WIA = Wii ISO Archive

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Wiimm, Aug 27, 2010.

Aug 27, 2010

WIA = Wii ISO Archive by Wiimm at 8:03 PM (91,192 Views / 1 Likes) 164 Comments

    • Member

    carbonyle New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I just tried this (I rename the file to "zelda.wit" (note the original file is a *.wit)
    Code:
    carbonyle@ubuntu:~/Desktop$sudo wit copy zelda.wia zelda.iso
    the output is:
    Code:
    *****  wit: Wiimms ISO Tool v1.12a r1451 i386 - Dirk Clemens - 2010-08-01  *****
    !! wit: ERROR #22 [WRONG FILE TYPE] in SourceIteratorHelper() @ src/lib-sf.c#3352
    !!	  ISO image expected: zelda.wia
    ! wit: No valid source file found.
    
    how can I make this working?

    EDIT: Ok fixed by updating to v2

    Code:
    carbonyle@ubuntu:~/Desktop/wit-v2.01a-r3138-i386/bin$ sudo ./wit copy /home/carbonyle/Desktop/zelda.wia /home/carbonyle/Desktop/zelda.iso
    And for info :
    Code:
     ls -lh
    Code:
    
    -rw-r--r--  1 root   root   4.4G 2011-11-17 11:45 zelda.iso
    -rw-r--r--  1 carbonyle carbonyle 3.2G 2011-11-17 11:45 zelda.wia
    
    nice compression !


    • Member

    Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Message Count:
    2,701
    Location:
    Home @ UMEƅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    Great work Wiimm!
    Now let's hope someone who's responsible for Dolphin source will approve this for usage. After that, there's no reason to use anything else than WIA :)
    Have you figured out a way to handle "older" revisions of WIA yet? Or will you simply say, nope, now we're no longer supporting to decrypt files in WIA format xx. use old version of WIA to decode then encode again in latest version of WIA?
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    @carbonyle
    I don't know why, but it seems that the file is damaged.

    The best (but not very handy) compression method is:
    * step 1: wit copy IMAGE IMAGE.wia --wia=NONE
    * step 2: rar/7z the new image

    The advantages of --wia=BEST are
    * Random access to the chunks possible
    * Fast info dump and listings without need to decompress all
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ERROR #25 [CAN'T OPEN FILE] in SetupReadSF() @ src/lib-sf.c#409
    Can't open file: /cygdrive/l/Download/Wii-GC
    This is what I get when I try:
    wit copy L:\Download\Wii-GC Roms2\Bleach Shattered Blade.iso L:\Download\Wii-GC Roms2\Bleach Shattered Blade.wia

    That's the command to convert iso to wia right??
    • Banned

    junkerde Banned!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Message Count:
    483
    Country:
    United States
    do not want
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    1.) Use / instead of \
    2.) quote params with spaces
    wit copy "L:/Download/Wii-GC Roms2/Bleach Shattered Blade.iso" "L:/Download/Wii-GC Roms2/Bleach Shattered Blade.wia"

    3.) Don't use WIA for GC, i haven't test it very well. And If you use it, make a diff to verify conversion to WIA and back:
    wit diff image.iso image.wia
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks I tried it and it worked. wia gives 680mb while wbfs gives 1.32 gb. Nice reduction! Your prog automatically scrubs I guess?

    Any other tips on reducing filesize?

    Im trying to 7zip it now with ultra compression LZMA.. but the compressed state is actually bigger lol.

    Is there any point in zipping wia files?

    I also have lots of ps1/ps2 roms, from what I take your prog doesn't work with those, what 7zip compression settings should I use for best size? Or go with default?
    • Member

    W hat Rhythm Heaven Fan

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Message Count:
    556
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to use an external compressor, use
    --compr none
    WIT compresses WIA files using 7-zip by default.
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    The wia converter supports several compression modes, set with --wia=mode or --compr=mode
    Code:
    # wit compr -l
    
    mode           memory usage
    name         reading   writing   input mode
    ---------------------------------------------
    NONE          40 MiB    40 MiB   NONE
    PURGE         40 MiB    40 MiB   PURGE
    BZIP2         42 MiB    44 MiB   BZIP2
    LZMA          56 MiB   225 MiB   LZMA
    LZMA2         56 MiB   225 MiB   LZMA2
    LZMA          56 MiB   225 MiB    DEFAULT
    BZIP2.3@10    21 MiB    23 MiB    FAST
    LZMA          56 MiB   225 MiB    GOOD
    LZMA.7@50    164 MiB   773 MiB    BEST
    LZMA.7@50    164 MiB   773 MiB    MEM   
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the informative reply.

    How would I tie it in with this? I really suck with command line.
    like this?
    wit copy --wia=best "L:/Download/Wii-GC Roms2/Bleach Shattered Blade.iso" "L:/Download/Wii-GC Roms2/Bleach Shattered Blade.wia"
    I also have QtWitGui went to settings located witt and wtt but the option open game is greyed out.. And can you use --wia=best in the GUI version?
    • Member

    Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Message Count:
    879
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nice.. but I can't open a game it's greyed out..
    Yesterday I could
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I have added some statistics to compare rar, 7zip and wia compressions: http://wit.wiimm.de/info/wia.html#rate
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello, again me.

    I finished 60 wii backups manually but the harddrive has died :(

    I spent alot of time, I need to do it again!

    Is there a way to que an entire iso folder for convert wia with best compression with command line or GUI version?
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    All commands accept multiple sources. If you enter a directory name all images of that directory are used as source. The option -r / --recurse allows a recursive search.

    Examples:
    wit copy SOURCE_DIR -vv --wia=best DEST_DIR/ --test
    wit copy SOURCE_DIR -vv --wia=best DEST_DIR/%X --test
    remove --test from command line to enable execution.

    Every time you can terminate the execution by pressing CTRL-C. If pressed once, the job is finished first. If pressed twice, the current job is aborted with cleanup. If pressed 3 times, a hard break without cleanup is done.

    Add --update if you want only jobs, that are not already done.
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok and what would the command be if I were to turn a directory back into iso? Thanks a ton btw! Converting my images right now again.
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Same as above, but instead of --wia=best use --iso to force another output format.
    • Member

    Chrisssj2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    211
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Right ! so that would be just plain --iso?
    • Member

    Wiimm Developer

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,762
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I think the answer is obsolete because you have tried it (I would have done it!)
    • Newcomer

    alextepes New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Message Count:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    After losing my mind trying to use this until I finally got it working, the result a 7MB file turns into a 4.5GB ISO file.. I thought I was losing my mind again until running it worked great. I have a few questions though, how does 7MB or so turn into 1.5GB? that's a huge amount of compression. It almost seems illogical, and it took ms not a few minutes, or even quarter of one. Does it inflate the resulting ISO file at all? It almost seems like it does. If I'm wrong you could sell this, haha. Amazing job, I wish the tools you provide come with a GUI of some kind on it's own, but I understand if it's too much to get involved in. Great job anyway.

Share This Page