Wii U renders Wii games differently in Wii mode?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Games & Content' started by DCG, Dec 13, 2012.

Dec 13, 2012
    • Member

    DCG New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    603
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!


    Is it just me, or does the metroid prime trilogy looking worse on the Wii U.
    Yes, at first it looks upscaled to 720p, but when using the scan visor, the zoomed part looks like hell.

    It seems as if the zoomed part isn't upscaled :/
    I haven't started the "old" Wii up to compare, but it I don't remember it being this bad...
    Do other games suffer from this aswell?
    Last edited by DCG, Dec 13, 2012


    • Member

    jalaneme Female Gamer

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Message Count:
    6,175
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah twilight princess has quite a few jaggies, i haven't touched that game in a while though, i wish nintendo had put a smooth setting like the ps3 does with ps1 games.
    • Member

    9thSage New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Message Count:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure that it's just upscaling the video output before it sends it out to your TV. this isn't the same thing as rendering the entire thing at 1080p, you shouldn't expect it to be. (by the way, that's just how scan visor looks when you scan something...it always looked more blurry)
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If the Wii U is upscaling them before sending them to the TV, then they're being sent at a resolution that displays the aliasing and artifacts.

    The issues were always there. just blurred out on the original Wii due to it's lower output resolution.

    Now you can see clearer... that the chick you slept with while drunk is not as pretty as you remember.
    DaggerV, xwatchmanx, air2004 and 2 others like this.
    • Member

    Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Member Since:
    May 3, 2012
    Message Count:
    509
    Country:
    United States
    As rydian just said, the picture is definitely upscaled but upscaling is not the same as rendering at a higher resolution.

    Upscaling is pretty damn useless as it just makes low resolution artifacting stand out WAAAAAAAAAAAAY more than it would if you were just outputting that resolution. It just sharpens the picture at the resolution that the game rendered at (in the case of the wii 480p)
    • Newcomer

    Haliinen New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Message Count:
    17
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Country:
    Sweden
    My question is though, does the upscaling produce more input lag? Reason I ask is because I suffer a slight bit of input lag already, not that much though thankfully but you can definitely feel it.
    Last edited by Haliinen, Dec 15, 2012
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If the games are being output at a higher resolution from the Wii itself internally, then you shouldn't see the kind of input lag you get when the TV is doing it.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,201
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Adding to what you already said, the "jaggies" can be explained by the type of upscaling used.

    From what I'm seeing on the screens provided, I'd assume that the WiiU does this:
    1. Render the game at its original resolution.
    2. Upscale to the native WiiU resolution for the purpose of outputting it via HDMI-compatible means, use Nearest Neighbour to minimize the lag.
    3. Jaggies Country!
    I think it's plausible.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If jaggies are visible then it's definitely nearest-neighbor, sounds right to me.
    • Newcomer

    Haliinen New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Message Count:
    17
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks for the input, I guess I don't need to be worried about it, it's funny when you go over from the Wii U Game Pad to the projection screen, then back to the Wii U Game pad again when playing NSBMU, on the Game Pad, the inputs are instant, whereas on the projection screen it feels like the delay is about 5 frames, more or less.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,201
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Perhaps it's for the better. I, for one, don't enjoy upscaling with extensive use of filtering - usually it blurs the screen so much that fonts are barely visible. I'd rather see jaggies than f*ck all, but I suppose that's a matter of preference (and the size of the TV itself :P).
    • Member

    Supercool330 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    589
    Country:
    United States
    Why oh why would they not apply bicubic interpolation, it isn't that hard, and the Wii U should have more than enough extra horse power to do it (or at least bilinear).
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, it's not like it's a single image. The Wii U's likely more concerned with using it's resources to deliver a smooth experience opposed to running a filter a ton of times a second. Most video upscaling is simplistic in nature, the exceptions being emulators on the PC, where the filtering is often done by the GPu that's not getting much of a load in the first place (and that's where really fancy shit like the NTSC-lookalike filters and Super Eagle are feasible).

    I mean, we've all either seen or read about what happens when TVs try to upscale a live video. Latency.
    • Member

    Supercool330 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    589
    Country:
    United States
    Mostly that is because TVs don't have the hardware to do real time video filtering, and they have to wait until they receive the signal. The Wii U should have substantially more horsepower than your TV, and it can just do it as it renders the image. I work in rendering, and I have implemented very efficient CPU tricubic interpolation (admittedly, this was for x86 preprocessor with SIMD instructions, not PPC), so unless the Wii U isn't that much more powerful than the Wii, it should be able to handle the extra load.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    This isn't just that it's PPC, it's in the 750 family, which is a pretty old base (1998 or whatever IIRC) so I'm pretty sure it doesn't have any sort of modern instruction set additions to make that sort of thing almost painless.

    Yes, the Wii does have more horsepower than the TV, but the Wii is also busy actually creating the signal, while the TV just decodes.

    The Wii U's CPU appears to be a higher-clocked version of the Wii's, with three cores, and potentially more L2 cache (we don't have too many official details).
    • Member

    DCG New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    603
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know what upscaling is....
    the point is, it looked better on the same tv on the wii.

    The metroid prime trilogy is a HD game (at least nr 3).
    I'll run it trough the wii today and see how it looked there.

    (btw. It isn't upscaled to full screen, there are 3 black borders...)
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,201
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Good luck resizing 30/60 480p/i to 1080p frames per second with bicubic without lag on a system that's already busy doing "other things". :P Not to mention that for all we know, most of the WiiU assets are actually idle during vWii Mode.
    Last edited by Foxi4, Dec 15, 2012
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    exactly, the Wii U's assets are idle since the Wii U dumbs itself down to a Wii simular to how the Wii did so with Gamecube Mode. that means no extra horsepower for filtering or rendering game at 1080p or 720p like dolphin can since dolphin can utilize more horsepower then the Wii and has less hardware limitations that the actual Wii does since it emulates the hardware as it sees fit. WiiMode cannot. it could possibly do it if WiiMode ran like how the xbox 360 runs xbox 1 games where the 360 is still running ontop of the xbox1 emulator meaning it could apply filtering and stuff with its leftover "horsepower" if Microsoft would of decided to let it do so. Yes, I do realize the 360 emulates Xbox1 games but the concept is still valid as having WiiMode run in a VM with direct hardware access to the seperate NAND, 2 USB ports, SD Card slot, and Optical Drive would allow WiiMode to run from within Wii U Mode allowing the Wii U to enhance Wii Games with filtering and stuff with its unused "horsepower".
    Last edited by driverdis, Dec 15, 2012
    • Member

    nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Member Since:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,263
    Location:
    Hoenn
    Country:
    Pacific Ocean
    1. yes
    2. no if you use dolphin emulater on wii games at 1080p it looks fine
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,201
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    AFAIK, Dolphin doesn't upscale graphics post-rendering - it renders at a target resolution. It's a world of difference.
    RodrigoDavy likes this.

Share This Page