Hacking Wait for a CR4? Do I Understand Steps Correctly?

raynforce

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
I am new to modding an XBOX 360 but I have modded other systems in the past. I was thinking of modding my system to accomplish the following goals:

-Run Homebrew
-Run my Games from the Internal HD (No disk swapping)
-Be able to install a better internal HD with fewer limitations
-Use my system as a media center
-Must be able to play all current and future commercial copies of games I bought
-I never use xbox live

My fat system is the following:

-Falcon, likely V2 (2008 model, 175w power supply)
-Dash 2.0.14719.0
-Philips Lite-on DG-16D2S (yellow wire visible)

STEP 1, Dump My Unmoded Nand Then Get Xell onto the Nand and Obtain my CPU and DVD Keys

From what I understand, my first goal is to flash xell onto my nand and then obtain my CPU key and (while I am at it) my DVD key as well. To do this, I need something to read and flash my nand (dump the nand then add xell to it to be able to actually see my CPU key and DVD key).

For this step, I assume I need a program to read and write to the nand on my PC (J-runner) and some device to connect the nand on my 360 to a usb port on my PC. At this point, while I could solder a ton of wires to my board for a super slow nand dump via LPT port (a pain and not an option for me since I have no computers with an LPT port), my best option is to use something like NAND-X or J-R programmer. Both require that I solder wires to my board still though.

Even if I get a CR4, this step is unavoidable correct? The CR4 is just a device that glitches the system into allowing custom firmware to run on the 360 and is not a nand reader/writer correct?