looking for alternatives. Will post if it gets working again.

    EDIT: Got it to work, but once entering the game through HANS it shows the "loading from SD card" screen in an odd green color, then blackscreens.
     
    Last edited by AtomicBoo, Jan 12, 2017
  3. phamchri

    phamchri Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 10, 2017
    Chapter 16 revelations doesn't load up after cutscene. Robin got randomised as himself and somehow makes it the amiibo chapter unplayable. Other than that, works well.
     
  4. Scanty_Daemon

    Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    Quick question about the randomizer. How does the number of passes affect the output of the randomized stats?
     
  5. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    For each pass, the randomizer will subtract from one stat and add it to another. In general, more passes will lead to more random stat spreads.
     
  6. Scanty_Daemon

    Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    That was what I was thinking. Thank you for the clarification :)
     
  7. cercity

    cercity Member

    Newcomer
    48
    8
    Jan 16, 2016
    Have any PAL players had success with the randomizer? I'm having the same issues Samantha007 and Danno3321 were having with progress crashes when randomizing, at 25% and 50% depending on the options chosen. I'm using the most recent version too.
     
  8. kittenrobotarmy

    kittenrobotarmy Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    When I load up the randomizer with my files, it grays out the options for CQ and RV, even though they're both downloaded onto my Birthright digital copy as DLC. Is that an issue with the dump or the randomizer? I did get a message that the dump was incomplete, but I don't know what it didn't dump.
     
  9. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    Could you try running the randomizer from the command line and see what error you get? I might be able to help you if I know where the randomizer's having issues.

    DLC cannot be dumped or modified through normal homebrew methods, you need custom firmware in order to do anything to DLC paths. If you want to go that route, check here for setting things up.
     
    cercity likes this.
  10. GCNMatt

    GCNMatt GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    145
    25
    Oct 4, 2015
    United States
    First of all, love your profile pic.
    Second of all, yeah, you can't randomize dlc without custom firmware. (Don't ask me specifics I haven't done it myself)

    Edit: ninja'd

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hey, could a future release have a stat SHUFFLER?
    Like moving the 8 Defense stat to 8 magic, and so on?
    Some units would become useless, but it'd be a fun challenge!
     
  11. kittenrobotarmy

    kittenrobotarmy Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    I do have CFW - I'm running the randomized files through NTR CFW. How would I go about randomizing the DLC itself with CFW?
     
    Last edited by kittenrobotarmy, Jan 12, 2017
  12. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    That's actually how the randomizer currently changes stats if you don't raise the passes at all.

    I don't have concrete directions for this since I use the special edition to avoid needing to dump and rebuild DLC whenever I modify something. If you have some way to acquire a CIA of the special edition, I'd recommend that option.

    If you want to go with modifying DLC, you'll need to decrypt the DLC on the SD card using something like Decrypt9. From there I think you can take the content (which should end up in the files9 after decryption) and use a program such as ctrtool to extract the romfs file from the DLC content. Get the romfs files from whichever DLC files include your paths, extract the contents and include them in your folder when you go to randomize. When that's done, you'll need to separate the DLC contents back out and rebuild your DLC into a CIA (I forget exactly how you do this part to be honest). Once you have the CIA you can just install it on your 3DS through FBI. I'm soryy that I don't have more details on the process - if you need more information, you could try posting a thread and see if anyone else can give more detailed instructions.
     
  13. cercity

    cercity Member

    Newcomer
    48
    8
    Jan 16, 2016
  14. Asfi

    Asfi Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 3, 2016
    United States
    Birthright Chapter 9 seems to crash after defeating Zola as he's running out and almost right after he gets hit by Leo's magic. Would the Gay Fates/Undub files cause any problems with the randomizer and cause my issue?
     
  15. Godspell

    Godspell Member

    Newcomer
    12
    0
    Jan 12, 2017
    Gambia, The
    I also have some issues with the PAL version. First of all i had to rename all @U folders to @E so the randomizer would start. Second thing is that the voices and faces shown in conversations aren't randomized.
     
  16. GUST

    GUST Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    66
    0
    Jan 13, 2017
    For some reasons, when I try RUnning FEAT it says it cant decrompress any files within the storage folder, am i doing something wrong? It cant even do it on seperate files, am i missing something?
     
  17. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    The randomizer's getting bad offsets for either the chapter table or character table in GameData.bin. Are you using a GameData file from any other hacks?

    No, that issue is a bug with the randomizer itself. I think that you can get rid of the issue by deleting every file that starts with A009 under Scripts/bev (replace them with the originals if you are using HANS), though I'm not completely sure if that fix will work. You won't get different models during cutscenes for that chapter, but recruitment should still be randomized with that change.

    I plan to add support the European folder structure in the next update, so hopefully you won't have to rename things anymore. Did you rename your folders back after randomizing? If not, that explains why the voices and faces aren't randomized at all.

    Are your files on the SD card? Take them off of the SD card before you try to do anything with them.
     
  18. GUST

    GUST Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    66
    0
    Jan 13, 2017
    Ooooooh. Well either i didn't see it, its not there or i might be completly stupid. Thanks a bunch, now i can finally get this working!
     
  19. Godspell

    Godspell Member

    Newcomer
    12
    0
    Jan 12, 2017
    Gambia, The
    Yes I named them back
     
  20. GUST

    GUST Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    66
    0
    Jan 13, 2017
    Weird. I got the files off my sd card, put them in the order as described, then when i try using feat its just.. NO. It says it cant decrompress any files. Should I decompress before I sort them into the categories for the randomizer or what Am i doing wrong? All the files are on my computer (not the card), in the correct placement but it just wont decompress them. Any insights?