Hardware WiiU or Wii?

Should I buy a Wii unit or a WiiU unit off the secondhand market?

• Wii U

• Wii

Results are only viewable after voting.

problues99

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've been out of the Wii homebrew/backups scene for about 6 years now. Originally I was pulled in by the ability to create custom Guitar Hero discs with FoF and other songs. (some may recognize my username, I also go by Humor4Fun in some areas). At the time, I worked on the GHOST tool, put FlatMii, DriveKey and WiiKey modchips in a handful of consoles, and installed all sorts of stuff onto Wiis. But after I graduated college, I had to get a real job, the hobby was lost, and my hardware was sold.

Now I want to get back into it. I miss playing Guitar Hero with all the thousands of songs that I had on all those custom discs I made (I probably even still have the ISOs stored away). Question is...Should I buy a Wii unit or a WiiU unit off the secondhand market? I see that there was recently a kernel exploit published for the WiiU which is fantastic for the homebrew/backup scene. I also read there

What recommendations does everyone have? and Why?

I'm fairly certain that all I'm really interested in is using a USB Loader to boot games off a hard drive. Being able to boot them off a network drive would be even better. I've got a fairly substantial library of Wii and Gamecube backups (that I dumped myself, obviously!) along with the more important and interesting Custom Guitar Hero discs. Is there something new that I'm missing that would be a better way of doing this? Is there super cool new tech/software that I haven't read about?

I'm kinda leaning toward Wii U because it still retains the USB Loader vWii system, and yet is more future proof (kernel exploit just released, HDMI video out, not to mention the Wii U system itself).

TR_mahmutpek

medic
Trophies
XP
Country
Turkey