Wii Mod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jskyboo, Dec 31, 2010.

Dec 31, 2010

Wii Mod by jskyboo at 11:24 PM (133,602 Views / 0 Likes) 496 Comments

    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    It's been a long time since I last posted on here. But recently I checked in just to see what had changed in the homebrew scene, not much to my surprise. In my long time away one new System Menu came out that does nothing new and a whole bunch of IOSs were updated/released. Dop Mii has dropped many features I like to have in a wii tool and MMM has made some progress but not much and is closed source. So since the tools haven't been updated much I decided to update my release some more as this is the tool I use on my own wii. And after getting caught up to date and fixing a whole bunch of errors I decided it was time to release under a new name, also to help with the confusion. So here is the release of Wii Mod v3.2, a mod of the old dop ios.

    Some of the highlights are:
    Pretty comparable to Dop Mii v15, MMM v13.4, Wad Manager v1.7, Anytitle Deleter DB, bluedump and NUSD.
    Compatible with cboot2 and sneek / uneek
    Can find missing IOSs that are needed for installed WiiWare.
    Can copy an IOS to a new location
    Can change an installed IOS's version
    Can patch an installed IOS
    Can patch System Menu's required IOS and version
    Shows clean IOSs at a glance.
    Interface helps you find and fix problems.
    Added Any Region Changer
    Added Any Title Manager( extractor and deleter )
    Added App launcher
    Warns you if you try to Install a system menu without the required IOS
    Warns you not to delete the system menu IOS
    Warns you not to delete the IOS used by the Homebrew Channel
    Hold D-PAD for continuous scrolling
    Supports AHBPROT in all areas

    Config File is sd:/apps/wiimod/wiimod.txt
    Database = sd:/apps/wiimod/database.txt
    Output saved to sd:/wad/wiimod/wiimod.csv
    Wad Dump dir = sd:/wad/wiimod/

    Download v3.2:http://www.mediafire.com/?dbjdoelj94ai1ef
    My previous releases can be found at old topic

    Thanks to Lenneth there is now a forwarder for Wii Mod.
    Download Forwarder:http://www.mediafire...zh7yflj2d01cj81
    The forwarder path is: SD:/apps/wiimod/boot.dol then USB:/apps/wiimod/boot.dol

    This is based on dop-ios, dop mii, indirectly by MMM, wad manager, Any Region Changer, TBR, NUSD, AnyTitle Deleter and its mods, bluedump and many other wii tools. So thanks goes out to Marcmax, Waninkoko, Wiipower, SifJar, Nicksasa, PheonixTank, giantpune, Lunatik, Team Twiizers, wiiNinja, Sorg, Red Squirrel, MrClick, mariomaniac33, Leathl, daveboal, Wiiwu, Joostin, Tona, DacoTaco, tueidj, TeenTin, airline38, Lenneth, Maisto, wes11ph, Arikado, and many others. This tool could not exist without the work of many from the homebrew scene. If I have forgotten anyone please let me know, it is not intentional.

    BRICK ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!
    YOU CAN BRICK YOUR WII IF YOU USE THIS INCORRECTLY, it warns you if you try to do something you shouldn't but it can't stop you from bricking your wii. This should not be used carelessly.

    Changelog :
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!


    • Member

    kylster mich weich töten

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,354
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the update [IMG] i haven't check the forums all day and the 1st i do i see something useful to me [IMG]

    When i try to do a IOS Check i get a code dump... Also i see you have the option to update all IOS is that wise considering if if you have a cIOS, will it get stub'd?
    • Member

    techboy New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Nice. I'll have to try it later when I hook my wii back up (it's in the box from a trip right now...)

    Just a few things to comment on:
    Holding D-pad for scrolling is a nice addition. One of the few things that bugged me in a lot of homebrew was the inability to hold down the arrows to scroll long lists.

    As for the IOS15 and TBR stuff, TBR is obsolete. It's been replaced by the IOS236 installer.
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    You might have a messed up IOS it is trying to load, what system menu are you on, what IOS was running, and was it early or late in the checking did it crash(it adds '.'s as it goes and takes up a screen)?

    It installs the lastest that is not stub, and it works with a static db so it wont grab new IOSs that it doesn't know are a stub or not.

    I wasn't aware the "Wiibrew Edition" wasn't the only edition, none the less I have fixed many bugs that still persist in their latest branches.

