Warning for those considering buying a DSTwo

Discussion in '3DS - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Kallo, Mar 12, 2013.

Mar 12, 2013
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Among those who have recently purchased a DSTwo for their 3DS/XL there is an alarmingly high rate of product defects. You can see many posts on their forum about it not working properly (ie alex rider/card isn't detected, 3DS shoots an error on loadup, etc.) A reseller stepped forward yesterday and said that about 30% of the cards they received and tested did not work properly most of the time on the 3DS/XL (they work fine on DS.) I myself have been having this problem and since I bought it based on the recommendations here I figured I should warn prospective buyers here about it. The supercard team seems to be currently unconcerned/ignoring it, and hopefully getting the message out there will lead them to do something about it.

    Keep in mind not all cards have this problem so if you have already ordered one it isn't the end of the world and odds are somewhat in your favor of it being fine.


    • Member

    Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky

    Member Since:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Message Count:
    1,355
    Location:
    Gaming Bunker
    Country:
    Norway
    Any source links on this?
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    If you look on the official forums you can see a great deal of threads saying they have the problem:
    http://forum.supercard.sc/forum.php?mod=forumdisplay&fid=26&page=1

    This thread is for people trying to fix it, almost all are ultimately unsuccessful:
    http://forum.supercard.sc/thread-11147-1-1.html

    And here is the retailer comment:

    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    because everyone trusts someone with this being there first post with no source

    more thank likely a clone card creator trying to downvote the best card and will say you can get there crap card

    Wow theres 2 threads about it and one about how to fix problems

    the main issue is people dont understand how to update a flashcard safely
    and the fact that the console will block it when updated
    Last edited by Pong20302000, Mar 12, 2013
    • Member

    Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Message Count:
    1,146
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    i was actually wanting to buy two DStwo... now i have no ideia what to get...
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Typical message board elitism, it doesn't even phase me anymore. If you'd like I can take pictures of my card not working.
    Pingouin7 likes this.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    yes because you made the silly mistake of Booting a 3DS with the flashcard in the slot
    the 3DS 4.5.0-10 has new detection methods
    SuzieJoeBob likes this.
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    It isn't the firmware that is the issue. There are plenty of people with perfectly fine cards that work all the time without any workarounds. This is a hardware problem.
    tbgtbg likes this.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    if when you boot the card you get the black error message it means the 3DS knows your using a flashcard
    [IMG]
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 Hua

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,700
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    DSTwo had a lot defecting cards these days.
    I can remember that there was around 10 people with defecting card on temp.
    They just called the shop where they bought it and they got a new one....but they needed to pay for shipping which sucks.
    tbgtbg and chavosaur like this.
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    So what are you suggesting is the 'fix' or alternatively, method of preventing this? Because as of now people are buying DSTwo's and are unable to play them. Mine works occasionally but it is extremely finicky. It might give me that error or the alex rider icon might not appear, but after 8 hours of leaving the 3DS on I'll pop the DSTwo in and suddenly it will work just fine. This is how it is for a lot of people buying them right now and it doesn't seem like people are talking about this as an issue.
    • Member

    DiabloStorm Pokemon Black Market Connoisseur

    Member Since:
    May 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    666
    Location:
    Charicific Valley
    Country:
    United States
    My 3DS is fully updated (unless they sent another over night) I boot with my DSTWO in it all the time since I never remove it to begin with, everything works fine. I have the alex rider version as well. So, not sure what the problem is. I have a DS that I use to update the cart.
    • Member

    Eerpow *swoosh*

    Member Since:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    Connection issues, tape a piece of paper the label and it should work without randomly loosing connection.

    Anyway it's still the best cart on the market. And if it's defective contact your reseller.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    the fix is normally booting the console with no card in the console

    making sure you SD card is not playing silly bugger, try another SD card to make sure
    if your waiting 8 hours for it to work sounds like the SD card as that holds the 3DS game header data

    the 3DS checks the header data and the DSTwo will grab what it needs from the SD
    if its not quick enough for doesnt have access to it then it will error because it fails the check

    the 3DS will have a list of what to check and the DStwo has them all but majority are in the EOS files on the SD
    but the 3DS will only pick a few

    its a sign of the SD card not being fast enough if it fails sometimes and passes others
    Last edited by Pong20302000, Mar 12, 2013
    GorTesK likes this.
    • Newcomer

    RicardoGros New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal

    I can confirm this news myself on experience, i bought 1 DSTWO and had to return it due to not working on 3DS. The reseler sent me another one (after testing it) and now it works fine.

    Regards
    tbgtbg likes this.
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States

    This does not work for a single person having this problem. Other solutions that do not work and replies confirming they do not work can be found here:
    http://forum.supercard.sc/thread-11147-1-1.html
    Returning usually entails paying for shipping back, which is a large portion of the total cost to begin with. Add to that the fact that there's a 1 in 3 chance you'll just get another bad one and it might be better to just wait a month for them to fix their production issues.

    I have tried different SD cards and formatting them countless times with the proper program. Plus this simply does not account for the sudden surge of people having this problem, not to mention there is a reseller confirming that there are a lot of defective cards. It's much more reasonable to conclude that the DSTwos being produced are now unreliable rather than assuming people buying DSTwos are now buying slow SD cards more commonly than people who bought DSTwos a month ago bought slow SD cards.
    Last edited by Kallo, Mar 12, 2013
    tbgtbg likes this.
    • Member

    TheCasketMan Keyblade Apprentice

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Message Count:
    546
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I am selling one that is working fine in the trading forum if you are interested.
    I have the latest 3ds firmware installed and i do not get this error message. I always leave my dstwo inserted in the slot. It has been a long time since I removed it from the slot.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    yes but you more than likely have a good SD allowing it to quickly get what it needs to pass the checks
    poor/fake SD cards are the main issue with flashcard
    theres so many fakes everywhere now its getting insane
    • Newcomer

    Kallo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    You are trying to explain a new phenomenon(a HUGE percent of people buying new cards having problems) with an old explanation. All these people aren't suddenly buying fake SD cards off Newegg and Amazon, there is a production defect that is causing this.
    RicardoGros and tbgtbg like this.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Amazon have been known to sell fakes
    mainly becuase its not actually amazon selling them


    http://sosfakeflash.wordpress.com/2...standard-in-detecting-usb-counterfeit-drives/

    use the program above to test and see if yours is fake
    the large majority that exist in the world are fake Chinese counterfeit
    SuzieJoeBob likes this.
SPONSORED LINKS

Share This Page