[WIP] Fire Emblem Fates Randomizer

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by thane98, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. Dylos

    Dylos GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    272
    72
    May 13, 2016
    United States
    Did you get Mozu randomized in the hot fix?
    And was Hayato fixed?
     
    Last edited by Dylos, Jan 11, 2017


  2. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    I haven't fixed either of those issues yet. I've got a bigger update coming at some point, but that won't be ready to go until the script editor I'm working on can compile every script in the game with perfect accuracy (its pretty close, but a handful of scripts don't compile correctly). Once that's done I plan to have the randomizer use that code for script randomization since it should be able to change script values without causing instability. That should fix a lot of the crashes that have been reported on beta 4.
     
  3. Samantha007

    Samantha007 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Jan 10, 2017
    Canada
    Nohr
    Sorry to be bothersome, but I made the .romf file for Conquest and everything was going really well, until I launched it in HANS.
    I get a black screen with just a big white bar on the left. I'm not sure what I did wrong, really.
    [​IMG]
    From my understanding this is correct?
    [​IMG]
    This is all I see when I launch the game.
     
  4. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    HANS doesn't always play well with Fates, unfortunately. If you're running a digital copy of Fates, you might not be able to do anything about it. If it's a physical copy, it should be able to run fine though. Just to check, you rebuilt your romfs using all of the files from your dump of Fates + the randomized files, right? If you put just the randomized files in the romfs, then that would explain the issue.

    If you can't get HANS working, there's always NTR or Luma. Those methods are more convenient in the long run, but you have to go through the process of installing arm9loaderhax before you can use either of those. If you want to go with that method, follow Plailect's guide.
     
    Samantha007 likes this.
  5. Samantha007

    Samantha007 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Jan 10, 2017
    Canada
    Nohr
    I'm using a physical copy of Conquest, and I rebuilt my romfs using all the files from the dump but I replaced some of the files from said dump with the randomized files.
     
  6. DankRabbit

    DankRabbit Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Nov 18, 2016
    United States
    Currently trying to rebuild my files into a cia anyone can help with that?
     
  7. ChaoticBlitz123

    ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    New York
    So I've been following everything in the guide very carefully (or so I think I am) and when I open the randomizer, I click Open and Verify and choose the file location with the hand picked files and such and when I confirm the location, all that shows up is that and not the next window. Keep in mind that I'm using the Gay Fates hack and the game I dumped was the US Conquest from the cartridge. Any help would be much appreciated!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    Then it looks like you set up everything correctly with HANS. I don't have any more advice to give with HANS since I haven't used it in a long time. The NTR and Luma methods are open though since you can run arm9 exploits on the most recent 3DS firmware.

    I haven't done any work with rebuilding CIAs personally, but I this tutorial might be able to help you.

    Are you running the most recent version of Java? The options window uses some GUI elements from the later updates to Java 8. If your version of Java isn't updated, the options window won't show up.
     
    ChaoticBlitz123 and Samantha007 like this.
  9. ChaoticBlitz123

    ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    New York
    That made it work, thanks! But I ran into another problem. The first fix, I was able to randomize Revelations but with the second fix, I was unable to highlight the Revelations option? Any advice there?
     
  10. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    The first fix had an issue where if you checked a box and unchecked it, it would enable every path, including those that did not verify. That was patched in the second fix. If the box for Revelation isn't available, then the randomizer could not find the files for the path.
     
  11. ChaoticBlitz123

    ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    New York
    Ah okay, that makes sense. Two questions now, would you have any idea on how to get those files for Revelations? And when I try to build the ROM again, I'm able to save to a location but then it crashes... any idea why?
     
  12. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    Getting the files from Revelation requires dumping the DLC if you're not using the special edition. That can be done, but it requires installing custom firmware and going through a bunch of additional steps. If you want to go through that process, Plailect's guide can help you set up custom firmware on your 3DS.

    Where are you getting a crash at? Is it from romfs builder, or some other point in the process?
     
  13. ChaoticBlitz123

    ChaoticBlitz123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 11, 2017
    United States
    New York
    It was from the romfs builder but I found the solution to it. I just had to save it outside the SD card. And thanks for the advice!
     
  14. DankRabbit

    DankRabbit Member

    Newcomer
    17
    0
    Nov 18, 2016
    United States
    On the first map I am seeing double of some characters is this normal?
     
  15. GCNMatt

    GCNMatt GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    145
    25
    Oct 4, 2015
    United States
    Could there possibly be a new function later that randomizes opposing troops or shuffles them with yours? Aka for example in birthright putting Xander in pool to replace say, saizo and then put saizo as a nohrian enemy (for simplicity's sake as Xander, or can that only happen in revelations?
     
  16. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    Double characters isn't normal (I don't think I've ever seen anyone report something like that either, so I'm a little curious as to how that happened). Did you randomize the same files multiple times? That's the only thing I can think of that could cause an issue like that.

    It wasn't possible under the original system, but with way randomization is done in the current build you could plausibly have the randomizer shuffle in characters who aren't in the route and replace the corresponding bosses. I'll see what I can do about adding this in at some point.
     
    GCNMatt likes this.
  17. phamchri

    phamchri Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 10, 2017
    Can't seem to get past ch 2 on lunatic or Hard classic modes. Normal classic works fine. So i guess thats a plus. Also what are the chances of Ryouma randomising as Ryouma just curious.
     
  18. ScarletKohaku

    ScarletKohaku Maple Nerd

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    ScarletKohaku is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    1,570
    1,402
    Jan 7, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Middleish North-Right
    So I dumped my Fates Special Edition cart earlier and followed the instructions on the first page, but the randomizer is telling me I'm missing files. I checked the m folder it's complaining about, and I don't have a @E folder at all in there. Any suggestions?
    Pictures
     
  19. thane98
    OP

    thane98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    507
    223
    Apr 23, 2016
    United States
    Rename your @U folder to @E as well as the @U folders inside A, B, and C if you see any in them. Run the randomizer, and rename the folder back to @U when you are done.

    At least, that's what I think you need to do with the European version.
     
    ScarletKohaku likes this.
  20. ScarletKohaku

    ScarletKohaku Maple Nerd

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    ScarletKohaku is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    1,570
    1,402
    Jan 7, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Middleish North-Right
    Yup, that did it. Many thanks