Wii U (Wii Mode) Vs Wii2HDMI

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by eyecat14, Dec 19, 2012.

Dec 19, 2012
    • Member

    eyecat14 GBATemp's Lovely Jizzing Mordecai™

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    115
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering, I'm an owner of a wii2hdmi and I want to know if the wii mode through HDMI looks any better (or worse) on the wii u, (I know they both upscale 480p to 1080p) can anyone with both do a comparison of this for me? I don't have a Wii U so I can't check for myself.
    • Member

    julialy Ehh, I'm so lazy.

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    Depends.
    Use wii2hdmi if you want smoother picture.
    Use wiiu's HDMI if you want crisp picture.
    • Member

    eyecat14 GBATemp's Lovely Jizzing Mordecai™

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    115
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Crisp as In jaggy?

    I GOT IT! Why won't somebody make a video of the Wii U connected to two of the SAME Tv's With the AV With the WII2HDMI and the other with just the HDMI on the wii U!
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    468
    Country:
    United States
    do not forget: use wii2hdmi if you want analog audio out along with a hdmi connection.
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    468
    Country:
    United States
    anyone test what the wii2hdmi does it you send it 720p or 1080p via the Wii U since it can do 1080p via component since the wii2hdmi is effectively a component2hdmi adapter+upscaler?
    • Newcomer

    no_chocobo New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, I'm confused.... the WiiU upscales the video output from wii mode?
    • Member

    julialy Ehh, I'm so lazy.

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    yes
    • Member

    eyecat14 GBATemp's Lovely Jizzing Mordecai™

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    115
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I....hmmmm...wow....It will probably stay the same? I don't really....hmmm that's a very good question!
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 ...

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    15,498
    Country:
    Poland
    Everything depends on whether or not wii2hdmi applies any sort of filtering on the processed signal. If it's just upscaled then the results will be pretty much the same.
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    468
    Country:
    United States
    I think it depends more on if the Wii2HDMI chokes when its fed a 720p or 1080i/p source when its expecting only 480i/p and was designed around that.
    • Member

    eyecat14 GBATemp's Lovely Jizzing Mordecai™

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    115
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    That IS true, to an extent, Well sort of.....er...let me explain, I try to put it in my neighbors Sony '60 (or was it '56) Inch HDTV you can only hear the audio, when you put it in his medium LG tv it chokes and gives black screens time to time, and it gets VERY irritating, his smallest HDTV handles everything fine and dandy and everything looks GREAT! it's like 17 inches.....(I forgot the brand)
    • Member

    iRawriLaugh New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Message Count:
    158
    Location:
    Bronx, New York
    Country:
    United States
    To me the WiiMode quality looks lower. It's just how the 3DS can run DS games yet they look lower quality.
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,075
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Is that why the Wii mode looks blurrier than the real Wii's system menu? I know component can scale up to 1080p (albeit with flickering issues), but the vWii mode looks blurrier to me, and there are no longer any options to make it crisper; it almost looks like 480i instead.

Share This Page