Wii Swiss Booter

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiPower, Feb 1, 2011.

Feb 1, 2011

Wii Swiss Booter by WiiPower at 1:32 PM (36,310 Views / 0 Likes) 66 Comments

    • Member

    WiiPower New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    8,164
    Country:
    Germany
    Version 0.3:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?hxd1skdqmr9qzzz
    (savegame date bug fixed)

    Version 0.2:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?l94drvg5efk2g03

    Version 0.1:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?spdzt88k4zfwaxx

    What's this?
    This program searches all storage for the swiss executable and then runs it in gamecube mode. It does require a cMIOS to do this like other gamecube homebrew booters. But this is modified to execute one command MIOS would execute and which is required to reset the drive. Short: Other gamecube homebrew booters may not allow the booted gamecube homebrew to reset the drive, this one does.

    Current status:
    - No graphics output at all
    - No errors or warnings, it will either work or not
    - USB storage might not be working(did not work for me, but the code is there...)

    I'm open to suggestions on how to improve this or how to spell the text for the HBC better.


    • Member

    Yuan New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,264
    Country:
    Brazil
    Doesn't GC Booter Homebrew allow for example? I was using it to load Swiss (I was only using my SD Gecko, not disks so I can't tell).
    • Member

    WiiPower New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    8,164
    Country:
    Germany
    The 1st issue i found:
    http://code.google.com/p/swiss-gc/issues/detail?id=1
    can only be fixed if Swiss can reset the drive. Swiss could unlock the drive itself, but then it would need to know that it 1. It's running a wii and 2. the drive is locked.

    Or to understand better, boot Gecko OS for gamecube:
    http://www.gc-forever.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=98
    with both booters and try to load games with it.
    • Newcomer

    QueenKong New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Message Count:
    56
    Country:
    France
    Good job lol, I see Swiss is waited as a prophet. [IMG]
    • Reporter

    VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Member Since:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    2,218
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for this, Wiipower=)
    time for some sdgecko game testing on me wii
    • Member

    Skater4599 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    809
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I tried this out last night and could not get it to work. I put the dol on both USB hdd and the sd card thats in my SD Wiikey adapter. I realized i did not have a patched MIOS (Forgot since I have a modchip, so never dealt with any gamecube homebrew before) So I downlaoded/installed Homebrew MIOS patcher, Now instead of restarting the Wii, it sits at a blackscreen no wiimote or nothing. Any Ideas/insight?

    Could it be my MIOS? I used v4 since i read it was the latest that could use cheats, no gamecube launcher so my MIOS wont play burned discs since my modchip already does this, and i version patched it to 65535

    Or is Wiikey adaptor not compatible, I thought i read it was but maybe im wrong. Or maybe it has something to do with the sd card inside my wiikey adaptor? Does it need a certain format/layout? Wiixplorer reads and writes to it fine how it is now.

    P.S. Thanks for this app and making it possible on the wii!
    • Member

    WiiPower New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    8,164
    Country:
    Germany
    Try this cMIOS:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?4ayvwgqey66qc9v
    It also allows you to use Action Replay, but is based on the latest MIOS.

    Does it work if you load Swiss from front sd? Also, can you load the Wii Swiss Booter itself from SD Gecko in HBC?
    • Member

    Skater4599 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    809
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks WiiPower I will try that MIOS today when I get home from work.

    I did not try loading swiss or swiss booter from front SD card but i'll try today as well. I meant that i had put swiss.dol on my SD gecko sd card root, not the loader, Does HBC even read SD gecko as a way to boot homebrew? Never tried that before
    • Member

    chop New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Message Count:
    481
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got an SDGecko on the way, but in the mean time I've been giving this a run.

    It boot's my original disc's fine. but won't run my DVD-R backups, is this normal.
    and when my gecko comes will it run backups from there, and can they be shrunk?


    and, what we need now is some sort of front-end that will transfer my gamecube.iso's from my usb drive to the SDGecko.
    • Member

    Category Trainee Romhacker

    Member Since:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    214
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WiiXplorer is what I use
    • Member

    Skater4599 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    809
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I updated my MIOS with this and still no go so I ran the booter from the sd gecko in hbc and it worked!

    I dumped Mario sunshine and it was a full 1.4~gb does swiss not "scrub" games? What's the best way to do this?
    • Member

    farcry15 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Message Count:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    i tried some games known to work with sd-boot.
    animal crossing froze at nintendo.
    metal gear solid twin snakes gave an error (something about a file being too large to fit in memory)
    • Member

    WiiPower New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    8,164
    Country:
    Germany
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gv56hcsnsl3hcqs

    Can you try these 2 test versions? If one of them works, could you please tell which one, and what's the error exactly? Then i can tell emu_kidid directly.
    • Member

    farcry15 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Message Count:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    this game loads up fine in sd-boot 0.4 however it freezes for me whenever you call anyone on the codec effectively preventing saving.
    • Member

    WiiPower New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    8,164
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks, was worth a shot. I notified emu_kidid, hopefully he finds the problem.
    • Member

    Levente New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Message Count:
    243
    Country:
    Hungary
    • Member

    WiiPower New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    8,164
    Country:
    Germany
    Does Gecko OS for GC work with it?
    • Member

    Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,143
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sweet, this indeed is better than other loaders I see.

    Thanks for this WiiPower! (To lazy to setup the Gamecube eheh.)

    Adr990
    • Newcomer

    jordan_ch New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    48
    Country:
    China
    is here the lastest version to download?
    • Member

    Krestent What to post?

    Member Since:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,949
    Country:
    United States
    All that's needed now is for someone to create a channel for it... (I would, but I'm no good at designing banners)

Share This Page