vWii WiiFlow Usb Hdd compatibility list

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Cell247, Dec 28, 2012.

Dec 28, 2012
    • Newcomer

    Cell247 Prickly Goomba

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    15
    Location:
    ATX
    Country:
    United States
    I wanted to get a list of what drives are working with y cable and without. So far I have an older 500gb verbatim working with y cable and 53 beta with WiiFlow (formatted to fat32). A 500gb Toshiba Canvio basics 3.0 and a 250 GB Acomdata have both failed. I want to pick up a newer drive and thought a list of what's working would be nice. So list what you got working.


    • Member

    julialy Ehh, I'm so lazy.

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Depends.

    I don't think there is a list anywhere... You'll just have to try it yourself and post results.
    • Newcomer

    Cell247 Prickly Goomba

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    15
    Location:
    ATX
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I posted what I've tried so far. Now lets see what others have and have not got to work.
    • Member

    Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Member Since:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,234
    Country:
    United States
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 500GB
    PN:9ZA2AH-502 500GB
    SN:2GE7V282

    Working without a y-cord through WiiFlow fat32 formatted
    • Newcomer

    Cell247 Prickly Goomba

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    15
    Location:
    ATX
    Country:
    United States
    Great info, thank you. Lets keep them coming.
    • Newcomer

    Copesnuffdss New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Both of My WD HDD need the Y- adapter one is a MY Passport 320 gb the other is a 500gb My Passport neither have an external power supply they are power by USB.
    • Newcomer

    Cell247 Prickly Goomba

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    15
    Location:
    ATX
    Country:
    United States
    How were they formatted?
    • Newcomer

    steplay29 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    61
    Location:
    belfast
    Country:
    Ireland
    i have a wd my passport 500gb usb powered and it needs the y-cable to work.i have it formatted to wbfs and all games i have tried so far work flawlessy.
    • Newcomer

    whinis New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Message Count:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Seagate free agent Go 500gb intermittent without y-cable. Its has worked 3 times without and 2 times failed to spin up.
    • Newcomer

    NathanPeterson New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Message Count:
    10
    SimpleDrive Mini by Hitachi
    Model: SDM/500CF
    500 GB
    Y-Cable

    Works for me. NTFS
    • Newcomer

    Copesnuffdss New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    I tried them bot in fat32 NTFS AND WBFS. Neither worked until I got the Y adaptor and the both work in FAT32 AND W FS not sure about NTFS
    • Member

    davebaol New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Message Count:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    About Toshiba Canvio basics 3.0 see http://code.google.com/p/d2x-cios/issues/detail?id=47
    If you - or anybody else having this hdd - have a usb gecko and a real wii then I can try to fix it.
    • Member

    Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Member Since:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,234
    Country:
    United States
    I have a very similar drive its a Toshiba canvio Basics 3.0 1tb, same problem though. I have a Usb Gecko and a Wii so if you want you can send me instructions and i'll see if i can help.

    edit:Never mind apparently mine has been fixed sometime recently cause its working fine now atleast on the wii, in wiiu mode its looking like its going to need a y-cord. I'll test that if i end up getting one.

    edit: Just got a y-cord, Slow loading in wiiflow, most of the time it just black screens. in usb loader gx its undetectable.
    Last edited by Thomas83Lin, Jan 15, 2013
    • Newcomer

    MrBePPe New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    Western Digital My Passport 500GB (WDBKXH5000ABK-EESN)
    -formatted NTFS
    -NO Y-cable
    -loader Configurable USBloader
    -d2x v10b53 alt
    Works fine!

    Western Digital Elements Desktop 1,5TB (WDBAAU0015HBK)
    -external power supply
    -formatted FAT32
    -loader Configurable USBloader
    -d2x v10b53 alt
    Works fine!
    lagonauta likes this.
    • Newcomer

    Cell247 Prickly Goomba

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    15
    Location:
    ATX
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all of the info so far. I'll 2 other drives tomorrow and edit first post with a list.
    • Member

    icebrg5 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    I have the 1tb version of the drive and it has the same issues. Works 100% perfectly fine with v8 final. If i try any of the beta v9 it stays on a continuous loop trying to mount the drive.
    This is on the regular wii though. I have not tested anything on the Vwii as i have no intentions of hacking it since i still have the original wii setup right next to it.

    Also i have no usb gecko either so I'm unable to help there as well :(
    • Newcomer

    xBASSxMONSTAx New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Western Digital My Passport 500GB
    -formatted NTFS
    -Y Cable Needed
    -loader Wii Flow
    -d2x v10b53 alt
    Works fine!
    • Member

    Plunt New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    100
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    WD 1.5Tb
    P/N: WDBAAF0015HBK-01
    external power source
    WBFS partition
    FAT partition
    both partitions loading games
    d2x v10b52
    usb loader gx and wiiflow both work
    Last edited by Plunt, Jan 6, 2013
    • Newcomer

    yafaiz Old Salt

    Member Since:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Message Count:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm using a Seagate 250gb IDE drive in an old Belkin IDE - USB casing.
    Works fine on vWii but not on original Wii.
    • Member

    ayrek New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Message Count:
    108
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Iomega 1tb with external power source, working on both wii and vwii with a single fat32 partition; it was previously working on wii with a wbfs partition and an fat32 partition.

    Edit: Working on vwii using d2x beta53 alt
    Last edited by ayrek, Jan 6, 2013

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page