"What is a legit cia?" (and other noob CIA questions ANSWERED)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by cearp, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. oom12

    Newcomer oom12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    can i update a legit cia from the eshop and will anything happen if i open the eshop if i have legit cias on my home menu?
     


  2. Clector

    Member Clector GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Not here
    Country:
    Bermuda
    You can update them without problems as long as they are of the same region as the console, and nothing should happen to your Home Menu.
     
  3. ieatducks4655

    Newcomer ieatducks4655 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Hastings,New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I have no idea why I read this but It's helpful to those who don't understand
     
  4. oom12

    Newcomer oom12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Can I update non legit cias from the eshop? And will anything happen if I open the eshop and I have non legit cias on my home menu? And can I install dlc to non legit cias?
     
  5. oom12

    Newcomer oom12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Can I install dlc from the eshop to a legit cia?
     
  6. Clector

    Member Clector GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Not here
    Country:
    Bermuda
    If the ticket is valid you can install updates from the eShop for non Legit installed games.
    Yes, you can install DLC to them without problems.
     
  7. Kanakops

    Member Kanakops GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    If I dump an 3ds cart game in my 3ds (in cia) the game are legit?
     
  8. rikumax25!

    Member rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,290
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    No
     
    Kanakops likes this.
  9. Kanakops

    Member Kanakops GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Can we install non legit dlc with a legit game (cartdrige) ?
    and can we play at super smash (no legit cia) with no legit dlc online with no risk?
     
    Last edited by Kanakops, Mar 5, 2017
  10. Clector

    Member Clector GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Not here
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Yes, you can do both things, but you need to have CFW to do that.
     
    Kanakops likes this.
  11. Kanakops

    Member Kanakops GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah thanks and I have
    And its work
     
  12. ByDemonsBeDriven

    Newcomer ByDemonsBeDriven Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    If I do the soundhax on 11.3 and load FBI through Homebrew can I load these legit cias on a stock 11.3 unit? I know Homebrew will load but will FBI work?
     
  13. rikumax25!

    Member rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,290
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    No, we need an arm11 kernel exploit first
     
  14. ByDemonsBeDriven

    Newcomer ByDemonsBeDriven Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I figured. So legit cias seem to have no benefit that I can see. If you need to be CFW'd you can use whatever and fix your own tickets and stuff, right? I'm still way new at this stuff.
     
  15. rikumax25!

    Member rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,290
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    you can install legit cias without CFW using an arm11 kernel exploit, that's the apparent advantage
     
  16. ByDemonsBeDriven

    Newcomer ByDemonsBeDriven Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Yea except that doesn't exist, right?
     
  17. rikumax25!

    Member rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,290
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    doesnt exist is quite a hard statement, there hadnt been any discovered for 11.3
     
    ByDemonsBeDriven likes this.
  18. oom12

    Newcomer oom12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    what's the difference between freeshop cias and ciangel cias and eshop cias?
     
  19. Zaphod77

    Member Zaphod77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    the eshop doesn't have cias. it has the files themselves. a TMD file which is a list of other files to download, and the other files.

    To get a CIA file from eshop, you have to pack it yourself.

    freEshop downloads the files and installs them directly
    CIAngel does the same, but can also compact them into a CIA file instead.
     
  20. amgupt01

    Newcomer amgupt01 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    So once installed, apps/games installed via freeShop and via CIAngel installations are the exact same as one another? How are they different than those installed through the eShop itself?
     

Share This Page