Wii u 160-1400 error - No Disk

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by robertorpg94, Jan 3, 2016.

Jan 3, 2016
  1. robertorpg94
    OP

    Member robertorpg94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Brazil
    today I decided to call my console Wii U. However, at the time it starts (with or disk). he shows me a black screen writing the following error code 160-1400,

    as in this video





    I'm in doubt,
    1. if my reader broke even or have a solution to try to make a hardreset on my Wii U, or

    2. if I can change my disk drive or. only the Wii u reader to solve this problem.




    if anyone here has been there and knows a solution, I will be grateful with this statement, I live in Brazil, here I would only get parts and repaired by an ask absurd with a super slow delivery, then I would know what to do .

    Thanks
     
    Last edited by robertorpg94, Jan 3, 2016


  2. Net-KILLER

    Member Net-KILLER computer says no

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    in a pineapple under the sea
    Country:
    Korea, North
    How did you call your Wii U before you called it Wii U?
     
  3. robertorpg94
    OP

    Member robertorpg94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Brazil
    I call it, with or without disk, always just see the same error. as in this video



     
  4. Net-KILLER

    Member Net-KILLER computer says no

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    in a pineapple under the sea
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Well I guess your drive and/or logic board is broken.

    Thats what Nintendo says:
    • Remove the disc and reboot the system.
      • Press eject on the front of the console and remove the disc.
      • Power off the Wii U console.
      • Wait 30 seconds.
      • Power on the Wii U console and insert the disc.
        • If you find that this resolves the issue, please continue to use the system as normal.
    • Visually inspect the disc(s) for any damage or cracks.
    • Clean the disc(s). How to

    Does the drive make the normal noises on startup ?
     
    Last edited by Net-KILLER, Jan 3, 2016
  5. robertorpg94
    OP

    Member robertorpg94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Brazil
    Worse than it does the normal noise , it is possible to hear him running a disk

    if I change the wii u disk drive , he returns to work?
     
  6. Net-KILLER

    Member Net-KILLER computer says no

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    in a pineapple under the sea
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Maybe yes / maybe you have to change your logic board too.
    It depens on what is broken.
     
  7. Net-KILLER

    Member Net-KILLER computer says no

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    in a pineapple under the sea
    Country:
    Korea, North
    I thought you are on a better way and then you post "fake?" at hykems wall.
    I hope your Wii is bricked forever and nobody helps you again.
     
    Last edited by Net-KILLER, Jan 11, 2016
    KiiWii likes this.
  8. montiebro

    Newcomer montiebro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I have this same problem on a wii u I got off eBay. I've replaced the disk drive and it still has the error. It must be a problem with the motherboard or something.
     
  9. RareKirby

    Member RareKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    United States
    I have 2 Wii U with this error. someone really has to find a fix around this :/​
     
  10. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    I also have a Wii U with this error. I took the console apart and found that the drive isn't spinning the disk.

    Does anyone know where the fuses are located for the drive? The laser lens is moving and the eject mechanism is working perfectly. It's just the drive motor won't spin.
     
  11. RareKirby

    Member RareKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    United States
    Any luck? I replaced the the drive with a new one with old logic board and it still isn't spinning! still 160 1400
     
  12. RareKirby

    Member RareKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    United States
    Not many people are talking about this often. Most gave up and stop replying. This is my 2nd Wii U that did this.
    What I know:
    Force shut downs can lead to 160 1400 error code which means you can no longer use your wii u anymore.
    Replacing disc drive obviously gives you 160 1402 error code. The fix around code is switching logic board with old one. For people who had disc problems that weren't 160 1400 this is your fix. For those that started with 160 1400, replacing logic board gets rid of 1402 but you're stuck with 1400 again. So I got a new disc drive, Still doesn't spin. So disc drive isn't the reason why the disc isn't spinning and that's where I'm at.
    Buying a new Wii U is a good option. Used Wii Us are about 120-140 bucks now, Having it repaired by Nintendo is 110 bucks. With stupid amount of work like shipping them your Wii U. I can't get mine repaired obviously cause i opened it up

    Me right now https://www.facebook.com/permalink....354528&notif_t=like&notif_id=1476811849076354
     
    Last edited by RareKirby, Oct 19, 2016
  13. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    No luck yet, but I still haven't given up.

    I'll quote myself from my reply in a similar thread about this issue here http://gbatemp.net/threads/wii-u-disc-drive-error.445177/#post-6747495

    "I got an idea but haven't tried this out yet. Are you able to boot directly into Wii mode at startup? I think you have to hold the B button on the game pad. If you can are you able to then exit Wii mode to the Wii U home menu?"

    And I just got another idea. It's a long shot and probably stupid but have you tried replacing the CMOS battery?
     
    Last edited by bowser, Oct 19, 2016
  14. RareKirby

    Member RareKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    United States
    No. Also Wii mode isn't on my start up so i'm out of luck there. I'm done tbh but you should still do research I guess. I don't want to waste anymore money.
     
  15. Tomboyowen

    Newcomer Tomboyowen Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Clean the disk
     
  16. RareKirby

    Member RareKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    United States
    This guy
     
  17. dust213dust

    Newcomer dust213dust Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Georgia
    any solution to this? any way to bypass the black screen? there must be some kind of hardware security check that takes you to black screen as for a second i can see the controller sync screen...
     
  18. Almir Fiorio

    Newcomer Almir Fiorio Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Roberto

    sou do brasil e estou com o mesmo problema
    vc conseguiu a solucao ?

    I'm from Brazil, and I have the same problem.
    Did you get the solution?


    Grato
    Almir
     
  19. darkridergsx

    Newcomer darkridergsx Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    i fix it two ci on drive board
     
  20. RareKirby

    Member RareKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    United States
    You fixed it? How? I just bought a new wii u NEW for 99 bucks. Its only the wii u no hdmi or any cables. Worth the buy
     

Share This Page