    As for TBR being obsolete, no its not, it just is the old way of doing it. Installing 236 can be done just the same in the IOS menu, but if you don't already have a IOS to work with cause you have really borked your system the TBR is still good.
    • Member

    kylster mich weich töten

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,354
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    i did not reload the IOS so it was using the default IOS; also it was fairly early, right after IOS4 when it crashed. If it uses the hbc ios then IOS 58. I didnt look though. [IMG]

    My Wii Specs are as follows:
    System Menu 4.3u
    IOS36 patched with all hacks [IMG]
    IOS80 patched to allow WW VC by SD
    IOS236 patch of 36 installed here
    IOS202v2 Only version that my ext.hdd wont sleep on not sure if issue but hey it works...
    IOS222/223/224rev5.1
    IOS249rev17 for Triiforce ISO forwarder compatibility
    IOS250rev20b [57] for COD:BO support

    Those are the only patched IOS i have.

    Would a cMIOS effect it? cause i just recently installed cMIOSv10.
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Well in the upper right it tells you what IOS is currently loaded. It likely was a low version one or a cios. cMIOS should have no effect. You can figure it out by choosing to load the IOS, start at the lowest avail and work up, if it crashes that is the problem one. After that I would need to know the IOS number and rev # to know more. I have noticed more problems loading IOSs since changing to 4.3 in particular IOS 9 doesn't work but the checking should skip it if you are on 4.3. How did you update to 4.3?
    • Member

    kylster mich weich töten

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,354
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    i updated to 4.3 back when mod-mii had the 4.3u update available. i never use safe updaters! only Wad or Dop-Mii to install new System Menu but indeed i used a network install with Dop-Mii v14.2 Wiibrew Edition at the time of install.

    Ok Current IOS: 58 v6176 (non-patched!)
    AHBPROT Enabled

    about to load the rest will edit post when done [IMG]

    Current IOS:4 v65280 (stub)
    Can't get IOS version list..

    Then it freeze reset wont work or anything

    Current IOS:9 v1034 (not a stub)
    Cant' get IOS version list..

    If you try to goto opton "IOSs" it'll tell you this "The IOS you have Loaded can't get the IOS version list. Try to reload an IOS>22. Press any key to continue.."; then it just automatically loads ios30 v2816 when you hit L on D-Pad.

    Current IOS:10 v768 (stub)
    Can't get IOS version list..

    Same as IOS:4 just freeze; need to hold power button to turn off wii.

    Current IOS:22 v1294
    can't get IOS version list..

    Same issue as IOS:9 same dialog same IOS30 auto reload. Wii mote loses sync and reset button no longer works have to hold power button to turn off.

    Any IOS < 22 will give me the same dialog if i try to got option "IOSs"; if i try to reload another IOS it auto loads IOS:30 and once again have to hold power button to turn off.


    here is the whole report i get when scanning IOS's

    Escepton (DSI) occurred!
    GPR00 8000E88C GPR08 00000002 GPR16 80080000 GPR24 8010CB5C
    GPR01 80131810 GPR09 00009032 GPR17 800767C8 GPR25 8010CF5C
    GPR02 80076330 GPR10 00000001 GPR18 000003E8 GPR26 8010C75C
    GPR03 0000006D GPR11 801317B8 GPR19 00000032 GPR28 8010D75C
    GPR04 00000058 GPR12 24200028 GPR20 00000032 GPR28 8010DB5C
    GPR05 802C23F8 GPR13 80081140 GPR21 8006D100 GPR29 802E28F4
    GPR06 00000000 GPR14 8010DF5C GPR22 8010E35C GPR30 00000000
    GPR07 80131710 GPR15 8010E75C GPR23 8010D35C GPR31 0000002D
    LR 8000E88C SRR0 8000e8d8 SR11 00009032 MSR 00001000
    DAR 0000002D DSISR 04000000

    STACK DUMP:
    8000e8d8 --> 8000e88c --> 800128c0 --> 80013254 -->
    80013700 --> 80004348 --> 8002accc --> 8002ac7c

    CODE DUMP:
    8000e8d8: 7CBEF8AE 7EA4AB78 7FA3EB78 54A0103A
    8000e8e8: 7D7B002E 7CD6002E 7CF7002E 7D18002E
    8000e8f8: 7D39002E 7D5A002E 7C1C002E 91610008



    Hope this further helps

    also when selecting to reload any IOS they are all white with the exception of all my cIOS. i know i have various patched installed on IOS36&80 but it doesnt show it as having these.
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Well loading up any stub like 4 v65280 or 10 v768 will cause a crash, as the stubs aren't meant to load but those two are both known to the program so it shouldn't be loading those two. IOS 9 like I said can cause problems but once again it shouldn't be loading it cause you are on 4.3. The IOS 22 you mentioned actually was missing from the IOS list, it will be in the next point release, but I checked it out and it doesn't seem to be causing problems for me so that probably isn't the problem IOS.

    Loading any IOS < 22 should give you that message. It is not an error its just that those IOSs don't support that functionality so you can't use them in certain parts of the program that is why it warns you to use one > IOS 22.

    As for reloading IOS the list being white, well yeah, that coloring is a quick peek at what permissions the IOSs have, but the way the program knows what permissions an IOS has is by checking them. Since that part of the program is crashing for you, yeah it wouldn't have any of that information yet.

