Gaming Will this way of reviving the Nintendo DS work?

• Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 1,689
  • Replies 2
D

Deleted User

OP
I am a programmer, I can work with advanced things such as emulation and networking, but the problem is that I haven't followed the DS Scene (Hacking and stuff) since it has begun (In 2005?) neither within the period just before the 3DS was released (The DSi era).

Since the DS has played an important role in our childhood, and it stayed active for a long time, also the fact that it is almost dead (Gaming servers and support are shut down), I thought of two different ideas to keep it alive by keeping online play possible:
  1. The first idea is if it is possible to connect the Nintendo DS to the network adapter of a computer, I read about a method called WiFiMe, where it was possible to connect the Nintendo DS to RT2500/RT2560 chipsets based adapters. Now after being able to connect the Nintendo DS wirelessly to the PC, we can make a network between players who want to play a game online by making them connect to a client on PC which is connected to a master server that joins them together, so the Nintendo DS thinks as if it is playing with other local players wirelessly, where they are actually connected remotely through a server. The problem with WiFiMe is that anyone who wants to play online would need to buy a RT2500/RT2560 based network adapter and install a specific driver to it, which is not what we want to keep the process easy so the DS would stay alive.
  2. Method 2 is almost impossible, but I was wondering whether gaming dedicated servers of games could be acquired or cloned (By packet sniffing). It would be easy after that to connect the Nintendo DS to a cloned private server rather than the official one.