WBFS Manager and Channel Creator 2.0!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by HowardC, Apr 5, 2009.

Apr 5, 2009
  1. HowardC

    Member HowardC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States
    Ok... I re-designed a lot of the app from the ground up, so you should throw out your old version and Use this one.

    I used most of the suggestions including allowing you to run the app even if a drive isn't installed so those who can't get it to detect your drive can at least use the channel maker (from an iso of course.)

    WBFS Manager and Channel Creator 2.0

    VC++ Dist Files


    Enjoy!

    NOTE:

    Runtime Error 9 is caused by WBFS (cygwin) NOT MY APP!!! Complain to the guys that made WBFS!
     


  2. teddylourson

    Newcomer teddylourson Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    France
    Still have runtime error 9 ... damned !!
     
  3. Stang

    Member Stang GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    Same here [​IMG]

    Appreciate the effort though!
     
  4. sinx4lyfe

    Newcomer sinx4lyfe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Yep Run time error :X
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,047
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks!
    And it seems to be working fine for me!
     
  6. elmachin

    Newcomer elmachin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    nothing on mine runs fine and dandy
     
  7. saelee84

    Newcomer saelee84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Works just fine from make a channel from iso, thanks a lot HowardC [​IMG]
     
  8. kornychaos

    Member kornychaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    United States
    I just don't get how wbfs works fine via the command line and with a few other gui apps.
     
  9. riddle43

    Member riddle43 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Mich USA
    Country:
    United States
    awesome works like a dream thanks
     
  10. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi Howard. Good to see you back.
    As all the other guys I also have the "Subscript out of range" Runtime error 9 when rolling that tool on vista.
    everything works good on XP

    As I can use the command line of wbfs.exe, I doubt that this got something to do with the error.
    Hope you find a solution to make it work for all of us.

    thanks so far.

    Maybee you can also add an otion to create a channel from DVD ?
     
  11. HowardC

    Member HowardC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States

    Not directly... but it's related. Did the wbfs I use see your drive? If it did THEN we've got another bug somewhere. I don't have access to a vista machine today so that will have to be tracked down later.
     
  12. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    Where are you people putting all of these channels? I don't think I would have to worry about space if I wanted to make channels because I don't have like the entire released collection of Wii games. Where do people with over say 40-something games put the channels?
     
  13. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I can't test this now because I'm on my Ubuntu machine...unless it works with Wine, but why not use the wbfs_win app? That seems to be much better than the wbfs you are using and detects everybody's drives.
    I assume if the previous version didn't detect my drive this one won't either, right? But thanks a lot for making it so we can create channels from ISO's without the need for a USB drvie.
     
  14. sameoman3000

    Newcomer sameoman3000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, still can't detect drive... [​IMG]
     
  15. HowardC

    Member HowardC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States

    There are at least 4 versions of the wbfs.exe that I know of, so you have to be more specific. [​IMG]
     
  16. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,047
    Country:
    Netherlands
    With firmware 4.0 you could put them all on SD.
     
  17. FoxForceFive

    Newcomer FoxForceFive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works perfectly, not one error.

    Thankyou so much!
     
  18. HowardC

    Member HowardC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States
    That's a valid question..... Some versions of wbfs seem to have trouble with extracting games to isos. From my testing the cygwin variants were the most reliable for this task so I just used it.
     
  19. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    you just make channels out of the games you currently play or play more often, for example I'm definitely going to have a Brawl channels, Kororimpa and Gemetry Wars Galaxies since those are games I play all the time and have a channel for the games I currently play seriously in my case Deadly Creatures and Rune Factory.

    I just have one question about this channel making stuff, I see there are PAL and NTSC Channels around, is that for the PAL and NTSC Games or is it for PAL and NTSC Wii systems? Because my games are a mess, some are PAL, others NTSC, some are NTSC but converted to PAL for god knows what reason and so on.

    Also I often forget to run my games through brickblocker and I got nothing to block updates on my Wii, starfall doesn't block them because it seems to conflict with my WiiKey or something when it comes to that.
    So, these channels we make, are they going to prompt for updates if the ISO's don't have those updates removed with Brickblocker?
     
  20. kornychaos

    Member kornychaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    United States
    I would also love this, I have backup DVD's 'n I hate ripping them to a .iso just to get the opening.bnr file.
    Also, I would use FTPii, except I have bad quality media that the Wii's laser won't read, only my DVD drive will.
     

Share This Page