    Well having stubs isn't exactly good and you should probably remove them sometime, but it probably isn't causing your error, you have IOS 9 but that shouldn't be the problem as the check IOS code skips that in 4.3, the IOS 22 you mention shouldn't be causing an error, any others crash when you manually load them?
    • Newcomer

    Lenneth New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    62
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi ! [IMG]

    Can you tell me wich DevKitPPC File and wich libogc I need please ?
    Or can you upload your DevKitPPC and libogc folders on mediafire on something like that please ?

    When i want to compile it i have this error :

    Code:
    linking ... wiimod.elf
    c:/devkitpro/devkitppc/bin/../lib/gcc/powerpc-eabi/4.5.1/../../../../powerpc-eabi/bin/ld.exe: cannot find -lwiilight
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[1]: *** [/c/wii/wiimod/wiimod.elf] Error 1
    make: *** [build] Error 2
    I don't know what is bad (i'm noob in compilation), and I want to be able to compile your homebrew because I want to do a french traduction of it (with your accord).
    Thanks to help me please.
    In waiting for a answer i'm going to make a forwarder for this great homebrew [IMG]

    (Sorry for my bad english, i'm from Belgium)
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    I have it in the complete changelog that I compiled this with devkitPPC r22 and libogc 1.8.6 and it uses the wiilight lib. A forwarder would be real nice. I haven't yet looked into making them, but ideally it would be one that allows it to start in AHBPROT mode.
    • Member

    burritoboy9984 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Try this.

    -Erik
    • Newcomer

    Lenneth New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    62
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanks you two [IMG]

    With libwiilight installed it work fine [IMG]
    Code:
    linking ... wiimod.elf
    output ... wiimod.dol
    
    ROOT@Server /c/wii/wiimod
    $
    Thanks a lot jskyboo and burritoboy9984 =)
    I can do my french traduction now and my forwarder too (booting with AHBPROT if I can, i'm going to use the wiimc forwarder source to help me to do it)

    Have a nice 2k11 year [IMG]
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    And now because so many have asked for it in the past I have added in Any Region Changer. I also have done some major code clean up and in testing uncovered some bugs so I give you v1.5.

    Download:http://www.mediafire.com/?wdq6z21s7g9z90x

    Changelog since 1.0 :
    Code:
    Added Any Region Changer
    Added missing IOS 22 v1294
    Added patching of Korean key, Add Ticket version check, and Setuid check.
    Fixed bug in new channel install
    Fixed System Menu bug 4.3E & 4.3U were swapped
    Fixed bug in update all IOSs, would miss updating IOSs that don't have any revision installed yet.
    Lots of code clean up.
    • Newcomer

    circuits New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    seems like 1.5 broke the ios section ...

    in 1.0 when you selected ios and then used the up/down/left/right pads to select a ios
    the currently selected ios changed depending on which one was highlighted as well
    as the information displayed .

    in 1.5 it stays stuck on 58 .....

    reverting back to 1.0
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    • Newcomer

    Lenneth New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    62
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Belgium
    I maked an animated forwarder for Wii Mod (all version), he use the IOS58 with AHBPROT (I used the WiiMC forwarder source to compile the .dol file and the Static Base WAD STLB AHBPROT.wad of XFlak)

    You can download it here: http://www.mediafire.com/?zh7yflj2d01cj81

    Screenshot:

    [IMG]

    The forwarder path is: SD:/apps/wiimod/boot.dol

    (Sorry for my bad english, i'm from belgium)
    • Member

    XFlak Considering Wii-tirement...

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,095
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    u need to change one value in the tmd or something (I can't remember exactly where) in order to have the forwarder channel launch apps with ahbprot/direct-hardware-access.

    Instead of recreating the wheel, just use an ahbprot enabled base wad from here and modify it with you new banner,icon,sound,dol,title,id, etc.
    • Newcomer

    Lenneth New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    62
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanks for your AHBPROT based .wad file, I modified the forwarder with CustomizeMii and now the AHBPROT works !
    Great job man ! [IMG]
    • Member

    jskyboo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    @Lenneth Great job on the forwarder. If you don't mind I'll link to it in the first post so others can find it easier.

    For those of you out there that have tried Wii Mod, what do you think? Running into any errors? Things you wish were changed/improved/added?
    • Newcomer

    Lenneth New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    62
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanks [IMG]

    No problem you can link it on the 1st page, thanks [IMG]

    On my wii in 4.3e I don't have any problem with your apps, all work correctly.
    I don't know what to add, he already have a lot of features except making coffee [IMG]
    A menu to launch BootMii and Homebrew Channel or an option to power off/reset the Wii ?
    An update check feature is not a bad idea.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page