Windows 64-bit may be a requirement for some future EA games

Discussion in 'Gaming News' started by Costello, May 23, 2012.

May 23, 2012
    • Administrator

    Costello Headmaster

    Member Since:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Message Count:
    11,101

    [IMG]






    Electronic Arts, recently voted America's worst company, has recently announced that some of the future PC games they publish will make use of the Frostbite Engine 2, a new graphics engine by DICE... and may require a 64-bit version of Windows to run. According to recent Steam statistics, only 54% of the players are running a 64-bit version of Windows. An employee of DICE recently posted on Twitter that "[...] it will be a great opportunity to upgrade to Windows 8!"

    How do you feel about this? Do you already run a 64-bit version of Windows on your computer? If you aren't, are you planning to upgrade? Before you get angry, remember that only 64-bit versions of Windows can make full use of 4 gigabytes of RAM and above.



    [IMG] Source
    [IMG] Source 2


    • Member

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,311
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Bullshit from EA... Not that games from EA run good anyways but still...

    Oh well, it was supposed to happen, with games requiring more and more RAM.
    • Podcast Crew

    Urza hi

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Message Count:
    6,494
    Country:
    United States
    EA has said nothing. The source of this is a tweet from a Frostbite Engine dev stating that they (DICE) will have some games requiring 64-bit processing.

    In addition, Frostbite Engine 2 itself does not inherently require 64-bit processing. A lot of misreporting going on.
    8 people like this.
    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,175
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    haha windows 8. not after what i've read and heard about it.

    -another world
    4 people like this.
    • Forum Moderator

    Sicklyboy ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,077
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and your CPU, which likely also means your mobo and RAM.

    You know, the same things you would need to replace if you were moving from an x86 windows 7 build to an x64 one.
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    Alaude New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    196
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    How do you feel about this?
    haha...about time :P. because games nowadays are more demanding on CPUs most of the time.

    Do you already run a 64-bit version of Windows on your computer?
    fortunately yes as i have 8gigs of ram.

    EA produces some good games but i will only acknowledge them until they scrape off Origins policies.
    • Newcomer

    iceissocold New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Most computers from the last 6 or 7 years are x64 compatible. Maybe even further.

    64-bit Operating Systems and applications generally run a lot better when they're optimizing for it. I don't understand the fuss you all are giving on this topic.
    • Member

    ShadowSoldier New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,349
    Country:
    Canada
    I've bought and played a lot of EA games on the PC, and they run perfectly smooth and have no problems. Your computer just sucks.

    Anyways, the main question here is, why aren't people already running 64-Bit?
    • Forum Moderator

    Sicklyboy ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,077
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    Not if you only have a 32 bit CPU though.
    • Administrator

    Costello Headmaster

    Member Since:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Message Count:
    11,101
    quoted from kotaku's article:

    so I guess kotaku got it all wrong eh? someone needs to tell them :P
    • Member

    DiscostewSM New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,552
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    The only real increase in RAM requirements from 32-bit to 64-bit will come in the form of the space the program will occupy, which is only in the range of MBs and not GBs.
    • Member

    Alaude New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    196
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    x86 only processing CPUs are really old and if anyone thinks on gaming with that with games these days is a dreamer.

    what do you mean? unlike CPUs Ram sticks do not come in x86 or x64 architecture.
    • Member

    DiscostewSM New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,552
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    I mean that the amount of space to hold the executable code of the program in RAM is the only real change. Program assets like 3D models, textures, etc are all independent of the platform, so the space they take up in RAM when the program allocates space for them remains the same. x64 opcodes take up double of what x86 opcodes occupy (but the program itself won't necessarily be double in size due to factors like optimization in compiling to take advantage of what x64 offers, and other things of that nature).
    • Forum Moderator

    Sicklyboy ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,077
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    I started my computer gaming habits on one, and have passed it off to my little brother (same rig). It surely isn't the absolute best out there, but it can still handle a lot of modern stuff just fine.
    • Podcast Crew

    Urza hi

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Message Count:
    6,494
    Country:
    United States
    Kotaku's source is the Eurogamer article, where Robert Purchese postulates on a number of DICE titles which might be affected. Eurogamer's source is the tweet I mentioned.

    Because it was posted on a blog, it must be true, right? Probably should check your sources next time.
    • Member

    Alaude New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    196
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    oh...i get it thanks for elaborating your point.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well then, to comment theoretically.. I wouldn't be surprised. The only processors currently being sold that are 32-bit only are less-efficient (in terms of instructions per clock, not power use) in-order models like the Atom and such, which are often paired with motherboards that can't support a dedicated video card anyways such as mobile devices and pico/fuckingtiny-ITX/ATX boards for HTPCs (given the shift towards integrated GPUs that can do hardware decoding of common video formats). Even for edge cases where you do find Atoms and such in desktops, they're usually bottom-of-the-barrel things that wouldn't be able to run modern games regardless of the register/bus/penis size.
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    Shadow#1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    781
    Country:
    United States
    another reason added to the pile of reason's to quit buying EA titles
    • Administrator

    Costello Headmaster

    Member Since:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Message Count:
    11,101
    blah blah blah.. what you said, in a nutshell, is really what I posted. end of conversation lol
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Chill a little? You're coming across as pretty harsh.
    1 people like this.

Share This Page