shinkodachi

On permanent leave
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Finland
Hey,

I'm not an expert on the subject and I'm very biased on certain topics. There are hundreds of opinion pieces about Nintendo right now and what it should do to "save" the Wii U. I put that in quotation marks because I don't think the Wii U or Nintendo needs saving. What it needs is to focus.

Here's what I'm hoping Nintendo is doing to be successful:

1. Release a "myNintendo" and Miiverse app for iPhone, Android, etc.

I think this is self-explanatory and may be worked on already. What I'd like to see is something similar to the PlayStation app that Sony is currently offering: it gives you a quick view of your personal account, shows the latest gaming news tailored to you, and allows you to buy games directly from within the app. That last bit is essential and I'm hoping Nintendo is bringing the eShop to smartphones through such an app. Let me buy a game on my iPhone and have the game downloaded automatically on my Wii U, so when I'm home I can just start playing.

Additionally it should give me information about my NNID, connected devices (Wii U and/or 3DS), and recommendations based on my tastes. Throw in lots of videos on currently released games and teaser material for upcoming games and it's perfect. All this should be in a single app. The other app would be just for accessing Miiverse, preferably with push notifications. Right now I can access Miiverse on my iPhone through the browser, but unless I check Miiverse separately I can't know if there are any new messages for me. Have the Miiverse app notify me even when I'm not using Miiverse, that'd certainly increase my engagement in the Miiverse community.

2. Push Virtual Console harder.