Wii U can't connect to router anymore

Discussion in 'Wii U - Nintendo Network' started by CosmoCortney, Dec 26, 2016.

Dec 26, 2016
  1. CosmoCortney
    OP

    Member CosmoCortney The Hacker Furry

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    on the cool side of the pillow
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello,
    I had this problems once a few months ago but it solved itself. Now it has returned.
    I was online with my Wii U and then loosed connection. The Wii U became unable to connect to my router even it is listed in the list of available networks.
    I did not change anything on the router or Wii U.
    My computer can connect to it just fine.
    The error code I get is 103-1602

    I tried connecting to it from sysNAND and redNAND, entered the connection and so on. no success :(
    any idea what's wrong?
     
  2. DocAmes1980

    Member DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if it appears that nothing is wrong with your router then I would suspect the Wii U. If you could test it with a different router that would be helpful.
     
  3. CosmoCortney
    OP

    Member CosmoCortney The Hacker Furry

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    on the cool side of the pillow
    Country:
    Germany
    It worked again a few hours later. I think the Wii U becomes unable to connect to it when my other or my dad's computer is turned on (and connected to the local network) :blink:
     
  4. DocAmes1980

    Member DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure neither device is using a static IP address. In other words, make sure that they are obtaining IP addresses automatically. There could be an IP conflict causing your Wii U to not connect if it's looking for an IP address that is already in use. That's the main thing I can think to check. If you must use a static IP then use an IP address that is high enough that it won't be assigned by DHCP (the router). For example if your router starts assigning IP addresses at 192.168.1.100 you could go with 192.168.1.120. That would leave 20 addresses to be assigned by the router. Also verify that the router isn't configured to only allow a certain number of simultaneous connections. If it's not an IP address conflict or a settings issue then maybe your router sucks. There's should be no reason your dad's laptop and your Wii U can't both be on the network.
     
    CosmoCortney likes this.
  5. CosmoCortney
    OP

    Member CosmoCortney The Hacker Furry

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    on the cool side of the pillow
    Country:
    Germany
    That'd explain a lot if one devices has the same IP. well, I know for sure that my other computer's IP differs from the Wii U's one. I just don't know about my dad's computer
     
  6. DocAmes1980

    Member DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Country:
    United States
    Just check the Wii U connection settings. Even if your Dad's laptop has a static IP then the router should assign the Wii U an available IP address as long as the Wii U is setup to obtain IP addresses automatically. If your Wii U is already set to obtain IP addresses automatically then your problem most likely lies elsewhere. If it's an IP conflict then the device with the static IP will have the issue because it will be trying to get an IP address that is already in use. Using DHCP (obtain automatically) being assigned an IP address that is already in use should be impossible.
     
  7. ddurdle

    Member ddurdle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    Definitely looks like a IP conflict. May not strictly be a static IP issue, but it is the best bet and easy enough to check.

    I had the exact same situation between an ipad and a raspberry pi. Both were assigned the same IP by DHCP. The issue was one device was given the IP first, I hadn't used it for a very long time, another device started receiving the IP, and now when I have both devices online, they battle it out for the single IP.

    router runs Tomato (open source firmware) so it's not a stupid OEM software bug.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Depends how he setup that static IP. If he set up the static IP on the device, the router may still assign it to other devices with DHCP. You need to ensure to assign the setup of a static IP on the router itself.
     
  8. DocAmes1980

    Member DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Country:
    United States
    Can't say that I've ever had DHCP assign me an IP address that was already in use. Apparently that can happen if a device thinks that it's lease hasn't expired but the router thinks it has. I'm not even sure exactly how that would happen. Wrong date on the device maybe? Even if the static IP was setup on the device (vs the router) shouldn't the static IP still be excluded from the pool of available IPs? Just curious. It's kinda a moot point anyway because using a Static IP that's within a range where it could be assigned by DHCP is a no no.
     
  9. ddurdle

    Member ddurdle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    In my case with the Raspberry Pi vs iPad, I just ensure my iPad is disconnected. Both will get the IP but obviously I run into connectivity issues. I have the Raspberry Pi in read-only mode, so when it makes the DHCP request, it might not be able to accept the fact it is being given a different IP from the router, and continues to use the one it was previously using. I haven't looked into too much. Just enough to validate the networking on it is definitely configured for DHCP (no static IP). If I switch the WLAN card (thus, the MAC changes), it gets assigned a different IP and it works. But switch the WLAN back and it wants the iPAD IP (192.168.1.129 in my case).

    With regards to setting up a static IP on the device instead of on the router, I setup a static IP on my Wii U (to 192.168.1.200) via Settings. It gets network connectivity but doesn't show up under actives devices on my router. Got confused once trying to figure out what IP I assigned it so I could FTP to it. I have the router block internet traffic from all IPs between 192.168.1.200-255. When I get a device of my own or a friend's that I need to "liberate", I usually manually enlist it with a static IP in that range so that I can access the local network (to run browser exploits, FTP, etc) without fear of accidentally having it phone-home to update. Usually when I'm done and using emunand or rednand, then I allow it to DHCP assign itself a non-blocked IP.
     
  10. CosmoCortney
    OP

    Member CosmoCortney The Hacker Furry

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    on the cool side of the pillow
    Country:
    Germany
    none of our home computers' IP match with the Wii U's one. But right now the Wii U is unable to connect again. Even removed all devices from the router. no change.
    I will try if i can connect to another router so i know whether is a problem caused by the router or Wii U

    EDIT: It's an issue of the Wii U. Could not connect with the other router as well.
    On a later attempt (just 2 minutes later) it was able to connect again. No matter which router was chosen
     
    Last edited by CosmoCortney, Jan 1, 2017

Share This Page