Windows on the New 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by LarBob, Jan 3, 2016.

Jan 3, 2016

Windows on the New 3DS by LarBob at 1:42 AM (31,953 Views / 22 Likes) 193 replies

  1. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    There is already a thread about this created by shutterbug2000, but the author didn't really provide a tutorial or more info. I have added an smdh file for the logo, info, etc. and also got Windows 98 to work, so I figured there might be a separate thread for my version with the smdh file prepackaged, as well as batch files to launch Windows 95, 98, and 3.1.
    Here is an imgur album of it in the grid launcher: http://imgur.com/a/xO4Qo
    Here are YouTube videos of 95, 98, and 3.1:



    • To install: Put the contents of this zip into /3ds/retroarch_3ds. (if there is no folder called that, create one)
    • It will show up in the homebrew loader with a classic Windows logo.
    • For Windows 3.1, put a WINDOWS folder into the retroarch_3ds folder
    • For Windows 98, put an image of the system into the retroarch_3ds folder called W98.img
    • For Windows 95, put an image of the system into the retroarch_3ds folder called W95.img
    • Once you load up Windows N3DS, go to Load Content -> Select File -> smdc:/ -> 3ds -> retroarch_3ds -> and choose which OS you want to run. ld31.bat = Windows 3.1, ld98.bat = Windows 98, ld95.bat = Windows 95
    • Once it is loaded, you may have to change settings to allow you to move the arrow keys with the d-pad, to press enter using start, etc. by doing this:
    • Open settings by pressing bottom screen, press b, go to settings, input, input user 1 binds. Change User 1 device type to Joystick (4axis/4buttons + kbd arrows) and then go back to the main screen. Save current config. You can then press the bottom screen again to resume the Windows startup.
    • With this setting, D-PAD = Arrow keys, Start = Enter, Select = Esc
    If you decide to use Windows 98, I recommend using a build of 98lite Professional if you can (for startup time).
    I hope I helped you guys! Remember, this currently only works on New 3DS models. You will probably get a red screen if you try on the O3DS. It just doesn't work right now.
     
    Last edited by LarBob, Jan 3, 2016


  2. Minnow

    Member Minnow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you for this
     
  3. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    No problem.
     
  4. MionissNio

    Member MionissNio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Get error when booting up on N3ds something like windows cannot process further please restart.
     
  5. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    You probably need a different image. I got mine from a zip file called iDOS. I can't link correctly due to copyright rules on this forum.
     
  6. Naked_Snake

    Member Naked_Snake Constant Miscreant

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Location:
    Hyrule Field
    Country:
    Australia
    This is great thanks for a Tut
     
  7. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    No problem sir
     
  8. Kyouken

    Member Kyouken Repairer of the Breach

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    GBATemp
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing I'd add here is that the Start and Select buttons become Enter and Escape, respectively, once you change the joystick type to what you mentioned. Other than that, this looks good! From the look of it in shutterbug2000's thread, a lot of people needed this.
     
  9. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Whoops, added. No problem. This also includes an smdh for logo, author information, my own batches for different Windows versions, etc.
     
  10. Xen0

    Member Xen0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    Germany
    Does this have like the complete power of older Win versions? Within the ability to install games and so on?
     
  11. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but sadly we don't have a kernel exploit for FWs over 9.2 so it is limited by that speed wise. There's no KB + M support currently as well, but that should be out soon.
     
  12. Georges borges

    Newcomer Georges borges Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    possible to play games like Diablo 2?
     
    Last edited by Georges borges, Jan 3, 2016
    Pacheko17, SLiV3R and Minnow like this.
  13. dubbz82

    Member dubbz82 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,280
    Country:
    United States
    I'd be curious if this could be altered to run ReactOS, since the idea of that is, after all, to be binary compatible with Windows......

    EDIT: to respond to the guy above me, theoretically it could run (cracked versions of) games, however I'd not expect it to run them at any sort of playable speed, given the current startup times...
     
    Last edited by dubbz82, Jan 3, 2016
  14. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    ReactOS is supposed to be compatible with NT 5-based Windows, not 9x.
     
    gnmmarechal and dubbz82 like this.
  15. dubbz82

    Member dubbz82 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,280
    Country:
    United States

    Good point....I'd be curious if there's some specific differences with NT based OS's though that would prevent them from booting using this method, or if it's simply just too resource intensive.
     
    Last edited by dubbz82, Jan 3, 2016
  16. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    The NT kernel is totally different from Windows 9x. NT is separate from DOS and definitely would not boot on this, as it uses DOSBox.
     
  17. dubbz82

    Member dubbz82 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,280
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. Hadn't honestly read into it a whole ton to realize that it utilizes DOSBox. Makes sense in that case.
     
  18. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Well, in this case RetroArch's implementation of DOSBox

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Technically yes, but I would wait until KB + M and kernel level exploitation
     
  19. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't even be worth Trying.. Windows booting is a tough feat in itself.. Trying to get a game involved would be a mess.
     
    DesuIsSparta likes this.
  20. LarBob
    OP

    Member LarBob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    May change later. These are the early stages.
     

Share This Page