wii games in kodi/retroarch/any other emulator

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Dominator211, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    hey I'm gonna build a home theater system for my family and I'm going to install Kodi AKA Kodibuntu on it so it boots directly into the Kodi interface i plan to put a good amd cpu in there to run kodi and everything else well... i know that there is a way to get RetroArch running through kodi but i am wondering if there is another emulator that can run wii games it would also be a plus if it could run gamecube and ps2 games.
     
  2. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,319
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    this is dolphin for windows hosts i already have dolphin installed but my laptop can emulate it because of the shitty intergraded GPU this doesnt work with retroarch/kodi does it?????
     
  4. Dinomite

    Newcomer Dinomite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    You can run dolphin as a stand-alone Emulator for your Wii and gamecube games. There is no Wii core for Retroarch. Check out Ishiiruka Dolphin. It's essentially a modified version of dolphin designed to run on older/underpowered machines.

    I would recommend running a frontend for your emulation needs in a home theatre setting. I use Launchbox and it comes with its home theatre program called BigBox. They have a Kodi add-on so that you can run BigBox and all your games from Kodi. I use it and it's perfect for having all my games ran from one place. If you would like or anyone else would like, I can do a post with screenshots as a bit of a guide to show you what I'm talking about.

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    alright what kind of games do you have on there anything new????
     
  6. Dinomite

    Newcomer Dinomite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    Through BigBox I have Arcade Games, NES, SNES, Nintendo 64, Gamecube, Wii, Gameboy, Gameboy color, Gba, Sony PSP, PS1, PS2, SNK Neo Geo, Neo Geo pocket color and MS-dos games. About 1700 games in total.
    If I want to play latest release PC games, I just run them outside of Kodi on the PC.

    I use a PS3 controller as a remote for Kodi and all of the games except for my Wii games where I use real wiimotes.
     
    Last edited by Dinomite, Jan 12, 2017
  7. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    do post some snapshots you have my attention do it boot up striaght into this emulator i need it to be easy for my mom so when im not around (which is most of the time) so she could do it herself with out having to call me
     
  8. Dinomite

    Newcomer Dinomite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, all I need to do is clock on Kodi and I'm good to go.

    From my desktop I click Kodi:
    [​IMG]

    Open BigBox:
    [​IMG]

    I can choose my Platform:
    [​IMG]

    Choose my game:
    [​IMG]

    Play the game! Complete with Scanlines!
    [​IMG]

    For loading all the roms into BigBox, you use the program it's bundled with called Launchbox. Looks like this:​

    [​IMG]

    If you're looking into it, I recommend you watch their official Youtube video. The guy (Brad) in the video explains it really well how to get everything setup and rund through how to set up for the SNES. They also have other videos for installing other systems.

     
    Last edited by Dinomite, Jan 13, 2017
    neim81094 and Taleweaver like this.
  9. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States


    THANK YOU SO MUCH you have helped a lot i have the software side of things down .... what i am going to do is install kodiunbuntu so it boots directly but i have access yo desktop then add bigbox and go back and forth with it but i just need to get the size problem down
     
  10. Jack Daniels

    Member Jack Daniels GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    South-Holland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you can inject retro cores as game addons in latest kodi...
     
  11. Dinomite

    Newcomer Dinomite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm not sure about your decision to run Kodiubuntu, since that OS is no longer supported. What OS are you running at the moment?
     
  12. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    You can install Kodi on Windows and set it to run when you log in. Might end up looking at the desktop for a few seconds, but it works.

    Alternatively, some Linux display managers let you choose to boot to Kodi when selecting your desktop environment on login.
     
  13. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    running windows 10 on this laptop but i really want it to be a theatre // retro gaming pc not another windows pc
     
  14. Dinomite

    Newcomer Dinomite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    I suggest then that you set Windows to boot directly into Kodi. There are plenty of guides out there, one which looks quite good: Set Kodi to boot in Windows 10
     
    Last edited by Dinomite, Jan 16, 2017
  15. Dominator211
    OP

    Member Dominator211 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    really what could i lose but using kodibuntu id like to know if there is any risks
     
  16. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,856
    Country:
    United States
    You're not going to have the benefits of DirectX, and since you want Linux, you're gonna want to go with an Nvidia card to emulate those higher end consoles. It handles OpenGL a bit better, and the Catalyst driver is rather abysmal.
     

Share This Page