[WIP] Fire Emblem Fates Randomizer

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by thane98, Dec 7, 2016.

Dec 7, 2016
  1. ChaoticBlitz123

    Newcomer ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    So I experienced a crash on Chapter 10 of Conquest while recruiting Nyx (who funny enough didn't get randomized). After the initial recruitment dialogue, it showed the area where you can attack the wall to break through and then it froze there.
     


  2. wuboy

    Member wuboy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    That's a known issue, I asked the same thing yesterday.
     
  3. ChaoticBlitz123

    Newcomer ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I see, thanks. Tbh tho, I could probably make do without this Nyx since she didn't randomized and I have Gay Fates installed so more marriage options for everyone lol.
     
  4. wuboy

    Member wuboy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think Nyx was never that good annyway, so it's not too much of a loss.
     
  5. cyuriosity

    Newcomer cyuriosity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Japan
    In order to recruit Nyx you must first break the wall she points to then talk to her, this skips the dialogue that tells you to break the wall preventing a crash.
     
  6. Scanty_Daemon

    Newcomer Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    First things first, I'm having a blast with this randomizer, great work thane!

    I own all 3 paths, and when I randomized the first time I was able to pick from all 3. Now whenever i try to randomize it will only let me pick conquest even after selecting and unselecting it multiple times. I have no clue how to fix this so any help would be appreciated.

    Screenshot_4.png
     
  7. thane98
    OP

    Member thane98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    United States
    Are your the other paths DLC? Dumping DLC has to be done separately (it also requires custom firmware and some additional steps).
     
  8. ChaoticBlitz123

    Newcomer ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Chapter 16 on Conquest causes freezing when talking to the soldiers. I tried it with 2 of the soldiers and they both caused freezing so it's safe to assume that all of them, except the fake one, causes freezing.
     
    Last edited by ChaoticBlitz123, Jan 11, 2017
  9. Scanty_Daemon

    Newcomer Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yes they are, but I had the ability to select them just last night. Could it be because i was using beta 4 hotfix 1? Because now im using beta 4 hotfix 2.
     
  10. thane98
    OP

    Member thane98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the report. I'll try to have it fixed in the next update.

    That might have been the case. Hotfix 1 had a bug which would enable paths that didn't verify if you checked and then unchecked one of the paths.
     
  11. Scanty_Daemon

    Newcomer Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    That must be it then. Darn, I was really excited to play Revelations. How do you dump DLC path's then?
     
    Last edited by Scanty_Daemon, Jan 11, 2017
  12. thane98
    OP

    Member thane98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need custom firmware first, so if you don't have that start here. I think you can do it through Decrypt9, but I couldn't walk you through the process - I haven't dumped any sort of DLC content for a long time. There should be a tutorial somewhere around here for it.
     
  13. Scanty_Daemon

    Newcomer Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    So is that the only way you can play revelations then? Because if I remember right it's DLC only
     
  14. thane98
    OP

    Member thane98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    United States
    The Special Edition comes with all 3 paths in the base game, so that's an option.
     
  15. seriousprawn

    Newcomer seriousprawn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg
    Country:
    Russia
    hey!
    i've been playing with the randomizer for a while now and there's this issue i keep runnung into: chapter 14 of revelation freezes and crashes as the map starts loading after elise's animated cutscene.
    another thing: somebody else already brought this up once in this thread, but if you choose not to randomise join order, everybody gets the same inventory as they do in the vanilla game, making the first five chapters in particular practically unplayable without save editing. also, the randomiser does not seem to distinguish between base and advanced classes in this mode and just promotes or demotes units at random.
     
  16. thane98
    OP

    Member thane98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    United States
    I'll look into the crash on chapter 14. Hopefully it'll go away once I get around to updating the code for randomizing scripts.

    I should probably overhaul randomizing without changing the join order, as I haven't touched that code in a long time.
     
  17. Scanty_Daemon

    Newcomer Scanty_Daemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you. I will try to do that then :)
     
  18. AtomicBoo

    Newcomer AtomicBoo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Everything seems to work fine but when I went to rebuild the rom using the RomFS builder it crashes when prompted to save. Half the time it allows a save, then crashes, and the other half of the time it outright has to be task manager forced closed. It also won't allow me to create the new hans file on the root of the SD card, as trying to create a new file on the root of the card crashes the file browser. Any ideas, maybe a step I missed?
     
  19. thane98
    OP

    Member thane98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    United States
    Are you trying to create the romfs from files on your SD card? If so, try moving the files to your computer and building the romfs from there.
     
  20. AtomicBoo

    Newcomer AtomicBoo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I moved the rom files completely onto my computer, but It still freezes at the save prompt without bringing it up. I'm using the file Downloads\Game#\Romfs_ when choosing it from the directory. Instead of saving the builder just freezes without bringing it up
     

Share This Page