Hacking Wii-modding Predicament

CamaroShifter88

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've been strolling through these forums for quite a bit now, and now that brawl is about to come out.. and no signs of a wii price drop or more supply of them in the near future
dry.gif
, I've decided to go ahead and get myself a wii. However, I'm not sure what would be the best approach for modding it. I've done quite a bit of research and will probably buy a cyclowiz (wiikey doesn't seem to be having too great of support recently), or d2ckey. I guess it all depends on the wii I'm going to get, but I can imagine I'd get the d2ckey.

Anyways, that's not where I'm confused. I remember seeing many videos of people using their computers as "modchips", and figured that'd be pretty handy for me (I'm a college student w/ very little $$
biggrin.gif
). My monitor will also be my tv for the wii, and I leave my computer on 24/7, and it's a strong rig. Is this a good approach at all? I know I'd have to boot up software every time I load a game, and I'd have to have my computer running, but are there any other major flaws? Is this too outdated, and will I be at risk for a few games (such as SMG), or is this way invisible? I understand the big N catches you by reading a burnt cd, not the chip, but would I have to worry about that with the computer booting?

Lastly, I've read about the wii being hacked and potential for playing modded games w/o hardware mods. Any idea of if this is going to be implemented and work, or when?

I'm sorry if this is an outdated question, and I'm just trying to do this on a big budget (also don't want to worry about dealing with nasty wires/soldering jobs unless I have to). Thanks everyone.

DBlaze

I don't know what i'm doing.
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Probably you have a D2C Wii. So that would leave D2CKEY and Argon/infectus.